Does the Spirit wisp attack of lesser spirit totem count as a secondary attack and all penalties associated with applied?
|Mort the Cleverly Named|
|2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.|
Spirit Totem, Lesser (Su)
Benefit: While raging, the barbarian is surrounded by spirit wisps that harass her foes. These spirits make one slam attack each round against a living foe that is adjacent to the barbarian. This slam attack is made using the barbarian’s full base attack bonus, plus the barbarian’s Charisma modifier. The slam deals 1d4 points of negative energy damage, plus the barbarian’s Charisma modifier.
Nothing suggest that these attacks would be secondary in any way, for any reason.
|Jak the Looney Alchemist|
furthermore these little buggers can attack if you move like a mini pounce, and can attack even if you are in a situation that prevents you from attacking (held, etc)
Hmm... I had never thought of that. There must be a fun and effective way to use that. Maybe spirit totem mixed with panther style... Hmm... It looks like it attacks whether the barb does or not.
|Jak the Looney Alchemist|
It is a much better rage power tree than it gets credit for.
Seriously. I never noticed that and always considered it to be the slightly gimped, but flavorful little sibling of the other trees, but I'll be damned that is pretty awesome.
I feel oddly tempted to scrap my next character idea and draw up a barb/rage prophet/bones oracle. Negative energy zaps while he casts how can you knock that.
A negative energy slam attack that does not count as one of your attacks and concealment bonus. I never understood why this tree never got love. I love to combined it with the first two levels of the fiend totem tree and the beast totem tree. With the adopted trait and tusked, go into the feat tree that gives bonuses to have three or more different types of natural attacks. You can make some very scary humans this way. It is rather feat heavy and extra rage power is suggested. I tend to go two levels of barbarian, then one level of fighter, then eight levels of barbarian, then the last nine in fighter.
Totem Warrior Barbarian can.
A barbarian often has a special totem that is the patron of her tribe.
While individual totems vary, those in the tribe that call upon a totem receive similar abilities. Totem warrior barbarians can select from the following rage powers.
Rage Powers: The totem warrior is based entirely upon his totem rage powers. In addition to the totem powers themselves, the following rage powers complement the totem warrior archetype (depending on the totem chosen): animal fury*, low-light vision*, night vision*, raging climber*, raging leaper*, raging swimmer*, and swift foot*.
where am I missing it? I've often wondered what the hell totem warrior did.
Totem rage powers grant powers related to a theme. A barbarian cannot select from more than one group of totem rage powers; for example, a barbarian who selects a beast totem rage power cannot later choose to gain any of the dragon totem rage powers (any rage power with “dragon totem” in its title), unless she has the totem warrior archetype.
AHA! it was squirreled away in the totem text at the beginning of the chapter the whole freakin time. Why didn't they put this text in the totem warrior description, sheesh. There goes a 2 year old mystery.
It was a horrible miss in the editing process that made totem warrior useless forever. Then a single sentence appeared two books later that answered everything, allowing barbarians to receive all of the attacks while raging.
That must be in a different printing of the book than the one I have because I just checked and that helpful bit isn't even there in mine. Also, they state that but what does a totem archetype barbarian give up. Normally the archetypes get something in exchange for something else but since there is no such detail listed in the book, does anyone know what the archetype trades for the ability to take multiple totems?
|The Ghost of Sasquatch|
So would my wayang barbarian using his light and dark ability be able to attack himself with the spirit totem for healing?
Nope. It has to be a living foe adjacent to you.
Even if you are all emo and hate yourself, you still would have to manage to be adjacent to yourself, possible with the dimensional agility line I guess...but at this point there are easier ways to heal up.