Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Katana, double walking stick


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I have a question considering the Katana, double walking stick
this weapon details tells that it's like a quarterstaf when the blade are sealed
the damage stats behind it are the same as a quarterstaff (1d6/1d6 critical x3)
but if you use the 2 blades (consider it are wakizaki) do you still use the 1d6/1d6 critical x3 or do you use the stats from the wakizaki 1d6 critical 19-20/x2 also do the blades gain the deadly ability from the wakizaki
furthermore can you use the blades with the weapon finesse feat?

Shadow Lodge

looks like the stats are for "Blade out Mode" ... if they are capped ... See Quarterstaff ... thats how Im interpreting it


A quarterstaff only has a critical multiplier of x2. The effect of using the blades is to bump that to a x3.

You cannot use weapon finesse with the weapon, as it is neither a light weapon or a finessable weapon (a specific weapon trait).

Star Voter 2013

Yet the stats given say it is a blunt weapon.


sorry yes quarterstaff is multiplier x2
and indeed the it counts as a bluntweapon
even if you are using the blades
I asked my DM and he wasn't sure either
he said that it's not very logic that the blades counts as Bludge weapons
cause it say's:
This single case conceals a pair of matched fighting swords perfectly balanced to be wielded as a pair. Despite their name, the blades more closely resemble the shorter wakizashi.

bout the weapon finesse: if the blades are in the case it's logic it doesn't count but Wakizaki's are light weapons so then it could count...

in my eye's it's like this:
if the blades are in the case it counts as a quarterstaff with the given stats
if you get the blades out of the case, they count as wakizaki's and you use the stats from the wakizaki (so you can use weapon finesse on them to cause wakizaki is a light weapon)
opinions?


The description of the weapon as a whole is confusing. Its stats say it's a double weapon, but the description leads one to believe it's actually two swords inside a scabbard that looks like a quarterstaff.

It's unclear whether you take the sheathes off the ends and end up with a double-bladed stick, or if you draw the blades out of the quarterstaff and have a pair of swords (plus a scabbard).


so it's up to the DM to decide then?
I see it like this: you draw the blades out of the quarterstaff and have a pair of swords (plus a scabbard).

reminds me of the movie with that blind guy that fights with a concealed katana :p

Star Voter 2013

It makes me think of Aoshi from ruroni kenshin after his loss.


Hitokiri Battosai wrote:
reminds me of the movie with that blind guy that fights with a concealed katana :p

Zatoichi.

I would go the two swords route myself (I find most double-bladed weapons to be pretty lame as a concept) but I'd like to see an official answer.

havoc xiii wrote:
It makes me think of Aoshi from ruroni kenshin after his loss.

That, too. Both much better imagery than a double-bladed stick. :)

Grand Lodge

I'd say use the Wakazashi stats unshealthed and the quarter staff stats when sheathed.

Is there any errata out for UC yet? it may have been covered in the errata.

Its these sort of editing 'Fails' that drive me nuts. Paizo has good product which could be 'great' with appropriate attention to technical editing.


havoc xiii wrote:
It makes me think of Aoshi from ruroni kenshin after his loss.

true true :-)

he was directly alot cooler :p

Kalshane wrote:


Hitokiri Battosai wrote:

reminds me of the movie with that blind guy that fights with a concealed katana :p

Zatoichi.

thanks :D but I was thinking more of blind fury :D

Grand Lodge

which is a rip off of the original Japanese Zatoichi series but I must admit Blind Fury was cool.

Sovereign Court

Double Katana / Walking stick


but back to topic
other idea's or people that say I follow him or him?


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Yeah, sheathed, it's a quarterstaff. Unsheathed, it's two wakazashi. There really is not a whole lot more to it.

Liberty's Edge

My question is why is it under heavy blades for fighter weapon treaning

Blades, Heavy: bastard sword, chakram, double chicken saber, double walking stick katana, elven curve blade, falcata, falchion, greatsword, great terbutje, katana, khopesh, longsword, nine-ring broadsword, nodachi, scimitar, scythe, seven-branched sword, shotel, temple sword, terbutje, and two-bladed sword

Is it like the two-bladed sword


Hitokiri Battõsai wrote:

so it's up to the DM to decide then?

I see it like this: you draw the blades out of the quarterstaff and have a pair of swords (plus a scabbard).

reminds me of the movie with that blind guy that fights with a concealed katana :p

I think that Bald Guy who was the leader of the 'Crazy 88' gang from 'Kill Bill' #1 fights with a double walking stick Katana.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Katana, double walking stick All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.