Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Staff Magus question


Rules Questions


Real quick, wanna know if I use my ability to imbue my weapon with a +3, and it's a Quarterstaff, do I add the bonus to both sides or just one?

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Cards, Companion, Maps, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

I don't see anything in the PRD or FAQ. I would rule you have to split the +3 if you want both ends enhanced.

Shadow Lodge

At first I thought that it may work on both ends but then the last line of the arcane pool ability reads:

"A magus can only enhance one weapon in this way at one time. If he uses this ability again, the first use immediately ends."

And since double weapons are enchanted as two seprate weapons I would say that it does not work on both ends.

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Cards, Companion, Maps, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
Kieviel wrote:

At first I thought that it may work on both ends but then the last line of the arcane pool ability reads:

"A magus can only enhance one weapon in this way at one time. If he uses this ability again, the first use immediately ends."

And since double weapons are enchanted as two seprate weapons I would say that it does not work on both ends.

Generally, I would agree, but this is stated as a Staff Magus related issue. Since the quarterstaff is the primary weapon of such Magi, I don't see anything wrong with letting them split their enhancement from arcane pool to enhance both ends.

Just my opinion.

Shadow Lodge

Justin Sluder wrote:
Kieviel wrote:

At first I thought that it may work on both ends but then the last line of the arcane pool ability reads:

"A magus can only enhance one weapon in this way at one time. If he uses this ability again, the first use immediately ends."

And since double weapons are enchanted as two seprate weapons I would say that it does not work on both ends.

Generally, I would agree, but this is stated as a Staff Magus related issue. Since the quarterstaff is the primary weapon of such Magi, I don't see anything wrong with letting them split their enhancement from arcane pool to enhance both ends.

Just my opinion.

As a house rule I wouldn't have a problem with your idea. Two weapon fighting with a magus would be hard enough as is and a tiny bit of help wouldn't be overpowering in the least. I'm actually running a staff magus right now in Jade Regent and explored the two weapon route before settling on using it as a single weapon due to the amount of feats it would take to dual weapon effectively.

As a general house rule or maybe a custom Arcana that would allow you to split the enhancement or spend twice the points to double it on both ends I think would also be reasonable.

Rules as written there isn't support for it unfortunatly and I wasn't sure if the OP was talking about Society play or home play.

Cheliax

Now, this may be an error in the text, but per RAW, there is nothing that changes this for a staff magus. Per the rules, they can only enchant one side of the staff at a time.

Also remember, they are not always using the staff with 2 hands due to getting the feat "Quarterstaff Master" for free and needing to keep one hand free for casting. So, the idea of only enchanting one side has some logic with a staff magus.


Good question. I would have to say to err on the side of caution and hit up only one end of it.


Also try to find a way to cast shillelagh spell constantly (its a druid spell) the damage goes from 1d6 to 2d6 per side and the spell gives a free +1 on the weapon (must be non-magical tho)


Happler wrote:

Now, this may be an error in the text, but per RAW, there is nothing that changes this for a staff magus. Per the rules, they can only enchant one side of the staff at a time.

Also remember, they are not always using the staff with 2 hands due to getting the feat "Quarterstaff Master" for free and needing to keep one hand free for casting. So, the idea of only enchanting one side has some logic with a staff magus.

this. i think the expectation is that you'll be fighting with the staff as a one-handed weapon and leaving your off hand open for spell combat. and if you're not using a full attack, you may as well be swinging it with 2 hands anyways.

Qadira

Quote:

At 1st level, a magus can expend 1 point from his arcane pool as a swift action to grant any weapon he is holding a +1 enhancement bonus for 1 minute. For every four levels beyond 1st, the weapon gains another +1 enhancement bonus, to a maximum of +5 at 17th level. These bonuses can be added to the weapon, stacking with existing weapon enhancement to a maximum of +5. Multiple uses of this ability do not stack with themselves.

I think at 5th level, when you've got a total +2 in enhancement bonuses, to make it a +1/+1 quarterstaff. Though really, wouldn't you be carrying a +1/+1 quarterstaff already so you can do something better with the +2?

Lantern Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Justin Sluder wrote:
Kieviel wrote:

At first I thought that it may work on both ends but then the last line of the arcane pool ability reads:

"A magus can only enhance one weapon in this way at one time. If he uses this ability again, the first use immediately ends."

And since double weapons are enchanted as two seprate weapons I would say that it does not work on both ends.

Generally, I would agree, but this is stated as a Staff Magus related issue. Since the quarterstaff is the primary weapon of such Magi, I don't see anything wrong with letting them split their enhancement from arcane pool to enhance both ends.

Just my opinion.

You misunderstand. The primary weapon of a Staff Magus is a staff wielded in One Hand, not as a double weapon. Leaving that all important free hand for spell combat. There really would be no point in enchanting more than one end.

Qadira

That doesn't prohibit him from using it as a double weapon.

Quarterstaff Master wrote:
At the start of your turn, you decide whether or not you are going to wield the quarterstaff as a one-handed or two-handed weapon.

if you have TWF and won't be casting a spell that round, you could TWF fight with it, if you were so inclined.

I disagree with Kieviel's interpretation that a double weapon would count as two separate weapons for the Magus ability. The quarterstaff satisfies the "any one weapon the magus is holding" prerequisite. A double weapon is handled as two weapons for Enchantment purposes... when buying those enchantments with gold. This is a special ability.

i'm going to go search the forums to see if there's any Paladin Weapon bond precident for double weapons...

...nvm. the Divine Bond specifically says they only apply to one end of a double weapon. Magus doesn't state that... so it either needs Errata, or you can presume you can spread around the enhancement bonus as you see fit.


A double weapon is treated as 2 weapon for every type of enhancment, buyed or derived from class abilities like divine bond or arcane pool. Magus get to enhance only 1.

Taldor

A good solution would to enchant one side normally and leave the other at only a +1. Especially with a divine weapon enchantment you couldn't confer via your arcane pool (IE Holy). That way you have a +1 Holy Staff for evil outsiders and a +1 staff to apply any sort of arcane enchantment via your arcane pool for anything else.

Lantern Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Like I've said, unless you're planning on foregoing spell combat, there would be no point to enchanting both ends. The whole schtick of a Staff Magus is wielding a staff and using spellcombat and spellstrike. So that means one handed use, ergo only one end of the staff is going to be striking anything but the ground.

Qadira

its not their "whole shtick", its the fluff that allows them to do their spell-combat with a staff. if its a TWF build, they can choose spell combat or TWF when they don't feel they need to waste a spell. Its strategy options and choices depending on how they build their magus.

arcane pool doesn't limit it to one end of a double weapon like divine bond does, so you should be able to. you don't get both ends for one +1 at first level, each end still needs a separate allocation, but since a double weapon is still one weapon, its valid by the rules laid out in Arcane Pool description.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Staff Magus question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.