Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Society


Starfinder Society

Blasphemy and Eidolons

Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Will a Blasphemy spell banish an Eidolon that doesn't make it's save?

Are all the requirements met?


Furthermore, if you are on your home plane when you cast this spell, nonevil extraplanar creatures within the area are instantly banished back to their home planes. Creatures so banished cannot return for at least 24 hours. This effect takes place regardless of whether the creatures hear the blasphemy or not. The banishment effect allows a Will save (at a –4 penalty) to negate.

Creatures whose Hit Dice exceed your caster level are unaffected by blasphemy.

So is the caster on his home plane? Is the eidolon an extraplanar creature? Does it have fewer hitdice than the caster's caster level? And did it fail its will save? If so, then, yes. Bye bye, stupid overpowered critter.

Spells such as Banishment and Dismissal are specifically called out as working against eidolons: I see no reason why Blasphemy, et. al., would not also function to exile them.

The Exchange

wow that is a killer. i see no reason why it would work. it is a banishment effect and it is of a higher level. Also that "cannot return for 24 hours" is incredibly powerful vs a summoner.

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

If the eidolon mechanics calls out dismissal and banishment exclusively, than no, this would not work. If it is not an exclusive list, however, than it WOULD work.

Liberty's Edge

Ravingdork wrote:
If the eidolon mechanics calls out dismissal and banishment exclusively, than no, this would not work. If it is not an exclusive list, however, than it WOULD work.
Summoner - Eidolon wrote:
The eidolon cannot be sent back to its home plane by means of dispel magic, but spells such as dismissal and banishment work normally.

Emphasis mine.

Looks like it's not an exclusive list. Thus, looks like Blasphemy will work.

Yes, it will work. I'd suspect this is one of the reasons Summoners get the freebie Summon Monster abilities, so they have something when their Eidolons get sent away in such a manner.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Blasphemy and Eidolons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.