Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Magus, spell strike and Crit Deck


Pathfinder Accessories

Cheliax

hypothetical situation

magus, channeling a shocking grasp crits. The group is using a crit deck. Does the magus just get the weapon crit on the card, or should they get the weapon and the spell crit, since both would normally deal double damage?


Name Violation wrote:
magus, channeling a shocking grasp crits. The group is using a crit deck. Does the magus just get the weapon crit on the card, or should they get the weapon and the spell crit, since both would normally deal double damage?

Since the deck is an optional thing and not really a rule, this might get better answers in the Advice section of the forums. (You can hit the 'flag' button at the top of your post to request the thread be moved, if you like)

That said, the crit cards are really pretty good, so I would let the magus choose. If he chooses to use both for crits, then both will also apply to fumbles. This can be devastating (and hilarious).

Cheliax

anyone else


As a GM, I would let the player pick one of the two possible effects to apply. Both seems too powerful. Of course, the reverse is also true, if a NPC magus gets a crit, I get to pick the better effect.

Cheliax

bump?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Accessories / Magus, spell strike and Crit Deck All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Accessories

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.