Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Can flying creatures attack from above?


Rules Questions


For instance can a gargoyle hover directly above its target and attack them? thus negating flanking.

Also are there any advanced rules on this topic? as lots of things are not so clear and more open to DM discretion. would this be fair play from the DM?

Another question might be, if the gargoyle attacked you from above and your pet adjacent to you wanted to attack the gargoyle what range would the gargoyle be at? will it be able to stand up on its back legs and still attack with both claws and a bite or would he need to be a tall creature with a weapon capable of adding some extra reach?

Many thanks for any help on this!

Grand Lodge Dedicated Voter 2013, Star Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

Yes, and it gets a bonus for attacking from higher ground. <snip>

If the Medium gargoyle is in range to attack you, it's in the 5-foot cube directly above yours. Your Small or Medium companion can attack it with no difficulty.


No bonus for higher ground. Higher ground isn't about juat being higher up than the foe, it also requires actually having some sort of surface underneath you. Whether that be a hillside, a table, or a mount.

Please don't give flight more advantages than it already has by RAW.

Common Myth #2: "Magical flight means I make no sound while flying!"
NO.

Marathon Voter 2013, Star Voter 2014

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber

I don't think that "on the ground" is the important part of the +1 bonus to attack for being "on higher ground."

For example, if you're mounted you get it, even though you're not on the ground, and the Death From Above feat specifically mentions it.

What about flying would preclude you from getting the +1 for being higher?


I don't know. What precludes a 20 ft tall giant from getting the bonus when attacking humans, then?


The giant is not on higher ground.. he's just taller.
How is that the same?

Flying creatures do get the +1 for higher ground from all interpretations I've read.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Can flying creatures attack from above? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.