Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Adventurer's Armory purchase ... a halfling slave (slips) ... so what can it do?


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion


A player in a new PFS game (Cheliax faction) after reading some of the factions associated information purchased a halfling slave from the AA. I understand that it has no combat use but are there stats in regard to carrying capacity or what they can carry around as I believe the player wishes to use his slave as pack animal.

*

Check out the FAQ: http://paizo.com/pathfinderSociety/faq#v5748eaic9osg

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

Nebten wrote:
Check out the FAQ: linkified

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Washington—Eastern Washington aka WalterGM

He can have the slave and it will do nothing but add flavor. It, for all purposes of advancing the plot of a scenario and all game rule information, doesn't exist with a stat block and thus cannot carry anything or contribute in any way. If he wants a humanoid pack animal he will have to purchase the Porter from the Pathfinder Society Field Guide for 4 pp, which is part of the core assumption so he should have access to it. Or he can purchase a riding dog, pony, or horse and use handle animal etc. to have a realistic pack mule ;)


So I guess I need to disappoint him on his image of the character being carried from place to place in a carriage hoisted by slaves.

Shadow Lodge

No need to disappoint him at all, he can be carried around from place to place carried by slaves. The rule isn't that they do nothing, just that they are only flavor.

They don't have any effect on his game stats. They don't change his movement, they can't be sent ahead to "check" for traps, they also don't die from the fireball etc.

There are however two sets of cautions I would evoke:

1) [OOC] Slavery can be a touchy topic, be prepared to back off if you think it might be bothering the GM or other players.

2) [IC] Be prepared to leave your slaves behind if you're going somewhere problematic. Andoran is the biggest example but there are other more subtle ones as wall as well.

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Washington—Eastern Washington aka WalterGM

His slaves can carry him into the Grand Lodge, if he'd like, but I'd probably say they don't accompany him on missions, for the reasons that Pirate Rob said. My pirate captain character has a couple of wenches (slaves), but he leaves them behind safely on his ship. Also, if he wants to be carried around and be all snooty, like Xerxes in the 300, he could look into the Herald (1 PP), also from the Pathfinder Society Field Guide.

"The door to the VC's office are slammed open as a well dressed man enters, and announces with a flourish: 'Make way for his eminence, That Guy Who Has Some Slaves and Stuff!' What follows is a small procession of a half dozen slips. The first couple are tossing out handfuls of rose petals behind them, followed by four meatier halflings hoisting a large throne. Sitting resplendent in the throne is That Guy, who looks upon the other Pathfinders lazily, and motions for his slaves to set his throne down in the room, and then vacate the room."

Osirion

gourry187 wrote:
So I guess I need to disappoint him on his image of the character being carried from place to place in a carriage hoisted by slaves.

There are, of course, "porters" as Vanities, that are legal and are made to do just that ... carry stuff. I don't see any reason that you couldn't pay PP for them, and have a palanquin hoisted about by them - that's what they're for: schlepping stuff from one place to the other. There's nothing that says that "stuff" couldn't be your character in a well-appointed chair. :)

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
gourry187 wrote:
So I guess I need to disappoint him on his image of the character being carried from place to place in a carriage hoisted by slaves.

Given that palanquins move at best walking speed, he's going to be left way behind while I'm riding on my axebeak.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Adventurer's Armory purchase ... a halfling slave (slips) ... so what can it do? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.