Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game


Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Shatter spell

Rules Questions

does the spell shatter (when targeting a weapon) ignore hardness? most spells ignore damage reduction, do they ignore hardness too?

Nope. Not unless the GM says so anyway. It also only deals half damage if the weapon isn't crystalline or fragile in the first place. It looks like it would just shatter a nonmagical weapon if it was unattended and that it gets a Will save if it is attended. I'm not sure how the nonmagical weapon makes a Will save but that's how I'm reading it. Maybe I need to go eat...

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Non-magical weapons don't get saves unless they are wielded (in which case they use the wielder's save).

From the Spell Description in the CRD:


Shatter create a loud, ringing noise that breaks brittle, nonmagical objects; sunders a single solid, nonmagical object; or damage a crystalline creature.
Used as an area attack, shatter destroys nonmagical objects of crystal, glass, ceramic, or percelain. All such objects within a 5-foot radius of the point of origin are smashed into dozens of pieces by the spell. Objects weighing more than 1 pound per your level are not affected, but all other objects of the appropriate composition are shattered.
Alternatively, you can target shatter against a single solid nonmagical object, regardless of composition, weighing up to 10 pounds per caster level. Targeted against a crystalline creature (of any weight), shatter deals 1d6 points of sonic damage per caster level (maximum 10d6), with a Fortitude save for half damage.

So, if the sword is nonmagical (or has its magic suppresed via dispel magic), shatter will sunder that item regardless of hardness or hit points; if it fails a Will save. Note that a nonmagical item only gets a save if it is attended.

Master Arminas

Oh right, I already knew that. Sorry been meaning to post on this for a while, my real question was: once sundered, is it damage or destroyed?

edit: sorry *broken* or destroyed?

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm pretty sure it's destroyed.

It's sundered so I think the caster can choose to either make it broken with 1 hit point or destroy it.

sweet, just making sure i made the right call: So my player took the trait: heirloom weapon, but she broke my rule: "Don't take stuff out of books not at the table - not fair to my new players who don't yet know enough about the game to study up like a min-maxer"

So I shattered it, don't mess with the DM.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Ven, you couldn't have, oh I don't know, talked to the payer about choosing another option first?

Sounds to me like you were both behaving immaturely.

Okay, over-reacting. This was all in the open at the table everyone was having a good time. She took it and didn't tell me for 3 levels. So I broke it, I omitted that I let her replace the trait the next time we sat down. Thought it was a funnier story without that.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Shatter spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.