Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Applying GM chronicles out of sequence


Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

The Exchange ** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, Contributor

I have several characters I've never played but have a few chronicles on them. I am going to be playing the first steps module and would like to run it on a brand new character. Can I just play it with one of the characters I have and apply the 'saved' chronicles after the first steps modules?

Liberty's Edge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

The wording on p29 of the PFS Guide implies that chronicle sheets must be applied immediately, unless the GM has run a high level scenario but only has low level characters, in which case the chronicle sheet is 'held' and applied as soon as the character reaches an appropriate level.

If you have tier 1-2 chronicles still to be applied, they aren't 'held' (as defined in the PFS guide), you're just behind on your paperwork*; they should be applied in date order. If I was a GM reviewing a player's chronicle sheets and I noticed the dates were out of order, I'd certainly question it.

* I'm not judging here; I had to apply half a dozen GM credit chronicle sheets to one of my own characters last night as I'm playing him tonight.

The Exchange ** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, Contributor

So either play it for no credit or start yet another new character... hmm.

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Washington—Eastern Washington aka WalterGM

Dennis Baker wrote:
So either play it for no credit or start yet another new character... hmm.

I've had the same conundrum. Regardless of what you decide, remember that GMing always gives credit towards your star ranking ;)

The Exchange ** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, Contributor

Yeah. I don't mind GMing for no player credit. I just hate seeing all these characters I never play stacking up.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Captain, Missouri—Cape Girardeau aka Arnim Thayer

I think it depends on the Tier range of the Chronicles that have yet to be assigned. If you have Tier 1-5 Chronicles, they should be applied immediately to a character. If you have Tier 5-9 Chronicles, they apply to a character at sometime in the future (when they could have played those Scenarios). What happens if I applied a Tier 5-9 Chronicle earned for GMing to a level 1-4 character and he/she dies before I ever reach that Tier range? This becomes especially important when you realize that the GM can never gain Chronicle credit for that Scenario again if it is lost through that kind of circumstance.

That said, I have always applied my GM Credits immediately, as a part of the reporting. But then, I have the advantage of scheduling the scenarios I offer too.

Liberty's Edge *****

Michael VonHasseln wrote:
What happens if I applied a Tier 5-9 Chronicle earned for GMing to a level 1-4 character and he/she dies before I ever reach that Tier range? This becomes especially important when you realize that the GM can never gain Chronicle credit for that Scenario again if it is lost through that kind of circumstance.

Would it be PFS kosher to edit the reporting to give the chronicle to another character? Id think as long as you dont cross the dates (which this thread was originally about) then it'd be ok. Id really like an official answer on that though, lol.

The Exchange ** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, Contributor

Heh... I'm not too worried about losing a GM chronicle on my 5th level+ characters, I never apply them regardless. I like playing those characters too much to burn a chance to play them. I think Painlord suggested building a character and running him all the way through retirement without ever playing it... I might just try that. :D

As for the original post, I just played it for no credit.


This topic has come up several times in several threads ever since GMs starting earning credit for running scenarios. And while the general consensus is that a GM is meant to apply the credit to a character when the scenario is reported, there have been many GMs posting that they save their chronicles and apply them later when they have a character that can use it. I think the most recent thread on this was a few weeks ago where someone was asking if it was kosher for a GM who was playing and who needed a higher level character for the scenario, to just whip out 6 chronicles and apply them on the spot to the character to make it the level needed. I just get the feeling from posts around here that while it may be strictly against the rules to save chronicles, that as long as you are not doing something extreme like from that other thread, that most do not really care.

And Dennis, while it is too late now, for your case I would say that as long as you have never played the character you have assigned some chronicles to, that there would be no harm or foul to actually play that character at 1st level and then count the older chronicles. But I feel this really only works at 1st level and not higher, since removing some chronicles, then playing, then adding back the chronicles, would definitely feel like cheating.

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber
Dennis Baker wrote:
...Can I just play it with one of the characters I have and apply the 'saved' chronicles after the first steps modules?

Strictly speaking that character is not "brand new".

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / Pathfinder Society GM Discussion / Applying GM chronicles out of sequence All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.