Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Barbarian Spirit Totem - Spirit wisp attack


Rules Questions


Does the Spirit wisp attack of lesser spirit totem count as a secondary attack and all penalties associated with applied?


I don't think so. As far as I know, it is a totally separate attack, like a spell. The attack uses nothing but what it says. That is, your base attack bonus and Charisma. No bonuses of any other kind apply.

Silver Crusade Star Voter 2014

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

As we've understood it: It uses your full BAB + CHA modifier and counts as it's own attack separate from the character itself. So a barbarian can get their full attacks with their usual weapons and throw the wisp in as an extra action.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Let's see:

Advanced Player's Guide wrote:

Spirit Totem, Lesser (Su)

Benefit: While raging, the barbarian is surrounded by spirit wisps that harass her foes. These spirits make one slam attack each round against a living foe that is adjacent to the barbarian. This slam attack is made using the barbarian’s full base attack bonus, plus the barbarian’s Charisma modifier. The slam deals 1d4 points of negative energy damage, plus the barbarian’s Charisma modifier.

Nothing suggest that these attacks would be secondary in any way, for any reason.

Star Voter 2013

furthermore these little buggers can attack if you move like a mini pounce, and can attack even if you are in a situation that prevents you from attacking (held, etc)


Glutton wrote:
furthermore these little buggers can attack if you move like a mini pounce, and can attack even if you are in a situation that prevents you from attacking (held, etc)

Hmm... I had never thought of that. There must be a fun and effective way to use that. Maybe spirit totem mixed with panther style... Hmm... It looks like it attacks whether the barb does or not.

Star Voter 2013

It is a much better rage power tree than it gets credit for.

Silver Crusade Star Voter 2014

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

I'm having a ton of fun with it on account of the flavor alone.

Full disclosure: GM did allow a houseruled version of it that dealt holy damage rather than negative energy, though the resulting trade-offs seem pretty even so far.


Glutton wrote:
It is a much better rage power tree than it gets credit for.

Seriously. I never noticed that and always considered it to be the slightly gimped, but flavorful little sibling of the other trees, but I'll be damned that is pretty awesome.

I feel oddly tempted to scrap my next character idea and draw up a barb/rage prophet/bones oracle. Negative energy zaps while he casts how can you knock that.

Star Voter 2013

I'd pay good money to see these kill something that had a barb in the negatives, but he had the feat that let him keep raging while knocked out.


A negative energy slam attack that does not count as one of your attacks and concealment bonus. I never understood why this tree never got love. I love to combined it with the first two levels of the fiend totem tree and the beast totem tree. With the adopted trait and tusked, go into the feat tree that gives bonuses to have three or more different types of natural attacks. You can make some very scary humans this way. It is rather feat heavy and extra rage power is suggested. I tend to go two levels of barbarian, then one level of fighter, then eight levels of barbarian, then the last nine in fighter.

Star Voter 2013

yknow you can't select multiple totems right?


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Totem Warrior Barbarian can.

Silver Crusade Star Voter 2014

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Glutton wrote:
I'd pay good money to see these kill something that had a barb in the negatives, but he had the feat that let him keep raging while knocked out.

....I just realized I have that combination.

My God.

Star Voter 2013

blackbloodtroll wrote:
Totem Warrior Barbarian can.
srd wrote:

Totem Warrior

A barbarian often has a special totem that is the patron of her tribe.

While individual totems vary, those in the tribe that call upon a totem receive similar abilities. Totem warrior barbarians can select from the following rage powers.

Rage Powers: The totem warrior is based entirely upon his totem rage powers. In addition to the totem powers themselves, the following rage powers complement the totem warrior archetype (depending on the totem chosen): animal fury*, low-light vision*, night vision*, raging climber*, raging leaper*, raging swimmer*, and swift foot*.

where am I missing it? I've often wondered what the hell totem warrior did.

Edi:

srd wrote:


Totem rage powers grant powers related to a theme. A barbarian cannot select from more than one group of totem rage powers; for example, a barbarian who selects a beast totem rage power cannot later choose to gain any of the dragon totem rage powers (any rage power with “dragon totem” in its title), unless she has the totem warrior archetype.

AHA! it was squirreled away in the totem text at the beginning of the chapter the whole freakin time. Why didn't they put this text in the totem warrior description, sheesh. There goes a 2 year old mystery.


It was a horrible miss in the editing process that made totem warrior useless forever. Then a single sentence appeared two books later that answered everything, allowing barbarians to receive all of the attacks while raging.


Starcoffin wrote:
It was a horrible miss in the editing process that made totem warrior useless forever. Then a single sentence appeared two books later that answered everything, allowing barbarians to receive all of the attacks while raging.

That must be in a different printing of the book than the one I have because I just checked and that helpful bit isn't even there in mine. Also, they state that but what does a totem archetype barbarian give up. Normally the archetypes get something in exchange for something else but since there is no such detail listed in the book, does anyone know what the archetype trades for the ability to take multiple totems?


The currently trade nothing, so every Barbarian is a Totem Warrior, and thus every Barbarian can take as many totems as he wants.

Silver Crusade Star Voter 2013

Has the Totem Warrior archetype not been errata'd or at least FAQ'd?

Grand Lodge

So would my wayang barbarian using his light and dark ability be able to attack himself with the spirit totem for healing?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion Subscriber
The Ghost of Sasquatch wrote:
So would my wayang barbarian using his light and dark ability be able to attack himself with the spirit totem for healing?

Nope. It has to be a living foe adjacent to you.

Even if you are all emo and hate yourself, you still would have to manage to be adjacent to yourself, possible with the dimensional agility line I guess...but at this point there are easier ways to heal up.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Barbarian Spirit Totem - Spirit wisp attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.