Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Classes and SLA's


Rules Questions


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

When a class has an SLA, but no effective spell level is indicated how is the level determined?

I am not really asking this for debate purposes. Due to the way SLA's work with the concentration rules they should have assigned levels. They however are not printed in the books. I am basically asking everyone to FAQ this so they either go back and assign levels or give an official way to determine what the level should be. I figured this would be fixed by now.

edit:AFAIK all the monsters have the effective spell level listed by their SLA's if they don't duplicate a spell.


Agreed lord wraithstrike the best i could find you is the qoute from JJ about 1 1/2 years ago stating that is equal to the highest level spell they could cast at the level it is granted. A errata or FAQ would definatly help DMs and players alike.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

When not duplicating an actual spell, I seriously suggest just making it a supernatural ability. At least I suggest that a developer errata'd it this way. That is my opinion.


That could have some serious implications though as many wizard school powers and sorcerer bloodlines would now be used free of AoOs dispels and SR.


Here, here! Let there be clarity in Golarion. And beyond!!!111~~~`

And how dare you double post!


I flagged the other thread. I shall continue my plan of ruination here.


I see you have no regard for the balance of the internets! You want SLA's more clearly defined... but at what cost?!


The internets are made of chaos and can not be balanced. I am merely the observer, not the crafter of such things.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It seems another wise fellow has an answer.

"If a character class grants a spell-like ability that is not based on an actual spell, the ability's effective spell level is equal to the highest-level class spell the character can cast, and is cast at the class level the ability is granted."

We can let this thread die now unless someone disputes the power of the CRB.


My big question is why is Divine Bond from the Paladin a SP and not a Su. At least thats how its listed on D20psrd.

Edit: its even that way on the PRD.


That should be SU no matter if it is the sword or the mount that is selected IMHO

I am assuming it is because of the weapon properties, but the at the very least the mount should be SU. I don't think they intend for someone to be able to dispel the mount.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

If the divine bond is a spell-like ability, than it can be quickened. I know not what that would mean. This is why my above statement stands.


wraithstrike wrote:

It seems another wise fellow has an answer.

"If a character class grants a spell-like ability that is not based on an actual spell, the ability's effective spell level is equal to the highest-level class spell the character can cast, and is cast at the class level the ability is granted."

We can let this thread die now unless someone disputes the power of the CRB.

Looks like Quicken SLA is off the table for those abilities then.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Classes and SLA's All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.