Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Feats: Diplomacy


Suggestions/House Rules/Homebrew

Grand Lodge

The Persuasion Feat gives a PC a bonus to Diplomacy and Intimidate. This makes absolutely no sense -- these two CHA based Skills are opposite of each other, yes?! Why are they combined?

Wouldn't the Feat be better designed if it were Diplomacy and some other CHA based Skill -- most obviously Perform? Or maybe Diplomacy and Bluff?

1} How would it affect a game if the Feat were a bonus to Diplomacy & Bluff (or Diplomacy & Perform)?

2} Does anyone else see Persuasion as poorly designed?

Thanks.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It gives bonuses to the two skills in the game that can be used to change the attitudes of others. That's what persuading people is.


When Diplomacy fails/breaks down, the Intimidation begins...

Grand Lodge

@ Cheapy, ... Exactly. A PC will use one or the other: the charismatic Bard uses Diplomacy; the raging Barbarian uses Intimidate. No one uses both; they're opposite ways to change NPCs' attitudes.


W E Ray wrote:
@ Cheapy, ... Exactly. A PC will use one or the other: the charismatic Bard uses Diplomacy; the raging Barbarian uses Intimidate. No one uses both; they're opposite ways to change NPCs' attitudes.

I use both... if the Diplomacy rolls are terrible and don't achieve what I need them to achieve, then Intimidate is the only way to go. I can't ask the NPC to wait there for 24 hours while the Diplomacy cooldown resets.

I also use Intimidate/Dazzling Display in combat, so Diplomacy serves out of combat purpose while Intimidate usually serves in-combat purpose.

Grand Lodge

Ah, good point, Aeryn. I guess there are uses for both.


I never thought about it before, but I think Bluff could just as easily replace either of those skills. I know Bluff is used in the Deceitful feat, but there's no logical reason why it couldn't be swapped with Intimidate, if a DM felt compelled to houserule it.

And I highly doubt it would upset game balance.

Just make sure to note that the feats wouldn't stack.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Suggestions/House Rules/Homebrew / Feats: Diplomacy All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.