Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Selling Your Spellbook in PFS


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

If your wizard a wizard is crazy enough to sell their starting spellbook (perhaps they bought a Blessed Book and paid to transfer the spells over), what value can they sell it for if any?

Options:

1) Can't sell it because they started with the spellbook for free.
2) Per the CRB: "spellbooks can be sold for an amount equal to half
the cost of purchasing and inscribing the spells within"
3) Can sell it, but aren't paid for the cost of the empty book (15 gp) or the spells which were gained for free at each level.

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
nosig wrote:
Kyle Baird wrote:
If you want to be "fair to yourself," I recommend that when you sell your spell book, you only pay yourself for the spells you scribed from scrolls or other spellbooks, not the book or the spells you got for leveling up. If you follow this, you'll have a hard time finding a GM who doesn't agree that it was proper.

actually, when I posted over in the rules board (not PFSOP), and stated it was for PFS, I got a total of two responses.

1) I'm stupid to ask.
2) 12.5 gp (half the cost of the blank spellbook - as all spells scribed are valueless).

If I had not already posted to this thread, I likely would have dropped the matter and told my wife to forget it, she couldn't sell it. But then Dragnmoon started pointing out where other people had answered the question and I started digging in more.

SO... I figure that this should be discussed.

So, Kyle - your answer would be what?

say she has in her book

1) 10 spells of 0 level and 5 - 1st level spells all gained when she was a 1st level wizard.

2) 2 -1st level & 4 - 2nd level spells gained when she leveled to 2nd,3rd,and 4th levels

3) 2 - 1st level & 1 -2nd level spells gained during adventures and scribed into her book
4) 1 - 1st level & 2 -2nd level spells bought as scrolls and scribed into her book

In PFSOP what does she get when she sells the book? (and how is it calculated?)

1) 0 gp

2) 0 gp
3) 0 gp + 30 gp.
4) 162 gp + 45 gp (assuming there weren't expensive components involved)

Total 237 gp.

If you got paid as though you found this book, the total would be:

0-levels: 125 gp + 50 gp
1st levels: 250 gp + 100 gp
2nd levels: 1050 gp + 280 gp

Total/2 => 1855/2 = 927 gp

Qadira ***

wow.... you get different amounts than me.

1) 10 spells of 0 level and 5 - 1st level spells all gained when she was a 1st level wizard.
(10x0)+(5x0)= 0gp
2) 2 -1st level & 4 - 2nd level spells gained when she leveled to 2nd,3rd,and 4th levels
(2x0)+(4x0)= 0gp
3) 2 - 1st level & 1 -2nd level spells gained during adventures and scribed into her book
(2x5)+(1x20)= 30gp
4) 1 - 1st level & 2 -2nd level spells bought as scrolls and scribed into her book
(1x5)+(2x20)= 45gp
so totaling gives 0+0+30+45= 75 gp sale value.

....

I wasn't figureing she would get anything back for buying them as scrolls - why should she?

Qadira ***

Kyle Baird wrote:
If your wizard a wizard is crazy enough to sell their starting spellbook (perhaps they bought a Blessed Book and paid to transfer the spells over), .....

some notes:

the cost to scribe a spell to a Blessed Book is Zero. (just takes up pages)

Why keep an extra spell book around? Wouldn't it be like keeping an extra suit of Banded Mail that you replaced with your Full Plate?

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

Well, there's always the chance of getting captured and sold into slavery. Bye-bye blessed book. But wait, I still have my old book back at the grand lodge. Yay!

Qadira ***

Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
Well, there's always the chance of getting captured and sold into slavery. Bye-bye blessed book. But wait, I still have my old book back at the grand lodge. Yay!

well... this is another YMMV.

I've had a V.O. that was judging at a table question a player at the table about where he left his "extra stuff" - indicating that your PC always has all his stuff on him. The rest of us at the table just kept our mouths shut and moved on. YMMV at it's finest.

Needing a backup spellbook? I have never heard of this happening - but what the heck - maybe? So you would advise those players buying new gear NOT to sell their old gear, just to leave it at "home".

Qadira ***

Dragnmoon posted the following on the other thread -

Your wife's spellbook based in what you said was in it.

0 Level spells - 2.5 gp to purchase + 5gp to add = 7.5 per spell
1st Level spells - 5 gp to purchase + 10 gp to add = 15 per spell
2nd level spells - 20 gp to purchase + 40 gp to add = 60 per spell
Spellbok = 15gp

10 0 Level spells = 75 gp
10 1st level spells = 150 gp
7 2nd level spells = 420 gp

Total = 645 gp
Total selling price = 322.5 gp

My math look correct?

so looks like we have 3 responses that list a value - and three different totals. So far.

(Edited: corrected per Dragnmoons instructions - I hope!)

Andoran *****

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber
nosig wrote:
Dragnmoon posted the following on the other thread

My total was based on actual RAW, though it was still incorrect, you need to remove the Book intial price from the total.

So the total would be 322.5 gp

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
CRB pg. 200 wrote:
spellbooks can be sold for an amount equal to half the cost of purchasing and inscribing the spells within.

Andoran *****

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber
Kyle Baird wrote:
spellbooks can be sold for an amount equal to half the cost of purchasing and inscribing the spells within.
PFRPG pg. 219 wrote:
In most cases, wizards charge a fee for the privilege of copying spells from their spellbooks. This fee is usually equal to half the cost to write the spell into a spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook).

And that is what they use for the cost of purchasing, when they mention that is the cost of spellbooks.

Paizo used that when they put the spellbook prices for the spellbooks in UM.

This thread should help you.

Qadira ***

Ok, so if my wife uses Dragnmoons (the rules as outlined in the CRB) methiod - whos going to cry "Foul!"?

(this is my underhanded way of saying he's convensed me. I agree with him now...)

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

nosig wrote:
Ok, so if my wife uses Dragnmoons (the rules as outlined in the CRB) methiod - whos going to cry "Foul!"?

Those who believe that when the campaign coordinator says "follow the Core rules unless otherwise specified" he really means "follow the Core rules until you think you have a better idea".

Qadira ***

Jiggy wrote:
nosig wrote:
Ok, so if my wife uses Dragnmoons (the rules as outlined in the CRB) methiod - whos going to cry "Foul!"?
Those who believe that when the campaign coordinator says "follow the Core rules unless otherwise specified" he really means "follow the Core rules until you think you have a better idea".

(sssshh! I'm trying to get them into different camps before I spring that on them. lol!)

Qadira ***

Ok, people - Mark Moreland has spoke on this subject in a different thread - here's what he says there about selling your spellbook:

Mark Moreland "...Scribing a spellbook and selling it is the same as scribing a scroll and selling it (ie. it's not allowed)."

so - in answer to the original post on this thread - a wizard CAN'T sell his spell book.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Selling Your Spellbook in PFS All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.