Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Adding Spells via Mystic Past Life


Rules Questions


So the ARG has a alternate racial trait for Samsarans, which lets them (at creation) add spells to their spell list if they're the same type (divine or arcane).

My issue with this is what spell slots do certain spells occupy. So if, as a witch, I take haste, is it a level 3 spell (as everyone has), or a level 2 spell (since summoners get it as a level 2 spell).

If it's the player's choice (as in he gets to cherry pick which spell level the spell is at), then what's stopping me from adding spells to my spell list that I already have albeit at a higher level? i.e. Adding Maze, Dominate Monster, Overwhelming Presence, etc. as level 6 spells, since the bard or summoner has them at level 6. I shudder at the thought of Witches/Wizards being able to cast those kinds of spells at CL 11.


Generally speaking I'd do whatever benefits the players most without being ridiculously overpowered.

Haste as a level 2 spell isn't that big of a deal. Summon Monster IV as a 6th level spell, that's a bit more of a problem.

However, Teleportatin circle as a 6th level spell, not going to change much since the players can teleport anyhow.

In summary: It depends.

Grand Lodge

do you mean summon monster IX(9)? IV(4) as a level 6 apell is worthless.


Witches are modeled after wizards so take it at the wizard level to be 'safe.' If it's not a wizard spell I'd start going down the line of succession looking something like sorcerer then summoner etc.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Modules Subscriber

When you take the trait you are choosing a single class spell list to pick from. So the spells would be whatever level it is on that spell list.

You are a cleric and want flame blade (for whatever reason) from the druid spell list, you choose the rest of the spells from the druid spell list and use those "levels."

Grand Lodge Dedicated Voter 2013, Star Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

E I wrote:
My issue with this is what spell slots do certain spells occupy. So if, as a witch, I take haste, is it a level 3 spell (as everyone has), or a level 2 spell (since summoners get it as a level 2 spell).

You choose a class spell list from which to add spells. They are spells of the same level they would be for that class.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Adding Spells via Mystic Past Life All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.