Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Animal companion Ankylosaurus


Rules Questions


i have a few questions for this guy
first few have to deal with his stun special ability does it apply to the first hit or with both hits when he gets his second hit at -5

second can he get the feat ability focus for it, does he have to increase his int to 3?

Third if im riding it with mounted combat feat and he gets attacked by a spell i could negate it with a ride check like anything else?

fourth could i convert Necklace of Natural Weapons from savage species to pathfinder?

fifth is it considered combat trained? and if not could you apply the warbeast template from 3.5 or would i have to just train it to be combat trained


1): Anytime the tail attacks there is a "stun" chance attached.

2): You must qualify for a feat to take a feat.

3): You can negate an attack with the Ride skill just like normal.

4): Converting a magic item is up to the GM and subject to "Making magic items" in the Players Guide.

5): Most GMs would consider it combat trained. You could do it yourself however as it is a class skill and yo ureceive a +4 bonus per the Handle Animal skill if you are a Druid or Ranger.

6): Applying anything out of current rules is up to your GM. No one here can answer that for you.


1): Anytime the tail attacks there is a "stun" chance attached.

2): You must qualify for a feat to take a feat.

thanks for the reply i know they have to qualify
Ability Focus
One of this creature’s special attacks is particularly difficult
to resist.
Prerequisite: Special attack.
Benefit: Choose one of the creature’s special attacks.
Add +2 to the DC for all saving throws against the special
attack on which the creature focuses.
Special: A creature can gain this feat multiple times.
Its effects do not stack. Each time the creature takes the
feat, it applies to a different special attack.
i just dont know if the stun qualifies for it or not does it count as a special attack or what is it actually termed?

Shadow Lodge

i have a few questions for this guy
first few have to deal with his stun special ability does it apply to the first hit or with both hits when he gets his second hit at -5

Both

second can he get the feat ability focus for it, does he have to increase his int to 3?

you need the 3 int.

Third if im riding it with mounted combat feat and he gets attacked by a spell i could negate it with a ride check like anything else?

Yup.

fourth could i convert Necklace of Natural Weapons from savage species to pathfinder?

Ask your dm.

fifth is it considered combat trained? and if not could you apply the warbeast template from 3.5 or would i have to just train it to be combat trained

Combat training is the general purpose training under handle animal.

Combat Training (DC 20) An animal trained to bear a rider into combat knows the tricks attack, come, defend, down, guard, and heel.

You should also teach it attack again so it will go against abominations undead and politicians.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I believe the INT requirement is due to a rule regarding how Animal Companions spends their Feats (if it's off the limited list given, you need a higher INT), not due directly to Abilty Focus itself. That said, having a Pet with higher INT is useful thing, even if it's only Bubba Gump level intelligence.

Mounted Combat works to negate ATTACK ROLLS. If the Spell uses an attack roll, like Scorching Ray, the Mounted Combat works. If the Spell doesn't use an attack roll, like Magic Missile or Fireball or Dominate Monster, then Mounted Combat doesn't do anything vs. the Spell. I believe there are some other Feats good for helping your Companion's Saving Throws.

'Necklace of Natural Weapons' sounds alot like PRPG's Amulet of Might Fist, which covers Unarmed Strike AND all Natural Weapons. Rule of Thumb: if a concept is dealt with within PRPG use that means to do it, only think about using 3.5 material if the concept ISN'T available via PRPG material.

Combat Training is covered under the Handle Animal skill, which you get bonuses to as as a Druid with Companion, as well as free bonus Tricks, so that is the means you should use to acquire Combat Training. Some Classes (e.g. Paladin/Cavalier) specifically note that their Mount gets Combat Training for free, if your Class doesn't say that, then you don't get it for free.

You 'could' apply a 3.5 'warbeast' template, just as you 'could' apply the 3.5 'half-dragon' template, or the PRPG 'half-dragon' template... But there really isn't any compelling reason to do so, if everybody is interested in playing a PRPG game. Your Companion gets free bonus Tricks, and you are good at teaching it new Tricks anyways... Everybody else gets by just fine using those rules, so I would recommend trying them out.


This is what the Druid Companion Feature says about Feats:

Quote:

Feats: This is the total number of feats possessed by an animal companion. Animal companions should select their feats from those listed under Animal Feats. Animal companions can select other feats, although they are unable to utilize some feats (such as Martial Weapon Proficiency). Note that animal companions cannot select a feat with a requirement of base attack bonus +1 until they gain their second feat at 3 Hit Dice.

Animal companions can select from the following feats: Acrobatic, Agile Maneuvers, Armor Proficiency (light, medium, and heavy), Athletic, Blind-Fight, Combat Reflexes, Diehard, Dodge, Endurance, Great Fortitude, Improved Bull Rush, Improved Initiative, Improved Natural Armor, Improved Natural Attack, Improved Overrun, Intimidating Prowess, Iron Will, Lightning Reflexes, Mobility, Power Attack, Run, Skill Focus, Spring Attack, Stealthy, Toughness, Weapon Finesse, and Weapon Focus. Animal companions with an Intelligence of 3 or higher can select any feat they are physically capable of using. GMs might expand this list to include feats from other sources.

So there isn't a hard ban on other Feats, although it's intimated that it's up to the GM to allow other Feat besides those mentioned, with the INT 3 being presented as a 'standard' way to qualify for using any other Feat, although not strictly necessary per se. If you are playing in PFS there are strict rules, but in a home setting it's a GM call. I would allow Ability Focus without 3 INT, but as I said before, it's a good idea anyways.


hakinaro wrote:

i have a few questions for this guy

first few have to deal with his stun special ability does it apply to the first hit or with both hits when he gets his second hit at -5

second can he get the feat ability focus for it, does he have to increase his int to 3?

Third if im riding it with mounted combat feat and he gets attacked by a spell i could negate it with a ride check like anything else?

fourth could i convert Necklace of Natural Weapons from savage species to pathfinder?

fifth is it considered combat trained? and if not could you apply the warbeast template from 3.5 or would i have to just train it to be combat trained

Answer to third any range or melee attack... So spell like scorching ray yes, fire ball no, shocking grasp yes, charm person no, blindness/ deafness no, magic missel no. Any thing that attack you AC or Touch AC yes if attack you saves or no attack need then no. Also just thought of it that mean it can not work against CMD attack like trip, disarmm, Bull rush ect. Food for thought...

answer to forth form Core Rule book
Amulet of Mighty Fists

Aura faint evocation; CL 5th

Slot neck; Price 5,000 gp (+1), 20,000 gp (+2), 45,000 gp (+3), 80,000 gp (+4), 125,000 gp (+5); Weight —

Description

This amulet grants an enhancement bonus of +1 to +5 on attack and damage rolls with unarmed attacks and natural weapons.

Alternatively, this amulet can grant melee weapon special abilities, so long as they can be applied to unarmed attacks. See Table: Melee Weapon Special Abilities for a list of abilities. Special abilities count as additional bonuses for determining the market value of the item, but do not modify attack or damage bonuses. An amulet of mighty fists cannot have a modified bonus (enhancement bonus plus special ability bonus equivalents) higher than +5. An amulet of mighty fists does not need to have a +1 enhancement bonus to grant a melee weapon special ability.

Construction

Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, greater magic fang, creator's caster level must be at least three times the amulet's bonus, plus any requirements of the melee weapon special abilities; Cost 2,500 gp (+1), 10,000 gp (+2), 22,500 gp (+3), 40,000 gp (+4), 62,500 gp (+5)


hakinaro wrote:
first few have to deal with his stun special ability does it apply to the first hit or with both hits when he gets his second hit at -5

It is important to note that natural attacks do not gain multiple attacks from having a high BAB. As an example, take a look at the Dire Bear with a BAB bonus of +7. He doesn't get extra bite or claw attacks for having a high BAB. That being said the only way you could expect your companion to be getting extra attacks are with Attacks of Opportunity.


Lune wrote:
hakinaro wrote:
first few have to deal with his stun special ability does it apply to the first hit or with both hits when he gets his second hit at -5
It is important to note that natural attacks do not gain multiple attacks from having a high BAB. As an example, take a look at the Dire Bear with a BAB bonus of +7. He doesn't get extra bite or claw attacks for having a high BAB. That being said the only way you could expect your companion to be getting extra attacks are with Attacks of Opportunity.

AC's gain multiattack feat if they qualify for it by having 3 or more natural attacks. If they don't have 3 natural attacks they gain another attack with their primary attack albeit at -5.


They can also use anything that adds extra attacks to a full attack,
(haste doesn't work on NatWpns per RAW, but does per RAI according to JJ, and other similar effects do work per RAW)
or Cleave/Great Cleave, or Combat Patrol, and probably some other options.
You do generally have to 'build' for those though, and may need a higher INT to qualify.


Gignere wrote:
AC's gain multiattack feat if they qualify for it by having 3 or more natural attacks. If they don't have 3 natural attacks they gain another attack with their primary attack albeit at -5.

That is not how Multiattack works, nor how Animal Companions work.

Here are the relevant quotes:

Animal Companion, under BAB wrote:


BAB: This is the animal companion's base attack bonus. An animal companion's base attack bonus is the same as that of a druid of a level equal to the animal's HD. Animal companions do not gain additional attacks using their natural weapons for a high base attack bonus.

Bolding mine.

Multiattack wrote:


Multiattack (Combat)

This creature is particularly skilled at making attacks with its natural weapons.

Prerequisite: Three or more natural attacks.

Benefit: The creature's secondary attacks with natural weapons take only a –2 penalty.

Normal: Without this feat, the creature's secondary attacks with natural weapons take a –5 penalty.

Quandary is correct, however. You can gain multiple attacks in other ways like via effects like Haste (I agree that they should benefit from Haste), Cleave and similar feats. I was responding to the part about, "when he gets his second hit at -5" though as it seemed the OP was under the misinterpretation that natural attacks benefit from having having a high BAB by getting extra attacks.


OMG OMG OMG HOW DID HE GET A DINOSAUR MUST KNOW GOING CRAZY DYING TO FIND OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sorry that is so COOOL!!!


It is in the entry for Ankylosaurus in the Beastiary. It is also listed HERE!!!1!!one!!


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Shyne wrote:
OMG OMG OMG HOW DID HE GET A DINOSAUR MUST KNOW GOING CRAZY DYING TO FIND OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sorry that is so COOOL!!!

CAPS-LOCK!!!1!!1! YEEEEEEEEAAAAAHHHH!!!!1!!!1!!


It wasn't caps lock. He was actually trying to yell through the interwebs.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Why is it not both?


Lune read the section on Multiattack in the Animal Companion section below:

An animal companion gains Multiattack as a bonus feat if it has three or more natural attacks and does not already have that feat. If it does not have the requisite three or more natural attacks, the animal companion instead gains a second attack with its primary natural weapon, albeit at a –5 penalty.

You checked everywhere but the AC section.


You know, I did check that section and I somehow missed that. That is a nice change from 3.x, too as otherwise critters with a single big attack didn't have any real options for getting additional attacks.

Wow. Well that makes the Dwarven Saurian Shaman that I was considering playing in an upcoming game the clear choice. He also would be using an Ankylosaurus for a mount. That thing getting a possible 2 (or more!) stuns off in the same round is grim.

Thank you for pointing that out by the way, Gignere. Learn something new every day. :)


Lune wrote:

You know, I did check that section and I somehow missed that. That is a nice change from 3.x, too as otherwise critters with a single big attack didn't have any real options for getting additional attacks.

It was in 3.5 and not a PF change,

James

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Animal companion Ankylosaurus All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.