Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Basic Archetype Question


Rules Questions


Do you have to use all of a archetype in your class progression, or can you do a few levels of it, then go back the original flavor? And, if you go back to the original class, how do class abilities that you subbed in advance? Maybe it would be clearer with an example, like the Divine Hunter archetype of the Paladin class?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion Subscriber

RAW you can't swap between "vanilla" and "archetype" levels.


An archetype is a package deal. If you're a Divine Hunter Paladin, then all your Paladin levels are Divine Hunter Paladin.


Would cause trouble, because you could get great advantages if you could swap - some archetypes get the good stuff on the first levels.


Gorbacz & Benly are correct. Here's the citation:

Alternate Class Features: "When an archetype includes multiple class features, a character must take all of them-often blocking the character from ever gaining certain familiar class features, but replacing them with equally powerful options."

There's similar text in the Ultimate Magic Spellcasting Class Options and Ultimate Combat Class Archetypes.


Thanks!


Another thing you might keep in mind...
The rules state that you cant take two archetypes that substitute the same ability. What if two archetypes substite one same ability at, say lvl10 and you only want to follow the class to lvl 5 anyways?
That is something that seems to have to be houseruled


Avatar of Groetus wrote:
The rules state that you cant take two archetypes that substitute the same ability. What if two archetypes substite one same ability at, say lvl10 and you only want to follow the class to lvl 5 anyways?

The rule still applies.


Avatar of Groetus wrote:

Another thing you might keep in mind...

The rules state that you cant take two archetypes that substitute the same ability. What if two archetypes substite one same ability at, say lvl10 and you only want to follow the class to lvl 5 anyways?
That is something that seems to have to be houseruled

If you really want to houserule your way into making two otherwise incompatible archetypes work together, probably the tidiest solution is to ask the GM to change what ability is traded for one of the conflicting abilities. I don't think there's a need for a general-case modification to the rules.

Shadow Lodge

Benly wrote:
Avatar of Groetus wrote:

Another thing you might keep in mind...

The rules state that you cant take two archetypes that substitute the same ability. What if two archetypes substite one same ability at, say lvl10 and you only want to follow the class to lvl 5 anyways?
That is something that seems to have to be houseruled
If you really want to houserule your way into making two otherwise incompatible archetypes work together, probably the tidiest solution is to ask the GM to change what ability is traded for one of the conflicting abilities. I don't think there's a need for a general-case modification to the rules.

Wouldn't it just be neater and cleaner to get with your GM and create an Archtype? Obviously you like aspects from two Archtypes, so create a new one with the best of both and have the GM approve. Done.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Basic Archetype Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.