Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Do I still qualify?


RPG Superstar™ 2012 General Discussion

Star Voter 2013

Contest Rules wrote:
...Designers who have cover credits on print editions of Paizo's Pathfinder or GameMastery products are ineligible...

Now, by a "printed Pathfinder product", does that apply to printed products that aren't currently out, but might be by the end of the competition?

With myself as a specific example, I've been lucky enough to have a series of adventures I'm writing get picked up by Dreamscarred Press. The first one - Uncertain Futures - just came out a week ago in PDF format, and is slated to eventually come out in printed form, as are the other five adventures in the series. But the question is - does that disqualify me?

I'd really like to compete, of course, but there's no point in me trying to find just the right item if I'd just be disqualified halfway through the compeition.


Not an answer, but I couldn't help but note how ironic the adventure title is in this event.

Designer, RPG Superstar Judge

Contest Rules wrote:
...Designers who have cover credits on print editions of Paizo's Pathfinder or GameMastery products are ineligible...

The quoted rule refers specifically to products published by Paizo, not anything published by another company using the Pathfinder RPG rules.

Star Voter 2013

Great, that clairifies that a lot, and means I'm still in the good. Time to get the spit 'n polish out for my item. :)

Taldor

Rather than run the risk of having an embarrassing disqualification, I'll just ask up-front: I've had work published in a few books for White Wolf's Exalted line, but I've never had a "cover credit" in the sense that my name is on the front cover (which is what I interpreted the rule to be when I submitted).

What constitutes a cover credit, and does this disqualify me? As far as I know, I was eligible last year and still had the same qualifications, though it's possible the issue was never raised because my item failed to make it out of the first round. If I am ineligible, I will retract my admission and apologize for misunderstanding the rules.

Designer, RPG Superstar Judge

Is your name on the cover? Then you have a cover credit. Otherwise, ya don't have a cover credit. :)

Taldor

Hooray! Thank you for the prompt response, Sean.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / RPG Superstar™ / Previous Contests / RPG Superstar™ 2012 / General Discussion / Do I still qualify? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.