Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Sorcerer: Crossblooded: Arcane (Wildblooded Sage) / Destined (Wildblooded Karmic): :Tattooed Sorcerer


Advice


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Is this combination Legal? The Premise is as follows: The crossblooded Archtype does not replace any of the bloodline choices or feats it just allows you to choose between two options, The Wildblooded changes you bloodline options. However the Tattooed sorcerer demands that you give up bloodline powers and takes its.

Thus the following
Sorcerer whom is born crossblooded and Varisian!. He Bloodines are the varrant wildblooded bloodlines. Sense Crossblooded does not create a power to put into the place of bloodlines just lets you choose between them for a -2 will save and a -1 spell known per level. Then the Tattooed Sorcerer Archtype may just be legal. As it replaces powers with required abilities at certian levels. You would lose the benefit of Crossblooded choice at 1st level, and 9th level, you would also lose the choice of Bloodline Feat at 7th level as tattooed sorcerer takes that slot.

I know in general cross archetypes that overlap are not allowed do to the fact that the powers they provide are necessary for progression. However in the sorcerers case the overlap does not seem to happen. Anyhow that is my argument. What do you guys think?

Bloodline Arcana #1:

Unlike most sorcerers, whose innate magic is powered by force of personality, you use your intellect to understand and master your mystic powers. You use your Intelligence, rather than your Charisma, to determine all class features and effects relating to your sorcerer class, such as bonus spells per day, the maximum spell level you can cast, the save DCs of your spells, and the number of daily uses of your bloodline powers. You gain a +2 bonus on all Knowledge (arcana) and Spellcraft checks.

This ability replaces the Arcane Bloodline Arcana.

Bloodline Arcana #2:

Bloodline Arcana

If you are casting defensively because a creature is threatening you and you fail your concentration check, one of the creatures that is threatening you provokes an attack of opportunity from you or from one ally who is adjacent to the enemy. You decide which creature provokes this attack and which of its adjacent opponents may make the attack.

This ability replaces the Destined Bloodline Arcana.

1st-level bloodline power.:

Familiar Tattoo (Su)

A tattooed sorcerer gains a familiar as an arcane bond, as a wizard equal to her sorcerer level. Her sorcerer levels stack with any wizard or witch levels she possesses when determining the powers of her familiar—this ability does not allow her to have both a familiar and a bonded item.

Unlike most familiars, her familiar can transform itself into a tattoo that she carries in her flesh. Transforming into a tattoo or back to normal familiar form is a move action for her familiar. In tattoo form, the familiar looks like a stylized version of itself, but does not count as a creature separate from the tattooed sorcerer. In tattoo form it continues to grant its special familiar ability, but otherwise has no abilities and can take no actions except to transform from tattoo into creature. A familiar tattoo cannot be erased or dispelled.

This ability replaces her 1st-level bloodline power.

Replace Eschew Materials:

Varisian Tattoo (Ex)

At 1st level, the tattooed sorcerer gains Varisian Tattoo as a bonus feat. If she doesn’t have Spell Focus, she may choose which school of magic her Varisian Tattoo enhances.

This ability replaces her Eschew Materials bonus feat.

3rd-Level bloodline Power:

Fated (Su): Starting at 3rd level, you gain a +1 luck bonus on all of your saving throws and to your AC during surprise rounds (see Combat) and when you are otherwise unaware of an attack. At 7th level and every four levels thereafter, this bonus increases by +1, to a maximum of +5 at 19th level.

Bloodline Feat 7th Level:

Create Spell Tattoo (Su)
At 7th level, a tattooed sorcerer can create a spell tattoo once per day with a single touch as a standard action. The recipient of the spell tattoo must be willing to receive the spell tattoo. If she gives the spell tattoo to herself, it does not count against the regular limit of magic tattoos she can have. The spell tattoo must be of a spell that she knows that has no material or focus component. She can maintain one spell tattoo created by this ability at a time—if she uses this ability again, the previous spell tattoo she created fades away. Spell tattoos she creates with Inscribe Magic Tattoo do not count against this limit. She can use this ability twice per day at 11th level, and three times per day at 15th level.

This ability replaces the bloodline feat gained at 7th level.

Bloodline Power,9th Level (Su):

At 9th level, the tattooed sorcerer can pick any one spell she knows for which she has a Varisian Tattoo feat. This spell must be one that lacks focus components and costly material components. She can now use that spell as a spell-like ability once per day. This spell-like ability is not enhanced by her Varisian Tattoo, but it functions at +2 caster levels above her sorcerer caster level. Whenever she gains a bloodline power at a later date, she may change this spell-like ability to another qualifying spell.

This ability replaces the 9th-level bloodline power.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Cards, Companion Subscriber

I've found the same. The conflict with sylvan and tattooed sorcerer goes away once crossblooded is thrown into the mix. You CAN get a familiar and animal companion from a single class!


Horselord wrote:
I've found the same. The conflict with sylvan and tattooed sorcerer goes away once crossblooded is thrown into the mix. You CAN get a familiar and animal companion from a single class!

This shyt is broken more than a goblin alchemist's "lab".

Silver Crusade

From the Advanced Players Guide:

Quote:


A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the core class as another alternate class feature.

Emphasis mine. Crossblooded alters all of your class features, by giving you a choice between two instead of your normal one. Thus, it's not compatible with any other archetype.


Fromper wrote:

From the Advanced Players Guide:

Quote:


A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the core class as another alternate class feature.

Emphasis mine. Crossblooded alters all of your class features, by giving you a choice between two instead of your normal one. Thus, it's not compatible with any other archetype.

Translated: You can't have your cake and eat it too.


I would not say PFS legal...but maybe if you really argued with a lenient GM? Most of these conflicts are about altering of the bloodline itself or allowing you to choose between bloodline traits that would be removed by tattooed sorcerer.

Basically, you can have a cake too if you ask the guy to give you another cake for free.

Silver Crusade

Yes, in a home game, you can do whatever the GM allows. The original poster asked if the combo was legal, and by RAW, I'd have to say it isn't.

The Exchange Star Voter 2013

FAQ'ed 10/23/2013 - not allowed

Sorcerer, Crossblooded and Wildblooded: Can I take both of these archetypes for the same character?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Sorcerer: Crossblooded: Arcane (Wildblooded Sage) / Destined (Wildblooded Karmic): :Tattooed Sorcerer All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.