Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Crane Wing question


Rules Questions


RAW

Crane Wing

Benefit: Once per round while using Crane Style, when you have at least one hand free and are either fighting defensively or using the total defense action, you can deflect one melee weapon attack that would normally hit you. You expend no action to deflect the attack, but you must be aware of it and not flat-footed. An attack so deflected deals no damage to you.

Do claws, bites, tail lashes, etc. count as melee weapons, or does the feat call specifically for wielded weapons like swords and spears?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If they had meant manufactured weapons, they would've said so.

It blocks natural attacks.


I think he might have a point Cheapy.

Why would it say melee "weapon" attack?

Why not just say "one melee attack"?


Natural weapons are still weapons.


Search this question in the archives and you'll find a quote from SKR backing Cheapy up here.


Cheapy is right; if the ability was intended to work with only manufactured weapons it would have used that terminology, just like haste does.

EDIT: Just like haste did! Could've sworn haste omitted natural weapons once upon a time...


The Elusive Jackalope wrote:

Cheapy is right; if the ability was intended to work with only manufactured weapons it would have used that terminology, just like haste does.

EDIT: Just like haste did! Could've sworn haste omitted natural weapons once upon a time...

Threadjack

Spoiler:
I'd very much like to know if that was true, because wouldn't it have made the AoMF speed property problem a nonissue?

Concur, natural weapons are weapons. (<-I'm too lazy to find the dev statement)
There have been numerous threads on this particular topic (Crane Wing).


Archaeik wrote:
The Elusive Jackalope wrote:

Cheapy is right; if the ability was intended to work with only manufactured weapons it would have used that terminology, just like haste does.

EDIT: Just like haste did! Could've sworn haste omitted natural weapons once upon a time...

Threadjack

** spoiler omitted **

Concur, natural weapons are weapons. (<-I'm too lazy to find the dev statement)
There have been numerous threads on this particular topic (Crane Wing).

Haste:
My first printing CRB refers to manufactured weapons only with [I]haste[I] (rather: "any weapon he is holding, ergo, no natural weapons). It must've been changed at some point to include natural weapons in the PRD.

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Haste was always intended to work with natural attacks, but the text didn't back it up. I think it was changed in the 4th printing.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Interestingly, magus arcane pool has the same text that haste pre-errata had (but I'm making no claim about that right now!)

And I was paraphrasing SKR:

http://paizo.com/forums/dmtz4nnp?Ugh-Crane-wing#11

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Crane Wing question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.