Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Stacking a ring of blinking with mirror image


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

How does this work exactly?

Cheliax

Your figments wouldn't benefit from the blinking effect, they would only "blink" as an illusion, and would soak up hits in either state the user is in. The user rolls to determine which one gets hit and then resolve it from there.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Carbon D. Metric wrote:

Your figments wouldn't benefit from the blinking effect, they would only "blink" as an illusion, and would soak up hits in either state the user is in. The user rolls to determine which one gets hit and then resolve it from there.

I think your reasoning is off by a bit. The mirror images are an effect on the character blinking. When the character blinks, that effect leaves the current plane along with the character, it isn't an "illusion" of blinking. The chance to miss (unless the attacker can target and strike ethereal targets) still comes into play due to that.


I would run it as: roll chance to miss, then roll to see which mirror image is struck.

- Gauss

Cheliax

Would you allow the mirror images the same HP, AC, Saving throws, and SR as well? Mirror Image is only a 2nd level spell.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Carbon D. Metric wrote:
Would you allow the mirror images the same HP, AC, Saving throws, and SR as well? Mirror Image is only a 2nd level spell.

Blinking causes X effect, mirror image causes Y effect. Mirror image isn't suddenly more powerful than a second level spell because of blinking, but it might be more effective when the two spells are used together. Your question is moot, mirror image continues to do what it says in its description, blinking removes the target and its mirror images so they can't be hit some % of the time. This is a result of two spell effects, not just a "2nd level spell"...

Basically I'm going to "allow" the spells to work the way they are stated to. Not quite sure what your implication is otherwise.


You have to bypass the miss chance first, and hope you hit the caster. It is an annoying combo.

It does not matter what level the spell is. That is now the rules interact. The spell is cast on the caster so if he leaves the spell goes with him.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

My guess would be that you roll to see if you hit the blinking caster. If you do, then you roll to see if it really was the caster, on one of his images.

If you miss the caster due to the attack roll by 5 or less (not because he was blinked away), then one of the images is dispelled.

That sound about right to you guys?


That is correct RD.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Stacking a ring of blinking with mirror image All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.