Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Minimum Starting age...


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

51 to 68 of 68 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo Employee ***** Global Organized Play Coordinator

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Just an FYI, I talked to James Jacobs. Adopted is a social trait. Entymologist is considered a racial and a social trait both. Therefore, a player wouldn't be able to use Adopted trait to take Entymologist trait.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

Michael Brock wrote:
Just an FYI, I talked to James Jacobs. Adopted is a social trait. Entymologist is considered a racial and a social trait both. Therefore, a player wouldn't be able to use Adopted trait to take Entymologist trait.

Just out of curiosity, what trait is this? I'm not sure whether you mean Etymologist, Entomologist, or if Entymologist is some other word I'm not familiar with. :P


It is Etymologist, a social trait in Gnomes of Golarion.

Sovereign Court ***** Venture-Captain, Minnesota—St. Paul , Dedicated Voter 2013

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I understand the concept that you can’t take two traits from the same category. But disallowing a social trait because Adopted is a social trait seems counterintuitive when you can take a combat trait that changes your physical make-up like Toothy. I always thought that Adopted was a non-trait that just let you take a trait from somewhere you wouldn’t ordinarily get to take a feat, and it would seem that social traits from that other race would be the ones that would make the most sense.

Paizo Employee ***** Global Organized Play Coordinator

Andrew Christian wrote:
I understand the concept that you can’t take two traits from the same category. But disallowing a social trait because Adopted is a social trait seems counterintuitive when you can take a combat trait that changes your physical make-up like Toothy. I always thought that Adopted was a non-trait that just let you take a trait from somewhere you wouldn’t ordinarily get to take a feat, and it would seem that social traits from that other race would be the ones that would make the most sense.

That is the word directly from James Jacobs.

Scarab Sages *****

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber

Just so we are all aware..

Of all the Racial Traits.. I only know of 4 that are also Social, and they are all in the Gnome Book. So it is not like it cuts off a huge number of Racial Traits.

Scarab Sages *****

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber
Michael Brock wrote:
That is the word directly from James Jacobs.

I Almost let this Slip... You went to James on a Rules question? James!?

;)

Paizo Employee ***** Global Organized Play Coordinator

Dragnmoon wrote:
Michael Brock wrote:
That is the word directly from James Jacobs.

I Almost let this Slip... You went to James on a Rules question? James!?

;)

James developed the traits system so I figure it never hurts to go to the source ;-)

Scarab Sages *****

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber
Michael Brock wrote:
James developed the traits system so I figure it never hurts to go to the source ;-)

That is actually interesting information.


What stats are used for minimum ages for those classes not listed in the Core rulebook?

Alchemist
Magus
Oracle
Ninja
Samurai
Summoner
Witch

Paizo Employee ***** Global Organized Play Coordinator

Ages are based off race, not class. See page 168 of Core Rulebook.


Michael Brock wrote:
Ages are based off race, not class. See page 168 of Core Rulebook.

So the minimum is just the listed "adulthood" age and ignore the +

example:
adulthood Wizard
Human 15 years +2d6

So the minimum age is 15 for a human wizard and not 17?

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Cards, Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
DDrake wrote:

a character has been introduced to Pathfinder Society play that I have to question about...

My question is that they claim their character a human female AGE 10 is legal with the stats that they put on their character sheet...

Oh, Lord, it's not Shuriken Nekogami, again, is it?

Shadow Lodge *

Michael Brock wrote:
Ages are based off race, not class. See page 168 of Core Rulebook.

Table 7-1 has random starting ages for all the core classes/races. For example, a human sorcerer can be at minimum 16 years old, but a human wizard has to be at minimum 18. [i]But[i], those are just random suggestions. I would lump new classes this way:

Oracle/Ninja/Summoner- 1st column, youngest.

Alchemist/Magus/Witch/Gunslinger/Inquisitor- 2nd column, middle.

Samurai/Cavalier- 3rd column, oldest.


James Jacobs "answer" on this

The Exchange ****

Belle Mythix wrote:
James Jacobs "answer" on this

His answer is, in this specific case, not legal for the purposes of Pathfinder Society. The FAQ has an entry on ages that lays out the guidelines for that.

Scarab Sages ***

gourry187 wrote:
Michael Brock wrote:
Ages are based off race, not class. See page 168 of Core Rulebook.

So the minimum is just the listed "adulthood" age and ignore the +

example:
adulthood Wizard
Human 15 years +2d6

So the minimum age is 15 for a human wizard and not 17?

I thought it was 17 in this case.

since this is would be a good place for this - as an idea of how to create a PFS-LEGAL child character:

I just created a minimum age halfling bard, with the child-like feat, so, due to her height, she passes socially as a human child of about 4 or 5. She is very intelligent and has maxed bluff - basically uses her innocence to put people off guard. She also has a "slave" to pass as a "governess," so she's not unaccompanied. She'll pick up a porter when she gets enough PA.

Her perform oratory? Nursery rhymes. Her perform sing? lullabies. Her spell chord of shards? Screaming.

51 to 68 of 68 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Minimum Starting age... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.