Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Familiar with prestigitation - Use magic device?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can a Silvanshee or other familiar with prestigitation at will can use magic device without hand?


Bump, really would like a ruling on this too. Thanks, Pee

Shadow Lodge Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 8

Ask your GM.

Me? I say no. Prestidigitation can slowly lift a pound worth of material. It's no replacement for a hand (that would be mage hand, if anything, and even then, it's an "ask your GM" situation).

Andoran

prestigitation is a spell like ability which would require a standard action and activating a magic item is also a standard action. Regardless of the fluff reasons it is not possible without manipulating the item magic via a quickened spell or ability.

Qadira

midnight756 wrote:
prestigitation is a spell like ability which would require a standard action and activating a magic item is also a standard action. Regardless of the fluff reasons it is not possible without manipulating the item magic via a quickened spell or ability.

All other things allowing, prestidigitation would work fine, despite the standard action cast time. It has a duration of 1 hour.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Hand of the Mage makes possible for any familiar.

Andoran

I dont see prestidigitation providing enough control to conclude wilful activation of an item.

Qadira

Neither do I, I was just saying that prestidigitation has a cast time of a standard action, but after that can be used just fine.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Familiar with prestigitation - Use magic device? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.