Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Arcane Duelist / Arcane Bond / Special Materials


Advice

Lantern Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Caw, I've been a bit confused on the pricing for the Arcane Bond 5th level class feature for the Arcane Duelist. This is for PFS society.

As read, it refers you straight to the Wizard description of the Arcane Bond:

Arcane Bond:
Ex or Sp): At 1st level, wizards form a powerful bond with an object or a creature. This bond can take one of two forms: a familiar or a bonded object. A familiar is a magical pet that enhances the wizard's skills and senses and can aid him in magic, while a bonded object is an item a wizard can use to cast additional spells or to serve as a magical item. Once a wizard makes this choice, it is permanent and cannot be changed. Rules for bonded items are given below, while rules for familiars are at the end of this section.

Wizards who select a bonded object begin play with one at no cost. Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon. These objects are always masterwork quality. Weapons acquired at 1st level are not made of any special material. If the object is an amulet or ring, it must be worn to have effect, while staves, wands, and weapons must be wielded. If a wizard attempts to cast a spell without his bonded object worn or in hand, he must make a concentration check or lose the spell. The DC for this check is equal to 20 + the spell's level. If the object is a ring or amulet, it occupies the ring or neck slot accordingly.

A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook and is capable of casting, even if the spell is not prepared. This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the wizard, including casting time, duration, and other effects dependent on the wizard's level. This spell cannot be modified by metamagic feats or other abilities. The bonded object cannot be used to cast spells from the wizard's opposition schools (see arcane school).

A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required item creation feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat in Feats). If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand. The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it. If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type.

If a bonded object is damaged, it is restored to full hit points the next time the wizard prepares his spells. If the object of an arcane bond is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced after 1 week in a special ritual that costs 200 gp per wizard level plus the cost of the masterwork item. This ritual takes 8 hours to complete. Items replaced in this way do not possess any of the additional enchantments of the previous bonded item. A wizard can designate an existing magic item as his bonded item. This functions in the same way as replacing a lost or destroyed item except that the new magic item retains its abilities while gaining the benefits and drawbacks of becoming a bonded item.

This does not give any advice on whether you are supposed to purchase the item, you craft it yourself as per the special rules for upgrading an Arcane Bond by the owner (half price cost) or it is received for free as a class feature as per the Wizard's arcane bond.

If I wanted my Arcane Bond to be a masterwork adamantine elven curve blade, would I receive the mundane item for free, then spend 1,000 gp using the Arcane Bond crafting rules to upgrade it to a +1 enhancement? The class feature stipulates weapons cannot be made of a special material at 1st level of wizard, but what about the 5th level of Arcane Duelist?

Am I supposed to spend:
-3080gp for mundane item +1000gp for +1 enhancement?
-Receive the item for free then pay 1000gp for +1 enhancement?

Any assistance is appreciated, caw.


Your bonded item could be a Masterwork Elven Curve blade... but not Adamantine. It only states 1st level because that's when a Wizard gets it as a class feature... at least that has always been my understanding.

EDIT: Also, you get the item for free, and then add the special abilities on at the crafting cost... also, if you want a magic item to be your bonded item you can designate one you have it says, so I' assume if you owned a masterwork adamantine elven curve blade you could make that your bonded item as well.

Cheliax

Actually, I have been curious about this too. It just says, "Wizards who select a bonded object begin play with one at no cost. Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon. These objects are always masterwork quality. Weapons acquired at 1st level are not made of any special material." The way I interpret that is you begin with a mundane item of Masterwork quality for free. Does this include things like composite bows at any strength rating? Also, it says no special material but does not say anything about magical quality or additional effects. Later it mentions adding on effects at an additional cost, but it says nothing about the initial creation. I want to play a wizard, but I find familiars are better for role play because of their vulnerability. So, I want to choose a longbow as my bond, but the rules for it are vague.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

You can't upgrade your blade to an adamantium blade. You'd have to buy it outright.


I’d rule that a strength-rated longbow would count as being made of “special materials” and can’t be had for free. Otherwise you could get some very silly abuses, since you could start with an item you could resell for far more than the cost to bond a new item.


You can alreddy do that with a gun.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Arcane Duelist / Arcane Bond / Special Materials All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.