Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Ring of Invisibility = Ring of greater Invisibility?


Rules Questions


Riddle me this:
A caster has a ring of invisibility.
He casts magic missile and becomes visible.
as part as his move action he then takes off and puts back his ring.
Becomes invisible again.
Screw greater invisibility.

Problem?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Usually taking an item off is a move action, and putting an item on is a move action.

I don't have any problem with a character being able to re-activate a ring of invisibility with two consecutive move actions; does anyone else?


The ring is a standard action to activate.

Notice that there is no text anywhere about this ring activating simply by putting it on your finger, Frodo.

It is activated in the same manner as other rings, which is specified as a standard action.

Also, for what it's worth, it only lasts for three minutes per activation unless you pay more to customize it with a higher CL than the one in the core rulebook.


d20pfsrd.com wrote:
By activating this simple silver ring, the wearer can benefit from invisibility, as the spell.

Activating, not wearing. Magic item activation is a standard action.

EDIT: Curse you, 忍術!


Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Is there a ring of Greater Invisibility?

Edit: And I mean a non-custom ring. I am guessing there isn't one out of the book.


For the sake of argument, if taking off and on a ring can be done as one move. (accounting for the little distance traveled by the ring)
The caster could at best do:
*Round one* casts magic missile and becomes visible. move action on/off ring
*Round two* reactivates ring,+cast non offensive spell.
Total time spent visible: All the time of the bad guys attacks.
Which makes this manuver pretty useless.

any way to make it work ?
What if: 2rings 1cup, no no, 2rings 1 unseen servant.

*Round one* casts magic missile and becomes visible. precast Unseen does the switch (his move) and i activate as... still does not work.

Andoran

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Cards, Companion, Maps, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

You can't take the ring off and on to activate it...

As said above, the ring requires a Standard Action to use, which means you can't use the ring the same round you take another Standard Action.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Modules Subscriber
Hobbun wrote:

Is there a ring of Greater Invisibility?

Edit: And I mean a non-custom ring. I am guessing there isn't one out of the book.

Not that I'm aware of.

That said, there is a rather interesting one in The Black Monastery. I just got around to reading that room last night, and even if I never run the module, I'm lifting that ring for future use.


Thank you all.
I forgotten about that pesky activation action.
A wiz had used it in a previous game and I wanted to prove/disprove it.
Still wish I could make it work.


hogosha wrote:

Thank you all.

I forgotten about that pesky activation action.
A wiz had used it in a previous game and I wanted to prove/disprove it.
Still wish I could make it work.

Casting a Quickened spell will leave you with your standard action available to re-activate the ring. The balance being, Quickened spells will be in rather short supply.


Standing near cover...

1-Standard: Attack/cast spell and appear.
1-----Move: Duck behind cover (which may allow for a stealth check)

2-Standard: Activate ring.
2-----Move: Move out from behind cover.

Repeat...


. . . . . . . Or . . .

Round 1: Cast greater invisibility.

Why spend 20,000 gold, multiple turns worth of actions, and any appreciation the DM might have had about your personal character to cheese this when you're already a caster that can cast this spell?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Ring of Invisibility = Ring of greater Invisibility? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.