Craft Magical Arms and Armor Caster Level requirement Question


Rules Questions


Does having a natural spell-like ability fulfill the caster level requirement for the Craft Magical Arms and Armor feat?

Probably not but I thought I would ask.

Liberty's Edge

As it happens for a several terms in the game, caster level has a lot of meanings :P

That said having a spell like ability with a caster level don't satisfy the requirement of being a caster with a caster level. The Master Craftsman allow you to use your skill level in a craft as your caster level for making 1 kind of items, but it is the only way to bypass that limitation.

Even the alchemist is in a kind of grey area, as he hasn't a actual caster level, and that is what the crafting feats require. He can use his Alchemist level as his Caster level for brewing potions only.
As a houserule I would allow him to treat is level as a caster level for making enchanted items, but that is not RAW.


My search-fu is weak, but I'm fairly certain I remember James Jacobs clarifying that Alchemists DO in fact have a caster level for crafting.

Liberty's Edge

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Here are the citations.

James Jacobs wrote:
Quote:


Do alchemists have a caster level equal to their class level, or are they "considered to have a caster level" for only a few purposes and none not specifically mentioned? This really needs to be settled, it's close to starting a civil war. ^.^

(For that matter, can alchemists apply metamagic feats to their extracts?)

Alchemist caster levels equal their alchemist level. Note we don't generally call it a "SPELLcaster level." Neither do we call it an "ELIXIRcaster level." The rules apply for all spell or spell-similar effects.

Alchemists can't apply metamagic feats to their elixirs.

James Jacobs wrote:
Cheapy wrote:


I was hoping for an answer that also answered the question of whether they can take Item Creation feats (other than brew potion, obviously) or not.
An alchemist CAN take item creation feats, in any event. When an item calls for a spell prerequisite, the alchemist simply substitutes his extract of the same name. This does mean that, other than potions, there's a lot of specific items an alchemist won't qualify for, so it might be a good idea to max out your Spellcraft skill for all the requirements you'll be missing...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Craft Magical Arms and Armor Caster Level requirement Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions