Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Summoner Question


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can you can have your Summon Monster SLA and your Eidolon out at the same time? To do this you would use the Summoner's SLA then take 1 minute to call your Eidolon.

(The rules say you can't use your Summon SLA while your Eidolon is active, but there's nothing saying that you can't summon your Eidolon while a Summon is active.)

"Drawing upon this ability uses up the same power as the summoner uses to call his eidolon. As a result, he can only use this ability when his eidolon is not summoned."

At least that is the consensus of the unofficial Summoner's Handbook which I agree with on most things.

http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=184592

Thoughts? Comments?


It is generally understood that summon monster SLA and your Eidolon are anchored via the same magical force within the summoner. Now granted RAW does not specifically say that the summons are dismissed when you summon your Eidolon, but as far as RAI goes it's pretty clear (at least for me).


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

RAW it works.

RAI, not so much. The whole point of that restriction (originally there was no such thing in the first draft) was to make it so the summoner couldn't flood the field with both summons and the eidolon.


It would only work for an encounter initiated by the player characters, and then only if the summoner is level 2 or higher, since you use up a minute of the Summon Monster SLA's duration summoning your eidolon. If the enemy decides to start the fight early, you are stuck without your eidolon at that point.


It would only work for an encounter initiated by the player characters, and then only if the summoner is level 2 or higher, since you use up a minute of the Summon Monster SLA's duration summoning your eidolon. If the enemy decides to start the fight early, you are stuck without your eidolon at that point.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Summoner Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.