Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Musket-Warhammer and iterative attacks question


Rules Questions

Cheliax

Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The gunslinger in our party has used the following tactic repeatedly since our DM allows it but I would like your opinion regarding the legality of it.

The gunslinger has the Deft Shootist feat allowing him to reload and fire his musket without provoking attacks of opportunity.
He hasn't got the rapid reload feat yet so whenever he wants to use his iterative attacks he moves in melee with acrobatics while declaring dodge to his target and at the next turn he attacks with the warhammer part of his musket-warhammer and at the last iterative attack (lowest attack bonus) he fires at his target, in a few words he makes two melee attacks and one ranged touch attack at every full attack while in melee range.


Perfectly legal and a great use of resources.

Cheliax

I assume he's spending a full-round action reloading the gun every second round and only doing the attack routine on the other rounds? Also, does he have a BAB of 11 or higher, or how is he getting three attacks in a round?


Also in PF you don't actually declare dodge to a specific target anymore, the dodge bonus to AC is just active all the time.
And unless he'a actually passing through at least one threatened square he doesn't need acrobatics (moving into a threatened square does not cause AoO, leaving it does)

But yes, what he does sounds legal. Just don't forget that he's usuing his 3rd iterative there, so he's at BAB-10 even if it's against touch attack there.


Why is he declaring his dodge? It doesn't work like that anymore, it's just +1 Dodge to AC.

Does it say anywhere in the firearm rules that you can't shoot the firearm in the same round as you melee with it? I assume it's no different from stabbing a couple of times with a dagger, then throwing it for your last attack.

I'm surprised he has the Str to make it work though, and the feats to get Deft Shootist but not Rapid Reload. Rapid Reload is like, the #1 first pick for gunslingers usually. I probably would've used the Musket Master archetype, if I was him.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I declare my dodge against you!


Might mean gunslingers dodge.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Talonhawke wrote:
Might mean gunslingers dodge.

Wait, that exists?

I declare my dodge against it!


Here ya go


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I suddenly want to play a goblin gunslinger.


Talonhawke wrote:
Might mean gunslingers dodge.

Thats more a defense against a ranged attack that already happened (and only against that single attack), not a preemtive defensive measure as it seems to be discribed.

Also... I DECLARE MY DODGE ON YOU!!

Cheliax

Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Quatar wrote:

Also in PF you don't actually declare dodge to a specific target anymore, the dodge bonus to AC is just active all the time.

And unless he'a actually passing through at least one threatened square he doesn't need acrobatics (moving into a threatened square does not cause AoO, leaving it does)

But yes, what he does sounds legal. Just don't forget that he's usuing his 3rd iterative there, so he's at BAB-10 even if it's against touch attack there.

Ah yes "declaring" that he dodges is something like a relic attitude from 3.0 edition.

Yes he does have +12 Base Attack and does reload his gun every second round, still I don't know why he hadn't taken rapid reload earlier.

BTW Dodge This!!! :D

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Musket-Warhammer and iterative attacks question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.