Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

A question on consumption


Kingmaker


During kingdom build does the kingdom have to pay for the food with bp? So if it has 20 farms that produce 20 food and 19 hexes with 1 city (1district) making 20. Is it auto payed or do the leaders need to spend 20 bp for the food?
Was reading the build section again today and it's the whole consumption section that got me thinking. It says
A kingdoms prosperity is measured by bp in its treasury and it's consumption indicates how many bp it costs to keep the kingdom functioning. If a kingdom is unable to pay its consumption it's unrest increase by 2. A kingdom consumption is equal to its size plus number of city districts plus adjustments for edicts minus 2 per farmland


Greetings, fellow traveller.

20 farms produce 40 bp per kingdom turn. Your consumption is 20 farm hexes + 1 city hex + 1 for the district = 22 consumption.
This nets you/your players 18 bp to spend on enhancing their kingdom (expand the city, claim more hexes, build roads, farms, whatnot).

The consumption incurred resembles every expenditure the kingdom has during the turn/month.
The players do not need to spend anymore bp for (their?) food - if you track things like that it has to come out of the players' personal coffers (if they take bp out of the treasury and convert it into gp they incur the described propability of increased unrest).

Ruyan.


Note the BP from Farms can *only* be used to offset consumption; it is never income.

If your Kingdom is Size 40 with 4 city districts, it has a Consumption of 44 BP/Turn. This must be paid each turn.

Farms *reduce* consumption. Each farm reduces consumption by 2, to a minimum of 0.

So, if your kingdom has a Consumption of 44:
-If you have 20 Farms (offset of 40), your net Consumption is 4.
-If you have 23 Farms (offset of 46), your net Consumption is 0 (not -2)

'Extra' offset from farms is irrelevant.


Aye, you're right, Ramarren
Sorry, for the oversight. Look there, a monkey!

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
RuyanVe wrote:

Aye, you're right, Ramarren

Sorry, for the oversight. Look there, a monkey!

Those friggin monkeys! lol!

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Adventure Path / Kingmaker / A question on consumption All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.