Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Cloistered Cleric Weapon proficiencies: Is a CC proficient in his deity's favored weapon?


Rules Questions


The subject is the matter of my question.

Anyone has an answer?

And please don't suggest "Just play a normal cleric". The whole character's concept is based around a knowledge-focused, skilled and cloistered guy, and I'll just deal with the mechanical weakness of Diminished Spellcasting.


It doesn't say he isn't proficient in the favored weapon, so I'd say he is, like any other cleric.


It doesn't say that he is proficient with his deity's favored weapon, either, though. Under the Cleric's weapon and armor proficiencies, it specifically states, "Clerics are also proficient with the favored weapon of their deity." Cloistered Cleric replaces a regular Cleric's weapon and armor proficiencies and does not say that they are proficient with the favored weapon.

I would rule that, no, Cloistered Cleric is not proficient with their deity's favored weapon. Check with your GM, though, he might allow it.


Maggiethecat wrote:

Cloistered Cleric replaces a regular Cleric's weapon and armor proficiencies and does not say that they are proficient with the favored weapon.

This is the correct answer.


MyTThor wrote:
Maggiethecat wrote:

Cloistered Cleric replaces a regular Cleric's weapon and armor proficiencies and does not say that they are proficient with the favored weapon.

This is the correct answer.

Yes, but I'd still let him have it.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014

5 people marked this as a favorite.
A highly regarded expert wrote:
MyTThor wrote:
This is the correct answer.
Yes, but I'd still let him have it.

A little aside:

Over on the PFS General Discussion forums, we've had a recent rash of Rules questions, which then get shunted over here because they're about Pathfinder rules rather than things specific to PFS organized play. Thing is, the posters have complained about having their threads moved here, and even prefaced their posts with things like "Please don't move this to Rules Questions; all you ever get there is houserules, 'ask your GM' and people telling you you're stupid for asking".

Not trying to pick on you specifically, but I think it's a sad state of affairs when the Rules Questions section of the boards has such a reputation that people would actually prefer to take their rules questions to a different forum.

So please, everyone: if you're going to respond to a question in the Rules forum, answer in the context of the rules, even if you do things differently in your own games.


I am ashamed and embarrassed...

Please... Please forgive me!


Alright I won't tell you to play a regular Cleric, instead I will tell you to play an Enlightened Philosopher Oracle of Life, one CC lover to another, in PF it's the better option


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I see what you are saying Jiggy, but sometimes RAW is unclear, or has no answer. That's when suggestions on how to run it come in to play.


When an archetype replaces another ability you have to go with the new ability in its entirety. Thus when the CC section on weapons and armor proficiency replaces the existing weapons and armor proficiency you lose the deities weapon proficiency too.

If on the other hand it makes a statement such as 'in addition to their normal proficiencies' then you gain the new wording while not losing the old.

- Gauss

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014

blackbloodtroll wrote:
I see what you are saying Jiggy, but sometimes RAW is unclear, or has no answer. That's when suggestions on how to run it come in to play.

Such instances are not the source of this forum's reputation.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Flagging inappropriate posts helps.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Jiggy wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
I see what you are saying Jiggy, but sometimes RAW is unclear, or has no answer. That's when suggestions on how to run it come in to play.
Such instances are not the source of this forum's reputation.

IOW, it's no different from any forum anywhere on the internet.

Please forgive me!


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

... and moving on.


Discuss it with your GM.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Cloistered Cleric Weapon proficiencies: Is a CC proficient in his deity's favored weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.