Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Magus: Bladebound Hexcrafter?


Advice


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Bladebound archetype uses up the slot for 3rd lvl Magus Arcana, Hexcrafter archetype has the option to pick Witch hexes instead of Magus Arcana

Is a Magus which is both Bladebound and Hexcrafter a working concept, which uses the 3rd lvl for the Black Blade while giving a choice about the Hex/arcana on other levels, or do these two archetypes interfere with each other and are thus unable to coexist?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

From my reading of the UM Magus archetypes, I was under the impression you could be Spellblade-Bladebound-Hexcrafter! They all seem to swap out different stuff... (spellstrike, 3rd level arcana, and spell recall respectively).... ;)


Oceanshieldwolf wrote:
From my reading of the UM Magus archetypes, I was under the impression you could be Spellblade-Bladebound-Hexcrafter! They all seem to swap out different stuff... (spellstrike, 3rd level arcana, and spell recall respectively).... ;)

I see, well I am not sure on some things but basically I hope I can make a Cabalist Bladebound Hexcrafter Magus. The character would be daughter to a Witch, she herself would using this class thus represent a close connection to witchcraft while fighting with the black sword in black heavy armor. Something like a "witch warrior princess".

This is why I need these things confirmed.

Hex Feats:
I assume this character which can gain hexes also qualifies for most Hex Feats with "Prerequisites: Hex class feature". Correct?

But what of Feats with "Prerequisites: Witch level 10th" as in Split Hex? Does the level of Hexcrafter Magus replace the prerequisite, or is this feat out of reach for this character?


joriandrake wrote:


But what of Feats with "Prerequisites: Witch level 10th" as in Split Hex? Does the level of Hexcrafter Magus replace the prerequisite, or is this feat out of reach for this character?

Those would, by RAW, be out of reach for a Hexcrafter (unless it states somewhere that they treat their magus level as witch levels, but I don't recall that). I'm not sure that's an intentional restriction though.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
joriandrake wrote:

Bladebound archetype uses up the slot for 3rd lvl Magus Arcana, Hexcrafter archetype has the option to pick Witch hexes instead of Magus Arcana

Is a Magus which is both Bladebound and Hexcrafter a working concept, which uses the 3rd lvl for the Black Blade while giving a choice about the Hex/arcana on other levels, or do these two archetypes interfere with each other and are thus unable to coexist?

They can work, but you don't get a Hex at 3rd level, because the Bladebound archetype eats the arcana you'd sub for it. Quite frankly, I don't see them as particularly synergistic a combination.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Sorry to necroan old thread, but both Bladebound and Hexcrafter alter the same ability, which means that under RAW the combo is illegal, right? Or am I missing something?


How I think Hexcrafter works is that it gives you theoption to take a hex instead of an Arcana, the options not there at 3rd level so you can't take it.

It sorta works in the same way the Qinggong Monk works, how it can stack with every other Monk Archetype.


I'm working on a bladebound hexcrafter myself right now. There is a nice guide to the hexcrafter
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1fSJuL1O4hs15NMk-y4MXbH9D_qt9V7iwhY2y9HD rs74/edit?pli=1

I tweaked mine a lot, lost a bit of spell power to gain some versatility, but for my gaming group's style I think that the bladebound hexcrafter is the best magus variant out there


Slaunyeh wrote:
joriandrake wrote:


But what of Feats with "Prerequisites: Witch level 10th" as in Split Hex? Does the level of Hexcrafter Magus replace the prerequisite, or is this feat out of reach for this character?
Those would, by RAW, be out of reach for a Hexcrafter (unless it states somewhere that they treat their magus level as witch levels, but I don't recall that). I'm not sure that's an intentional restriction though.

This.

But as long as it's not for PFS play just ask your GM. Some might allow it.
What you should keep in mind is that you can't take the extra hex feat until you get your first hex.
So with this combination the earliest would be level 6.

Qadira

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

guide link does not work btw


Lythe Featherblade wrote:

I'm working on a bladebound hexcrafter myself right now. There is a nice guide to the hexcrafter

Linkified

I tweaked mine a lot, lost a bit of spell power to gain some versatility, but for my gaming group's style I think that the bladebound hexcrafter is the best magus variant out there

KrythePhreak wrote:
guide link does not work btw

That's because of the space in the middle of the link. Use the linkified version above instead.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

A Ninja wrote:

How I think Hexcrafter works is that it gives you theoption to take a hex instead of an Arcana, the options not there at 3rd level so you can't take it.

It sorta works in the same way the Qinggong Monk works, how it can stack with every other Monk Archetype.

Any chance you can provide a link that shows this combination is considered a legal exception to the rule on combining Archetypes?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Magus: Bladebound Hexcrafter? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.