Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Summoning Shadows


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Modules Subscriber

The darkness Domain contains a Summon Monster spell entry, limited to calling 1d3 shadows.

Prize question, do these keep their usual alignment (CE), thus causing a (hypothetical) LE Kuthite to summon something way apart from their alignment (ususally summoning chaotic creatures would carry the [chaotic] descriptor), or will the shadows have an alignment matching the caster's, as most summoned non-outsiders have by definition of the spell?

(Since the shadow called by a Shadowdancer also matches its master's alignment, I think this should be possible here as well)


The summon monster I spell touches on alignment.

“When you use a summoning spell to summon a creature with an alignment or elemental subtype, it is a spell of that type. “ (Pathfinder core rulebook, pg 352)

It then specifically calls out certain creatures who’s alignment changes from the summoning.

I would rule that the shadows have a CE alignment. And that it is up to the LE character to keep them in check less he displease his god. In most cases the Evil/Good portion of an alignment trumps the Lawful/Chaotic portion.


Darthnny wrote:

The summon monster I spell touches on alignment.

“When you use a summoning spell to summon a creature with an alignment or elemental subtype, it is a spell of that type. “ (Pathfinder core rulebook, pg 352)

It then specifically calls out certain creatures who’s alignment changes from the summoning.

I would rule that the shadows have a CE alignment. And that it is up to the LE character to keep them in check less he displease his god. In most cases the Evil/Good portion of an alignment trumps the Lawful/Chaotic portion.

How can He displease his God if it's the God him/herself that grants him/her that spell?

Moreover it's a domain spell, so it's part of the portfolio of that deity and not an universal one.
I don' think given those premised that it would be possible to displease that god by using that "summon shadows" that spell.


Darthnny wrote:
“When you use a summoning spell to summon a creature with an alignment or elemental subtype, it is a spell of that type. “ (Pathfinder core rulebook, pg 352)

Shadows don't have an alignment subtype, so summoning shadows doesn't grant the spell either an [evil] or [chaotic] subtype.

The Bestiary further indicates that the alignment entry for creatures doesn't mean that all such creatures hold the listed alignment; only the majority do so. There are exceptions; which would explain the origin of the non-chaotic-evil shadows a shadow dancer can attract. It seems likely to me that either the deity who grants the spell or the caster could possibly summon shadows of a different alignment if desired. My ¢2.


I'm assuming that a Shadow Dance summoning their shadow for the very first time is a standard action?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Summoning Shadows All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.