Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Retrieval of Material and Focus components.


Rules Questions


I'm having a hard time trying to find where it says they have to be readied to be able to cast a spell.
Is the retrieval of those material costs part of the act of casting a spell as long as they're readily available (ie: spell component pouch outside your clothing) or do you have to use a move action to take it out first?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
Funtastic wrote:

I'm having a hard time trying to find where it says they have to be readied to be able to cast a spell.

Is the retrieval of those material costs part of the act of casting a spell as long as they're readily available (ie: spell component pouch outside your clothing) or do you have to use a move action to take it out first?

It's the whole point of having a spell component pouch.... to put the materials in easy reach. If you're a prepatory caster, part of your spell preparation was in preparing the material components for quick access.

So in ordinary circumstances, no. retrieving your spell components is part of your casting action. As long as you have your assumed spell component pouch in it's assumed easy access.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Funtastic wrote:

I'm having a hard time trying to find where it says they have to be readied to be able to cast a spell.

Is the retrieval of those material costs part of the act of casting a spell as long as they're readily available (ie: spell component pouch outside your clothing) or do you have to use a move action to take it out first?

You retrieve them as part of casting the spell.


Is there anywhere that this is stated in the core rule book?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Funtastic wrote:
Is there anywhere that this is stated in the core rule book?

Pg. 184, under the "Cast a Spell" Section, in the "Spell Components" paragraph:

"To cast a spell with a material(M), Focus(F), or divine focus(DF) component, you have to have the proper materials, as described by the spell. Unless these components are elaborate, preparing them is a free action."


Ah thank's a lot. Big help. Would have sucked to have all my castings take a full round action.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Retrieval of Material and Focus components. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.