Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Some mechanics questions regarding Myrmidarch combos and just general mechanics questions


Pathfinder RPG General Discussion


So friends and I are new to D&D and we were wondering about how some class mechanics would mix together...

Could a Wizard archetype Spellslinger multiclassed with Magus archetype Myrmidarch use ranged spellstrike with a pistol/revolver, and if so could that character then perform a full-round action using the ranged spellstrike and whatever other normal attacks with the pistol(s) they could?

More general question: could a wizard with a high int ability cast spells higher than they could through class spells per day (via gaining higher level bonus spells from Int)for example could a level 4 wizard with 22 intelligence cast a 3rd, 4th, 5th or 6th level wizard spell?


Pathfinder Modules Subscriber

For being new to D&D, you're certainly jumping in headfirst. Normally I'd just suggest picking a base class and running it vanilla.

A myrmidarch can certainly deliver magus spells through a gun. However, the spell-delivering attack comes in place of the free ray attack you normally get when casting a ray spell. Casting the spell is (usually) standard action, so that's the only attack you get.

Normally, a magus uses spell combat to get the sword+spell+touch combination, and this stacks with spellstrike to give sword+spell+swordtouch. Unfortunately, spell combat is limited to melee weapons, even for a myrmidarch. So you're out of luck there. Spellslinger doesn't really change things at all.

As for spellcasters casting higher level spells than normally available: nope, sorry. You don't get the bonus spells until you qualify for those spell levels. So no level 4 disintegrates for you.


You might want to talk with your DM about letting your Myrmidarch have the gunsmithing feat and a beaten up firearm at 1st level like gunslingers. That could work too.

As to your first question: Yes, it's a ranged weapon so it could work.

Second: No. They just get bonus spells when they are able to cast that level of spell

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / General Discussion / Some mechanics questions regarding Myrmidarch combos and just general mechanics questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.