Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Undead Lord & Bloody Skeleton


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

So, can a Cleric (Undead Lord) make his Corpse Companion a Bloody Skeleton?

And would it still be his Corpse Companion when it comes back from destruction after the hour, or is the link severed upon its destruction?

Star Voter 2013

"She can use this ability to create a variant skeleton such as a bloody or burning skeleton, but its Hit Dice cannot exceed half her cleric level. She can dismiss her companion as a standard action, which destroys it."

I'd say it comes back unless dismissed

Liberty's Edge

Thanks. I think I got myself confused by having used the Command Undead ability on a normal skeleton running around the scenario, and that one ends when the target is destryoed, where the Corpse Companion ability doesn't include any such restriction.

In other words, ignore this thread.


Can someone show me where it says they come back from destruction after an hour?


It doesn't say that on the page.

It just says you can take 8 hours to make a new one and it doesn't count toward your total HD of undead.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Bloody Skeletons are the Phoenix of skeletons.


Spahrep wrote:
Can someone show me where it says they come back from destruction after an hour?

Here you go. Right from the SRD:

SRD wrote:

Deathless (Su)

A bloody skeleton is destroyed when reduced to 0 hit points, but it returns to unlife 1 hour later at 1 hit point, allowing its fast healing thereafter to resume healing it. A bloody skeleton can be permanently destroyed if it is destroyed by positive energy, if it is reduced to 0 hit points in the area of a bless or hallow spell, or if its remains are sprinkled with a vial of holy water.


ahhh, thanks, i didn't realize it was something specific to the bloody, i thought he was talking in general.


While the imagry of the continously reanimating skeleton is seen in a fair amount of fictional sources, the blood covered skeletons being the ones to do this walked right out of Castlevania / Akumajō Dracula.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Undead Lord & Bloody Skeleton All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.