Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Need some advice on what to read next


Books


I'm in need on some new series to read, got a couple of series in mind but not sure about them:

Karen Miller's several trilogies about a young mage seem interesting, as does Brent Weeks series about an assassin.

Has anybody read the newish series by Ed Greenwood? Falcon's Crest or something?

I've read Wheel of Time(up to the most recent one), the Belgarid and Mallorean by David Eddings, Sword of Truth(haven't read Confessor yet, need to find it in hardcover), the War of the Spider Queen, and Daughter of the Drow, which are all the ones off the top of my head.


damnit my post was lost to the ether!
summery: Brent Weeks is good.
Eddings varies wildly depending on series. rant lost to ether twice so not again.
My book=this. scroll down page and hit download to read. feedback welcome.


The First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie.


Doodlebug Anklebiter wrote:
The First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie.

+100000000000! this trilogy is massively awesome. read it.


First law +3 !

Brent Weeks +2

Raymond E. Feist. "Magician"

IMO "Sword of truth" gets weird after the first book.( the hero doing very unheroic stuff + torture porn)


Some favorites of mine, in no particular order...

A Song of Ice and Fire, George RR Martin
The First Law, Joe Abercrombie
(These two are both very grim n gritty.)

The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins, is a quick and surprisingly fun read.

The Discworld novels of various stripes, by Terry Pratchet, hilarious

His Dark Materials, Philip Pullman, a controversial but refreshing trilogy.

Kushiel's Dart by Jacqueline Carey is a classy quasi-pornographic fantasy series featuring a strong female protagonist.

Two Singles: The Brothers' War by Jeff Grubb is the only gaming book I've ever reread and still enjoy.* The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley is a long but interesting and fresh take on Arthurian legend.

And for the record: Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter, if you've been living under a rock or something. Hope that helps!

*And I'm a lit snob. Seriously.

Paizo Employee Paizo Glitterati Robot

Merged threads.


The Obsidian Trilogy by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory was surprisingly good. In a nutshell, it's a book about an exiled Mage, a false utopia, demons, elves, lotsa fey, etc. Definately the best rendition of "Elves" by far IMHO, the books made them cool for a change. I really liked this series, and I'm kinda picky if you ask anyone I know. ;)

Book one is called "The Outstretched Shadow" if you're interested.

Shadow Lodge RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16 , Dedicated Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014

Two of my favourites are Last and First Men by Olaf Stapledon (available for free at [url=http://gutenberg.net.au/ebooks06/0601101h.html]Gutenberg,/url]) and A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M Miller Jr. The first is, essentially, the future evolution of H. sapiens, through the destruction of Earth and beyond. The second... well, I don't want to give too much away but, if I could be sure that it would be done properly, I would love to see it as a film.


DLandonCole wrote:
Two of my favourites are Last and First Men by Olaf Stapledon (available for free at Gutenberg,)

Linky, linky, linky!

Star Voter 2013

Karen Miller is good, though the main character in the series you're referring to somewhat annoys me.

Brent Weeks is a bit better, though it took me a bit to warm to the main character.

------

If you haven't read Jim Butcher, ignore any other recommendations and go buy his stuff, but I'm going to assume that as you're posting on a game forum, you've probably already read him :)

2 "Newer" authors in fantasy:

Peter V. Brett "the Warded Man" books - only two out so far, the Warded Man & the Desert Spear ; both excellent books and he is already in my top 20 fav authors of my 1,200+ book library

Patrick Rothfuss - the Kingkiller Chronicles : Name of the Wind & A Wise Man's Fear ; both excellent books, the Name of the Wind is probably the best first novel I've ever read

Other fantasy authors who rank high on my radar: CS Friedman (though she does mostly sci-fi), Michelle West, Steven Brust, Robin Hobb ... I'll stop there so as to avoid the Great Wall of Text™

-TimD

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Community / Gamer Life / Books / Need some advice on what to read next All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.