Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Ancestral Arms, Exotic Weapons, and BAB 0


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The wording of the Half-elf alternate racial trait Ancestral Arms says that you gain Exotic or Martial weapon proficiency with one weapon as a bonus feat at 1st level.

However, Exotic Weapon proficiency requires BAB 1. Does this mean that a Half-elf with a class that gives less than full BAB cannot take Ancestral Arms in an exotic weapon?

Liberty's Edge

Id say no as the trait isn't the feat nor does it grant the feat persay.


It does, actually.

Ancestral Arms: Some half-elves receive training in an unusual weapon. Half-elves with this racial trait receive Exotic Weapon Proficiency or Martial Weapon Proficiency with one weapon as a bonus feat at 1st level. This racial trait replaces the adaptability racial trait.

Since it's a bonus feat though, and a racial one as well, I'd let them have the proficiency.


It lacks the "The character must still meet the prerequisites." clause that bonus feats that respect said prereqs have, as well.

Star Voter 2014

The general rule (and there's exceptions) seems to be that if something grants a specific feat, you get it regardless of prerequisites, and if something grants a choice of feats, you have to qualify for the one you take.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Ancestral Arms, Exotic Weapons, and BAB 0 All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.