Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Do Trait bonuses stack?


Rules Questions


In particular, wondering about the combination of 'Reactionary' and 'Exile' each providing a +2 trait bonus to initiative. Can you take both for a +4, or should I find a replacement for Reactionary? (Exile is central to the character concept, so if they don't stack, Reactionary gets the boot.)

First time using the Trait rules, wanted more expert input. Thanks.


a bonus does not stack with any bonus of the s ame name.

A trait bonus wont stack with a trait bonus.

find a replacemnent


Luck bonuses stack. Dodge bonuses stack. Last time I looked.


Those are exceptions. Unless otherwise noted, they don't stack with same named boni.


Alitan wrote:
Luck bonuses stack. Dodge bonuses stack. Last time I looked.

Notice how you're aware those stack and trait isn't on your list.


Luck bonuses do not actually stack. Only luck penalties stack.


There's little mentioned about Trait bonuses, aside from what bonus any given Trait provides... hence, nothing to add/not add to the list.

Anyway. Exile is needful... not much else interesting/applicable, figured if Trait bonuses stacked I'd go with Reactionary.

May just skip 2nd Trait entirely...

Shadow Lodge Dedicated Voter 2014

Many traits grant a new type of bonus: a “trait” bonus. Trait bonuses do not stack—they’re intended to give player characters a slight edge, not a secret backdoor way to focus all of a character’s traits on one type of bonus and thus gain an unseemly advantage. It’s certainly possible, for example, that somewhere down the line, a “Courageous” trait might be on the list of dwarf race traits, but just because this trait is on both the dwarf race traits list and the basic combat traits list doesn’t mean you’re any more brave if you choose both versions than if you choose only one.

Linky

Sczarni

Never skip on the second trait if your DM says it's available... What sort of character do you have? I know lots of the martial classes can always benefit from a +1 to their Will save - which is available... You could also take a trait that gives you a specific skill as a class skill - that's an extra +3 to a skill your class normally doesn't get...

Basically always take that extra trait is you can!


take two traits

and if your smart, you ask your dm how many traits he/she will allow, if its just the two or more as the rules state, the thing is two, but its up to the dm if he choses to allow more.

just take whatever makes your character more interesting....


Daryl MacLeod wrote:

Never skip on the second trait if your DM says it's available... What sort of character do you have? I know lots of the martial classes can always benefit from a +1 to their Will save - which is available... You could also take a trait that gives you a specific skill as a class skill - that's an extra +3 to a skill your class normally doesn't get...

Basically always take that extra trait is you can!

It's actually a +4. Usually you get a +1 trait bonus and it becomes a class skill. A single rank and the trait gives you +5 + attribute bonus. Not bad for a single trait investment.


Yeah... a +1 trait bonus and class skill status for skills I either (a) already have as class skills and don't really feel the need for a +1 bump or (b) will never use because I don't have skill points to sink into one more skill.

I was already making the character an exile, before I knew about the trait. Initiative bonuses are always good, so that was happy. Couldn't find rule for trait bonuses stackability, and frankly the initiative bonus was the only attractive thing on the list, imo.

Anyway. I'll be fine with just the one trait, thanks; I really don't like/need any of the others.


Trait Rules wrote:
Many traits grant a new type of bonus: a “trait” bonus. Trait bonuses do not stack—they're intended to give player characters a slight edge, not a secret backdoor way to focus all of a character's traits on one type of bonus and thus gain an unseemly advantage. It's certainly possible, for example, that somewhere down the line, a “Courageous” trait might be on the list of dwarf race traits, but just because this trait is on both the dwarf race traits list and the basic combat traits list doesn't mean you're any more brave if you choose both versions than if you choose only one.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Do Trait bonuses stack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.