Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Guarded Life and Invulnerable Rager.


Rules Questions


I have a Barbarian question. The DR for barbarians counts double against non-lethal damage, correct? So for rage powers like Guarded Life, and Flesh Wound, does the DR kill a good amount of that damage? I want to clarify before the session.


Yes. The damage is converted before it is applied to you (and thus DR applied to it). Invulnerable Rager works well with those rage powers.


Sweet. I am also taking the Urban Barbarian Archetype because they have no overlap. Hopefully I will be able to hold my own. Thank you for your promt response.


GideonKaijitsu wrote:
I have a Barbarian question. The DR for barbarians counts double against non-lethal damage, correct? So for rage powers like Guarded Life, and Flesh Wound, does the DR kill a good amount of that damage? I want to clarify before the session.

Couple of quick things for the Invulnerable Rager:

Consider a 1 level dip in Fighter to take the Unbreakable archetye. That will give you the feats Endurance and Diehard for free. Then look at the feats Stalwart and Improved Stalwart and the rage power Reckless Abandon. Collectively what that will allow you to do is to reduce your AC by 1 to get 2 points of DR... at 4th level that's -2 AC for +4 DR, -3 AC for +6 DR at 8th level and so on.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Here is the thing. Guarded life does not work well with the DR from invulnerable rager as it first seems. We had a multi-page discussion on this in 1000+ post barbarian thread. Guarded life does not kick in until after you have taken damage. Once you have taken damage and sunk below 0 hp, guarded life converts the damage beyond that to non-lethal. Because you take the damage and it goes through your DR before guarded life kicks in any damage that guarded life converts will not be reapplied to you non-lethal DR. You can not apply the same damage to DR twice.

Flesh wound works well though since the ability kicks in before you take damage. So you get hit, activate flesh wound, succeed at the save and take half of the damage as non-lethal which is then applied to your DR.


Hmm...yeah, Guarded Life is questionable, probably doesn't work now that I look at it closer. Flesh Wound + rage hopping into a new rage each round is pretty cool, though.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
Mercurial wrote:
Consider a 1 level dip in Fighter to take the Unbreakable archtpye. That will give you the feats Endurance and Diehard for free. Then look at the feats Stalwart and Improved Stalwart and the rage power Reckless Abandon. Collectively what that will allow you to do is to reduce your AC by 1 to get 2 points of DR... at 4th level that's -2 AC for +4 DR, -3 AC for +6 DR at 8th level and so on.

Unless I am mistaken, you won't get -1 for +2 DR exchange rate until you get to 11th level, which is the minimum to have Improved Stalwart.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Guarded Life and Invulnerable Rager. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.