Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Tattoo Sorcerer - Serpentine Bloodline - Two Familiars....?


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Andoran *

Ended up with a wierd combination while looking at a Tattooed Sorcerer Archetype.

The Archetype gives a Familiar at 1st level (Any).
The Bloodline gives a Familiar at 3rd level (Viper at CL-2).

How would this interact?

Andoran ***

It looks like you would get 2 familiar's, since the rule that "stacks with other classes don't apply. Remember though that in PFS you can only use one per scenario. That is how I think it should work, but no expert on all rule's.

****

where are the rules limiting you to one familiar per scenario?

Qadira **** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Amsterdam aka Seraphimpunk

well, the rules in wizard/sorcerer for familiar limit you to one familiar. multiple classes that grant familiars stack to determine the familiar's abilities.

Quote:
A tattooed sorcerer gains a familiar as an arcane bond, as a wizard equal to her sorcerer level. Her sorcerer levels stack with any wizard or witch levels she possesses when determining the powers of her familiar—this ability does not allow her to have both a familiar and a bonded item.
Quote:
Serpentfriend (Ex): At 3rd level, you can use speak with animals at will with reptilian animals (including various forms of dinosaurs, lizards, and other cold-blooded creatures), and you gain a viper familiar using your sorcerer level –2 as your effective wizard level.
Wizard class wrote:
Familiar Ability Descriptions: All familiars have special abilities (or impart abilities to their masters) depending on the master's combined level in classes that grant familiars, as shown on the table below. The abilities are cumulative.

so you've got one ability that gives you familiar at character level, and another bloodline that gives you a familiar at CL -2. If they were from two separate classes, they would stack to determine your familiar's power, since they're from the same class, you'd take the higher of the #'s, from the tattoo sorcerer.

edit: and the rules for one familiar or companion or animal are in the pathfinder society guide.

***** Venture-Captain, Massachusetts—Boston aka Harley Quinn X

tlotig wrote:
where are the rules limiting you to one familiar per scenario?

It's in the FAQ here.

Andoran *

I have to ask though....

It specifically says that if you have more than one Animal Companion/Familiar, you can only have one as a Combat Animal, the others have to be non-Combatant.

The Tattoo Familiar as a Tattoo would definately count as Non-Combatant.

Paizo Employee ***** Global Organized Play Coordinator

You may only have one familiar at a time in PFS.

Osirion

It seems clear by the rules outlined above that they should normally stack if from two different classes ... I too would assume that from a single class, you would simply choose the highest level you would qualify for, unles you simply did not want a viper.

YMMV.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Tattoo Sorcerer - Serpentine Bloodline - Two Familiars....? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.