Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Favorite Guilty PFS Moments


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Shadow Lodge *

Do you have any moments in your Society career that you remember fondly, but feel a little guilty?

My dwarven fighter, LN worshipper of Gorum, was playing the Haunting of Hinojai...

Scenario spoilers:
there was a Cleric/Fighter of Gorum (1 level dip) who liked to channel through his sword. when we were fighting the Skeletons, we were all in the room, with him in front of the door. I asked him, "Why don't you move aside, priest, and let me take the hits." (I like to think my dwarf has optimized his AC). The next round, the cleric was instantly killed. After 'I asked you to move...' was said, the only thing keeping me from stepping on the body in the place I had asked for was that the Skeletal Champion had moved up. The eidolon killed him the next round, but still...

I feel guilty that I smile when I remember this, because a character died. Should I be? To be fair, this character had mostly been from GM credit.

Andoran *****

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber

Hey!!! Watch it!!

Let's not make fun of my Characters! How was I supposed to predict a Critical?..

Not like I stayed dead.. ;)

Edit: Gets great joy with no guilt with the time he has killed the Above posters PC... ;) And you can look forward to more of that! ;)

Andoran

I fondly remember helping the group's Paladin settle on a fair combat with two big abnormally sentient monsters and ensuring that it was indeed fair, as in the 2 monsters vs 2 PCs (the Paladin and a Cavalier). Note that the Paladin was quite upset about this turn of event as his understanding of fair was all of them (ie, still 2 monsters) vs all of us (ie, 7 PCs).

I feel a bit guilty for the Cavalier PC who joined him and went down real quick. To ensure a happy ending, we let the group's Hellknight take the Cavalier's place and join the Paladin in beating up the 2 monsters who complained to the end about the unfairness of such a move.

Grand Lodge *****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Tales Subscriber

Fireballing the Taldor mission in Crypt of Fools.

Honestly this was collateral damage and it didn't occur to me before my action that maybe not all paperwork found needed burning.

the details:

I was playing a level 3 or 4 wizard and my Andoran mission was to destroy some paperwork that would give away an invasion from the underground to destabilise Taldor.

As LG character I had big reservations with this mission. I didn't felt my character would consciously do that as it would likely cost lives (Taldoren lives). So in the final encounter we meet the BBEG - an Undead.
He is in between a desk and the party. My wizard had early on bought a scroll of Fireball to either use in absolute emergency - or to keep until level 5 to scribe into my spell book.
So I make the decision to use it and place the centre of the fireball behind the undead - including his desk and any possible paperwork contained on it - risking the paperwork I had to destroy as collateral in the process.
How could I know that there was also paperwork of the Taldor faction that needed retrieval. Yes - retrieval by the Taldor fighter who carried around all my excess luggage as I hadn't been able yet to afford a Handy Haversack.

I learnt and tend to ask first if someone objects if I cast a fireball. But hey - this was the very first fireball of Theodum. He had no clue he might burn more as he had planned.


In the scenario Delirium's Tangle, my character's Perception was high enough

Spoiler:
to succeed on all the maze navigation checks by taking 10.

I thought that was very handy, but I felt a little bit guilty that the scenario ended so much ahead of schedule.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

hogarth wrote:

In the scenario Delirium's Tangle, my character's Perception was high enough

** spoiler omitted **

I thought that was very handy, but I felt a little bit guilty that the scenario ended so much ahead of schedule.

Hey, don't feel guilty! You just showed the value of playing something other than Mr. Killit!

Qadira ***

Wow, good topic.

One of my characters (not me, assuredly), posted: Why-I-am-Leaving-the-Pathfinder-Society last night.

I tried to stop him...but failed. For which I am guilty.

-Pain

***** Venture-Captain, Indiana—Indianapolis aka Red-Assassin

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Funny event, confused gunslinger shoots magus. Brings magus to -7. Dm says at least you get a grit point.

Qadira *** Venture-Lieutenant, Australia—Sydney

I watched my VC convince my friend playing a barbarian to leap over some ghouls to get to a big bad. Failed jump check. Lands prone. Ghoul dinner.

Shadow Lodge *

Chris Bonnet wrote:
Funny event, confused gunslinger shoots magus. Brings magus to -7. Dm says at least you get a grit point.

Oh gods...

OH GODS
I hope Dragnmoon's gunslinger never, ever gets confused! the d20 he uses hates players, and rolls horribly against monsters, but when DMing, crits a lot. If he was hitting US...

***** Venture-Captain, Indiana—Indianapolis aka Red-Assassin

Confused or my favorite domination can lead to some funny dramtic events.

Silver Crusade **

First character, I think my second session ever. Me and the other rogue looked at a wall, decided to do the rogue-ish thing and sneak up and quietly pick off the guards. I let him go first. He takes out his guard, nice and quiet. And is then spotted and hit for a 21 point crit on a 1st level rogue. Sorry!

Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 4

Hinojai did you say?!?!?

Ninjaxenomorph wrote:
I feel guilty that I smile when I remember this, because a character died. Should I be? To be fair, this character had mostly been from GM credit.

I don't know about you but I feel both guilty and delighted!

BWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. Err.. Ahem. :)

Since I've started reading PFS threads I've come to realize you kids are a hoot. I'm thinkin' about GMing online.

(Because living in Ontario Oregon is like being the Great Gazoo trapped with Fred and Barney)

**

1 person marked this as a favorite.

My fighter, Throckmorton, was in a rowboat in Absalom's harbor with a blind oracle and a rogue when they were attacked by sahauguin. The oracle was pulled over the side of the boat and into the water. She didn't have the strength to swim to the surface and started to sink as the devil fish tore at her flesh. The rogue and two other companions in a separate boat had no idea what to do, knowing the safest place to be was in the boats, so Throckmorton stoically resolved to save her.

He knew it was foolish to jump in the water wearing his armor but didn't have time to remove it, and, like a heroic fool, he dove in after her. He fought a losing battle underwater with the sahauguin till the rogue finally felt guilty enough to dive in and help. Unfortunately that was a mistake and he was torn to ribbons and killed by the underwater devils. However, this distraction afforded Throckmorton enough time to catch the oracle as she sank deeper into the drink. But, encumbered by his armoras well as the half-drowned oracle, and set upon anew by the sahauguin all proved too much for the fighter and he had to make a dread choice.

To this day I can still remember the look in the other player's eyes as Throckmorton let her go to save himself and swim back to the boat. Ever since then he always carries a potion of mage armor in case his adventures ever take him on a boat ride again.

Silver Crusade **

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah...that was an interesting adventure for Aislyn. How could you forget her burning down the boat to successfully succeed at the mission! Monster in the boat? Burn the boat.

Lantern Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, South Dakota—Rapid City aka Black Powder Chocobo

Strangest moment I had was in Voice in the Void and the level 1 cleric botched her Acrobatics check and fell 40 ft which left her at -9 HP. Luckily the ranger had a Wand of CLW so the cleric didn't die, but that would have been a sad way to lose a player.

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

I was running Godsmouth Heresy

Lookee!:
And the entire group dies when the monk chose to Alchemist Fire the Brown Mold

Yes, a simple CR2 hazard can kill an entire party.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

I was running Throaty Mermaid once...

Spoiler:
Sorceress gets swept off the side of the ship in the storm. Sploosh. Fortunately, she had tied herself to the mast, but with too long of a rope. Not being very strong, it was a few rounds before she managed to make progress climbing up the rope... so she was halfway up when Marzack saw her.

So he chops the rope.

Sploosh.

She spends the whole combat flailing around in the water while chewing the air crystals I suggested everyone buy at the beginning. Gets fished out by the crew afterwards.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Black Powder Chocobo wrote:
Strangest moment I had was in Voice in the Void and the level 1 cleric botched her Acrobatics check and fell 40 ft which left her at -9 HP. Luckily the ranger had a Wand of CLW so the cleric didn't die, but that would have been a sad way to lose a player.

Thanks to OoTS, all I could think of . . . "Looks like I'll haf ta use tha old 'Cleric's Feather Fall."

Fall great distance, hit ground. "Heal."

**

Jiggy wrote:

I was running Throaty Mermaid once...

** spoiler omitted **

Deep water is a killer. I always get very nervous for my characters whenever they are near water.

Grand Lodge *****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Tales Subscriber

In the very first game I encountered a gunslinger as character I killed him very, very slowly.

Round 1: I charmed him
Round 2: He walked towards my monster to embrace it
Round 3: Start eating his brain
Round 4: Carry on eating his brain
Round 5: The gunslinger runs out of brain

After the combat the rest of the group burned his body to ensure he wouldn't come back as the monster that had snacked on him.

As GM you should never gloat about PC kills (unless you are Kyle) but this death was just hilarious.

The monster was the most underpowered in the whole scenario and previously when I GMed the same scenario hardly managed a single attack before being taken down.

I don't remember all the details - but everything transpired against the character.

Player 1 - the main fighter - was down at round 1 (see players 5 and 6). He got healed enough to get back to 0 HP - charged in - and dropped back to -1 from fighting.
Player 2 was fully functional but scared. He didn't do anything for at least one round. He then did throw a net to entangle the creature. Which incidentally didn't care as it had some food. He then tried to trip the monster for 1 or 2 rounds (it's untripable) and too late changed tactics to try killing it.
Player 3 - the cleric (?) - he must have been up as he brought the main fighter back up to 0 HP but due to a bad roll only to 0 and not 1 or more. Not sure what he did during the whole incident.
Player 4 was busy killing a harmless Shrieker.
Player 5 and 6 where out of action due to some bad decision

Voices in the Void:
Throwing some Alchemist Fire on a brown mold.

So yes - player 7 got slowly devoured like a slow motion car crash.

I might have got a few details wrong - but yes - I felt guilty that I had to gloat. In fairness - the player who lost a character took it very well and even congratulated me on an epic kill. He left the table smiling - but I doubt he ever created a gunslinger again.

Shadow Lodge *

Me and my big fat mouth...

We were playing 'To Scale A Dragon'...

Scenario Spoilers:
...fighting the Remorhaz, when I mentioned that it will probably burrow down beneath us. The GM remarks that this is a good idea, and promptly has the ice worm do that. Directly after the fight, I looked at the bestiary, and saw the 'Heat' special ability, and brought this to the GM's attention. He rolled 24d8 damage on the eidolon, which was promptly banished. Then my +1 Dwarven Waraxe had to make two saves... I made the first one, but failed the second one. I then had a +1 dwarven warclub. After the scenario, I bought a masterwork adamantine waraxe, so I just need to play 1 scenario to enchant it.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Favorite Guilty PFS Moments All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.