Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Variant Channeling at level 1-6 is 1d6, right?


Rules Questions


So, everyone knows about Variant Channeling and how it halves your Channel Energy amount. But what does "halving" mean? The example given is a level 7 cleric, who goes from 4d6 to 2d6, not "roll 4d6, divide result by 2".

By that example, the 1. level character gets 0.5 dice. Rounded up or down? Well, other class abilities tend to be "half level, minimum 1" and the bonus is set until level 4. In the case of Variant Channeling, I guess it's 1 die=1 die, 2 dice = 1 die, 3 dice = 1 die (becasue you generally round down, level 1 is the exception), and you need 4 dice to get your second die when channeling.

Am I right?


You generally round down in PF unless otherwise stated.

Shadow Lodge

I assume that the total result is halved. So you still have the normal Cleric Channel progression, but if you use a variant channel, you would roll all the normal dice (as there might be cases where an something is not reduced under some circumstance) and then half it.


Beckett wrote:
I assume that the total result is halved. So you still have the normal Cleric Channel progression, but if you use a variant channel, you would roll all the normal dice (as there might be cases where an something is not reduced under some circumstance) and then half it.

In other words, it is 1d6 x1/2 (minimum 1) for 1 to 3 at levels 1 and 2, 2d6 x1/2 for 1 to 6 at levels 3 and 4, and 3d6 x1/2 for a range of 1 to 9 at levels 5 and 6.


Beckett wrote:
I assume that the total result is halved. So you still have the normal Cleric Channel progression, but if you use a variant channel, you would roll all the normal dice (as there might be cases where an something is not reduced under some circumstance) and then half it.

Dude, I stated in my post that the given example doesn't do it that way.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Every 4 levels after 1st, you get 1d6 more. I would think.


Quote:


Dude, I stated in my post that the given example doesn't do it that way.

The example given uses two different ways to modify the damage:

Quote:
For example, a 7th-level cleric normally heals 4d6 points of damage with channeled positive energy; with the Nature alternative channeling, that cleric instead heals only half that amount (2d6) when channeling, but heals animals and fey an additional +50% over the unhalved value (4d6 + 50%).

When the amount is reduced, the example just halves the number of dice. But when the bonus is added, it doesn't just add more dice. The original number of dice is rolled, and adds the 50% on top of that. It doesn't say 6d6, which is statistically the same as 4d6x1.5 or 4d6 + 50%. So the example is inconsistent with how it determines the amount healed/damaged.

With everything else (as far as I know), you always roll the normal number of dice, and modify the total. When someone successfully makes their save against a caster level 10 fireball, you don't roll 5d6. You roll 10d6, and then take half the total. Makes sense that the variant channeling would work the same as everything else.

Silver Crusade

Sorry to rez an old thread, but I can't seem to find a definitive answer or FAQ entry on this. Do we have a ruling?


The way I would rule, and any GM I've played with would rule, since there's no further explanation, at first level you'd have 1d3. Which is 1d6 halved.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Variant Channeling at level 1-6 is 1d6, right? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.