Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Confused: Replay a scenario with a new character to make a table


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

*

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Recently I played a scenario (Tier 1-5), that I got credit with on another character (Tier 1-2) . There was a table that only had 3 players, so I joined to complete the table with a new 1st level character.

The scenario played up (Tier 4-5).

Do I receive credit on the new character?

****

Short answer: No.

Longer answer: You can only replay Tier 1 scenarios or Tier 1-2 modules for credit.

Taldor ***** Venture-Captain, Illinois—Carbondale

No, you are not able to receive a chronicle for your new character.

Andoran ***

As they said, except I would add that, if you had GMed it than you could have gotten another chronicle sheet for new character.

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

Patrick and Kristen are correct.

You can absolutely replay any scenario to your hearts content, and should be commended for helping make a legal table, but you do not gain additional credit for it.

Silver Crusade ***

Actually, I thought the rule was that replaying was NOT allowed at all, with stepping up to make a legal table being the only exception. But even then, the replay is for no chronicle.

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka CRobledo

Fromper wrote:

Actually, I thought the rule was that replaying was NOT allowed at all, with stepping up to make a legal table being the only exception. But even then, the replay is for no chronicle.

You need to inform the GM that you have played it before to make sure he knows that you know the encounters, etc... And he of course reserves the right to have you at the table or ask you to leave if you spoil it.

I've had tables with repeats and it's never been a problem.

Taldor ***** Venture-Captain, Illinois—Carbondale

Fromper wrote:

Actually, I thought the rule was that replaying was NOT allowed at all, with stepping up to make a legal table being the only exception. But even then, the replay is for no chronicle.

You are correct. Replaying is not allowed. Setting at a table to make legal is the only exception. You are also correct in saying that the repeat player does not get a chronicle.

Osirion *****

harmor wrote:

Recently I played a scenario (Tier 1-5), that I got credit with on another character (Tier 1-2) . There was a table that only had 3 players, so I joined to complete the table with a new 1st level character.

The scenario played up (Tier 4-5).

Do I receive credit on the new character?

No. But ... in case no one told you? Thank you very much for helping make a table so others could enjoy that scenario.

You could GM it and get credit for it, if you really like the chronicle, I highly recommend giving that a shot.

Taldor **

To butt in here for a minute: does the 1 or 1-2 tier rule also apply to We Be Goblins or is it tied to the "1 chronicle sheet once for GM-ing and once for playing"?

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Roac wrote:
does the 1 or 1-2 tier rule also apply to We Be Goblins

It does, as it's a sanctioned module; see the 'Applying Credit' section on pp. 23-24 of the PFS Guide.

Note the final sentence though:

Quote:
A player may only play a tier 1–2 module for credit once with a level 2 character, but may use additional level 1 characters to replay the same module for credit.

****

Fromper wrote:
Actually, I thought the rule was that replaying was NOT allowed at all, with stepping up to make a legal table being the only exception. But even then, the replay is for no chronicle.

I don't think so. See below:

Guide to the Pathfinder Society Organized Play wrote:

You cannot receive more than 1 player Chronicle and 1 GM Chronicle for the same scenario, regardless of how many times you GM or play the scenario. You are free to replay a scenario in order to meet the minimum legal table size (see Chapter 7), but once you have reached that limit, you do not earn any additional rewards beyond having a good time.

If you have already played a scenario and wish to replay it for any reason, you must inform the GM that you have already played the scenario.

Side note, while playing to make the table legal was very much a good-community sort of move, it should be noted that the GM can always toss in a pregen to get the table legal.

Guide to the Pathfinder Society Organized Play wrote:
In cases in which you simply cannot seat four players, you may run a table of three players, and play an official level-appropriate pregenerated character in order to meet the minimum table size of four PCs.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Confused: Replay a scenario with a new character to make a table All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.