Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Totem Warrior Archetype - are there any benefits?


Advice


14 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Question unclear.

"Totem Warrior
"A barbarian often has a special totem that is the patron of her tribe. While individual totems vary, those in the tribe that call upon a totem receive similar abilities. Totem warrior barbarians can select from the following rage powers.

"Rage Powers: The totem warrior is based entirely upon his totem rage powers. In addition to the totem powers themselves, the following rage powers complement the totem warrior archtype (depending on the totem chosen): animal fury*, low-light vision*, night vision*, raging climber*, raging leaper*, raging swimmer*, and swift foot*."

Yet, looking through the rage powers, there is no restriction on any barbarian chosing a totem based power other than them not being allowed to take powers from multiple totems. This restriction isn't removed from the Totem Warrior archetype. So, what are the benefits of playing a Totem Warrior?


Nobody knows.
I've made a point of hitting the faq button any time the issue come up in a thread (about once per week).


It's fluff. Of the useless kind.

Taldor

I allow multiple totems to be taken by taking the archetype, but I house-rule that the multiple totem ability replaces fast movement.

As written though... Its pure fluff. Any barbarian can be assumed to be a Totem Barbarian.


Yeah is doesn't do anything as written.


I'm guessing it's an editing quirk. Perhaps totem powers were originally restricted to totem warriors, then they changed their minds without realising that left the totem warrior without any alternate class abilities.


gnrrrg wrote:

"Totem Warrior

"A barbarian often has a special totem that is the patron of her tribe. While individual totems vary, those in the tribe that call upon a totem receive similar abilities. Totem warrior barbarians can select from the following rage powers.

"Rage Powers: The totem warrior is based entirely upon his totem rage powers. In addition to the totem powers themselves, the following rage powers complement the totem warrior archtype (depending on the totem chosen): animal fury*, low-light vision*, night vision*, raging climber*, raging leaper*, raging swimmer*, and swift foot*."

Yet, looking through the rage powers, there is no restriction on any barbarian chosing a totem based power other than them not being allowed to take powers from multiple totems. This restriction isn't removed from the Totem Warrior archetype. So, what are the benefits of playing a Totem Warrior?

Ultimate Combat says it allows you to take multiple totems such as Dragon, Beast, etc(a restriction others can't).


Thanks Starbuck_II. I must have lost that part during a copy/paste.

Taldor

Starbuck_II wrote:
gnrrrg wrote:

"Totem Warrior

"A barbarian often has a special totem that is the patron of her tribe. While individual totems vary, those in the tribe that call upon a totem receive similar abilities. Totem warrior barbarians can select from the following rage powers.

"Rage Powers: The totem warrior is based entirely upon his totem rage powers. In addition to the totem powers themselves, the following rage powers complement the totem warrior archtype (depending on the totem chosen): animal fury*, low-light vision*, night vision*, raging climber*, raging leaper*, raging swimmer*, and swift foot*."

Yet, looking through the rage powers, there is no restriction on any barbarian chosing a totem based power other than them not being allowed to take powers from multiple totems. This restriction isn't removed from the Totem Warrior archetype. So, what are the benefits of playing a Totem Warrior?

Ultimate Combat says it allows you to take multiple totems such as Dragon, Beast, etc(a restriction others can't).

Yup- but they trade in absolutely nothing for it hence the house rule I use.

Fully compatible with any other archetype as written. Archetypes are meant to be trade in's, not freebie power creep.


Perhaps the intended trade off comes from, "Totem warrior barbarians can select from the following rage powers." which is followed by the list of complementary powers. That is, they can have multiple totems but are limited to their complimentary rage powers rather than having them as a suggested list of compliments like the rest of the archetypes.


That text is identical to the list of suggested complementary rage powers for all the other archetypes. If the intended meaning is as you're suggesting, the text would need to be modified to reflect that intent.

Taldor

No, a limit would be explained far more explicitly.

Paizo Employee Official Rules Response

It's basically a way for us to list all of the totem rage powers in one place. There is no benefit or drawback to taking the archetype vs. not taking the archetype and just choosing the totem rage powers you want.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Totem Warrior Archetype - are there any benefits? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.