Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Beginner Box errata / corrections / questions


Beginner Box

51 to 100 of 113 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Hi,

Bear with me, total newbie to Pathfinder, just received my BB two days ago.

In the Hero's Handbook on page 26 (Wizard class description), the class feature called Arcane Bond states one should choose a "masterwork dagger", "masterwork quarterstaff", ring or wand. Then later on page 44 (Equipment), in the section entitled "Masterwork Weapons", it states they receive a +1 for attack.

Does this mean the pregen wizard should have a +2 (+1 for STR, +1 for masterwork weapon) for his attack bonus when using his quarterstaff?

It also seems odd that a wizard can replace his arcane bond item for 200 GP, yet to buy a masterwork weapon costs 300 GP.

Should I assume that the reference to a masterwork dagger/quarterstaff on page 26 was unintentional? Or have I misinterpreted what I've read?

Thank you,
Pete


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Mr. Gerbik wrote:

OK, total amateur here just trying to figure out the character creation steps. I find I'm getting a bit tripped up by attack and damage modifiers. Narl's questions above is a good example of how complex this appears to a first-timer.

So I have a cleric and using Kyra as a go by. I can not figure out why she has a +1 to damage with the sling. STR only gets added to melee damage, yes?

Hero's Handbook page 59, Damage section, says you apply your STR to melee weapon damage, thrown weapon damage, and sling damage.

Mr. Gerbik wrote:
Also on cleric. I haven't seen it explicitly stated but I assume clerics and wizards need a free hand for spell casting? Therefore a shield or (2 handed) crossbow are not recommended.. But how do i know if the spell is spoken or with a hand gesture? Cleric must possess holy symbol, but not hold... OK. I guess my main question, can my cleric equip a shield and sword and cast spells? Or use crossbow and cast spells, without spending free action to drop crossbow...
See page 61 under Casting Spells--it's all right there. :)

I think the confusion is that page 44 "One Handed or Two Handed" seems to imply the STR bonus for melee weapons only even though page 61 indicates the bonus applies to thrown weapon and sling damage as well.

Contributor

petekaz wrote:
Bear with me, total newbie to Pathfinder, just received my BB two days ago.

Welcome! :)

petekaz wrote:

In the Hero's Handbook on page 26 (Wizard class description), the class feature called Arcane Bond states one should choose a "masterwork dagger", "masterwork quarterstaff", ring or wand. Then later on page 44 (Equipment), in the section entitled "Masterwork Weapons", it states they receive a +1 for attack.

Does this mean the pregen wizard should have a +2 (+1 for STR, +1 for masterwork weapon) for his attack bonus when using his quarterstaff?

Technically, yes, his staff and hand of the apprentice attack bonuses should both be +1 higher, though we simplified some things on the pregens so they're easier to understand right away, and explaining that his arcane bond gives him an extra +1 to hit for those abilities is added complexity the player doesn't need to deal with in the first 15 minutes of the game.

petekaz wrote:
It also seems odd that a wizard can replace his arcane bond item for 200 GP, yet to buy a masterwork weapon costs 300 GP.

It's a quirk of the Beginner Box that it works that way. In the full Pathfinder RPG, it's 200 gp per wizard level plus the cost of the masterwork weapon. However, the classes in the Beginner Box are written from the perspective of making a 1st-level character, and the higher-level stuff is later, so the arcane bond section is just talking about a 1st-level wizard replacing his bonded item. Replacing an arcane bonded item is uncommon enough that it's not important to detail out all of the costs of it in the Beginner Box--for example, it's more important to make sure spellbooks and preparing spells get all the words they needs, because those are things wizards do every day.

Grand Lodge

First page of the solo adventure in the beginning of the Hero's Handbook has 4 icons of dice you'll need to play it. One of the ones listed is a d6, yet I can't find anywhere in that adventure where a d6 is used.


Hi, is there an updated errata for the Beginner Box?


Strife2002 wrote:
First page of the solo adventure in the beginning of the Hero's Handbook has 4 icons of dice you'll need to play it. One of the ones listed is a d6, yet I can't find anywhere in that adventure where a d6 is used.

d6 are used for a few things. If you don't use the pregen characters you will use d6 to determine ability scores. (page 13) The Wizard gets d6 + con HP when it levels (page 30), and several weapons use d6 to determine damage as well (page 45 and 46)

Osirion

Digori wrote:


d6 are used for a few things. If you don't use the pregen characters you will use d6 to determine ability scores. (page 13) The Wizard gets d6 + con HP when it levels (page 30), and several weapons use d6 to determine damage as well (page 45 and 46)

I believe Strife was just referring to the solo adventure in the Player's Guide, which doesn't use pre-gens or a wizard. Also, none of the weapons in this specific instance have a d6 for damage. I looked it through and concur that a d6 isn't used at all for the adventure.


Dream Daemon wrote:
I believe Strife was just referring to the solo adventure in the Player's Guide, which doesn't use pre-gens or a wizard. Also, none of the weapons in this specific instance have a d6 for damage. I looked it through and concur that a d6 isn't used at all for the adventure.

You are correct, sorry I miss understood the part about the solo player part. But I can't find anything using a d6 either.

Cheliax

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The GM Kit says:
"Just like your Flip-Mat from the Beginner Box, you can use wet-erase, dry-erase, and permanent markers with GameMastery Map Packs!"

I'm pretty sure that's incorrect.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Elendur wrote:

The GM Kit says:

"Just like your Flip-Mat from the Beginner Box, you can use wet-erase, dry-erase, and permanent markers with GameMastery Map Packs!"

I'm pretty sure that's incorrect.

I believe the newer Map Packs are laminated now, though I don't know at what point they switched over from card stock.

Contributor

It started with Map Pack: Shops.


Hi Sean,

Is there an updated list of errata for the Beginner box.

Just have to add - brilliant product, probably the best boxed set yet, to introduce players to the hobby.

Contributor

All the currently-verified errata is in the Player Pack and GM Kit PDFs (and if we add more, that's where we'll put it).

There are a couple of other things that I've noted for corrections, but none are significant enough to affect gameplay.


The Hero's Handbook states that Level 1 Clerics and Wizards need a relevant stat of 13 or higher to gain a bonus 1st-level spell, yet in PF Core you only need a stat of 12+ to get the bonus spell. Is the HH correct, or should it be 12+? My apologies if this has already been mentioned.


This may seem like a nit or pedantic to some but on page 75 of the printed Game Master's Guide, there is a pretty glaring mistake from a company that seems to have spent so much time researching an adding mythical beasts from cultures all over the world into their game system...

Open your "Game Master's Guide" and turn to page 75. If the word "medusa" appears anywhere that is not referring to a specific one of three sisters, change "medusa" to "gorgon"

Same goes for anyone or anything calling a herd of winged horses "Pegusus-es"

Just sayin.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Sadly, in D&D history, a gorgon is a metal bull.

Contributor

EdOWar wrote:
The Hero's Handbook states that Level 1 Clerics and Wizards need a relevant stat of 13 or higher to gain a bonus 1st-level spell, yet in PF Core you only need a stat of 12+ to get the bonus spell. Is the HH correct, or should it be 12+? My apologies if this has already been mentioned.

You're correct, those should both be 12+. We went back and forth on how we'd handle the ability score mechanic in the Beginner Box... for a while, the rules just referred to your modifier rather than the score (so the cleric section said "If your WIS is +1 or higher..."), and when we switched it back to the Core Rulebook way of referring to the score rather than the modifier, the number decided it wanted to remain odd instead of being properly even. :p


Joana wrote:
Sadly, in D&D history, a gorgon is a metal bull.

Now that you mention it, that sounds familiar.

I've been playing BECMI and AD&D since about 1979.

I have the AD&D MM with the painted cover at home.
I'll take a look this evening, if I can remember to.

Thanks


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
EdOWar wrote:
The Hero's Handbook states that Level 1 Clerics and Wizards need a relevant stat of 13 or higher to gain a bonus 1st-level spell, yet in PF Core you only need a stat of 12+ to get the bonus spell. Is the HH correct, or should it be 12+? My apologies if this has already been mentioned.
You're correct, those should both be 12+. We went back and forth on how we'd handle the ability score mechanic in the Beginner Box... for a while, the rules just referred to your modifier rather than the score (so the cleric section said "If your WIS is +1 or higher..."), and when we switched it back to the Core Rulebook way of referring to the score rather than the modifier, the number decided it wanted to remain odd instead of being properly even. :p

Cool, thank you for the clarification!


Sean K Reynolds wrote:

All the currently-verified errata is in the Player Pack and GM Kit PDFs (and if we add more, that's where we'll put it).

There are a couple of other things that I've noted for corrections, but none are significant enough to affect gameplay.

Just as a note, Sean seems to be referring to the player and gm packs only.....as of the 5th january , the Toughness entry in the main box player PDF still states that fighters get it at second level, and that fighters cannot take it.


The sleep spell says it affects up to 4 Hit Dice of creatures. However, unless I've missed it, there is no reference to hit dice in the BB, at least not for monsters (maybe there is for PCs). Do we just use monster CR instead?

Contributor

EdOWar wrote:
The sleep spell says it affects up to 4 Hit Dice of creatures. However, unless I've missed it, there is no reference to hit dice in the BB, at least not for monsters (maybe there is for PCs). Do we just use monster CR instead?

Yes! That's addressed in the Corrections section of the free Beginner Box Player Pack, page 13.


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
EdOWar wrote:
The sleep spell says it affects up to 4 Hit Dice of creatures. However, unless I've missed it, there is no reference to hit dice in the BB, at least not for monsters (maybe there is for PCs). Do we just use monster CR instead?
Yes! That's addressed in the Corrections section of the free Beginner Box Player Pack, page 13.

Thank you for pointing that out. I guess I missed it when I read the Player Pack before.


This may just be me but in the BB I could have sworn characters were flat-footed until their place came up for the first time in initiative, just like in the CRB, but now I can't find it anywhere. How does flat-footed work in the BB?

Contributor

LCFlores91 wrote:
This may just be me but in the BB I could have sworn characters were flat-footed until their place came up for the first time in initiative, just like in the CRB, but now I can't find it anywhere. How does flat-footed work in the BB?

It's simplified. See Surprise in Hero's Handbook page 54 and Losing Your Dex Mod on page 58. It's also relevant to the rogue for sneak attack (page 24).


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
LCFlores91 wrote:
This may just be me but in the BB I could have sworn characters were flat-footed until their place came up for the first time in initiative, just like in the CRB, but now I can't find it anywhere. How does flat-footed work in the BB?
It's simplified. See Surprise in Hero's Handbook page 54 and Losing Your Dex Mod on page 58. It's also relevant to the rogue for sneak attack (page 24).

Thanks for the hasty reply! I looked in both places and I understand how Flat-Footed would apply in a surprise round, but the "Conditions" Section in the GMG states that creatures are flat-footed until they have acted in initiative. Now, on p. 24 of the HH, it says Rogues apply sneak attack damage to creatures that have yet to act in Initiative. Does this only apply to Rogues in the BB, or do all monsters/players attack as though lower initiatives were flat-footed in combat unt they act? If so, where would this be covered in the BB text? Thanks again for the reply, and I'm sorry if the answer is really obvious and my group and I are just missing it /: We're all new to the game, and are leading as we go.

Contributor

I think you're asking two questions.
Q: Are all creatures flat-footed before their first action in combat, or is that rule only for PCs?
A: All creatures (whether monsters or PCs) are flat-footed until they act (see Losing Your Dex Mod, Hero's Handbook page 58). This means creatures that act before them make their attack rolls against the creature's lower (flat-footed) Armor Class.
(The Hero's Handbook is written for players, but its rules apply to monsters, too.)

Q:. Rogues add sneak attack damage to opponents that are flat-footed. Is that only for rogues, or do other classes and monsters add sneak attack damage, too?
A: That's a special class ability of rogues, and only rogues get to add sneak attack damage under those circumstances. Other classes and monsters just get the normal "I get to roll against your lower, flat-footed AC" benefit for attacking a flat-footed creature. Basically, "you lose your Dex bonus when you haven't acted yet" is a general rule that applies to everybody, and "you can sneak attack when your opponent hasn't acted yet" is a special rule only for rogues.

And just to be clear, I'm going to answer a question you didn't ask:
Q: Once the first round ends and we change to the top of the initiative for round two, is everyone flat-footed again?
A: No, you're only flat-footed at the start of a combat, and it doesn't reset every round (fortunately!).


Sean K Reynolds wrote:

I think you're asking two questions.

Q: Are all creatures flat-footed before their first action in combat, or is that rule only for PCs?
A: All creatures (whether monsters or PCs) are flat-footed until they act (see Losing Your Dex Mod, Hero's Handbook page 58). This means creatures that act before them make their attack rolls against the creature's lower (flat-footed) Armor Class.
(The Hero's Handbook is written for players, but its rules apply to monsters, too.)

Q:. Rogues add sneak attack damage to opponents that are flat-footed. Is that only for rogues, or do other classes and monsters add sneak attack damage, too?
A: That's a special class ability of rogues, and only rogues get to add sneak attack damage under those circumstances. Other classes and monsters just get the normal "I get to roll against your lower, flat-footed AC" benefit for attacking a flat-footed creature. Basically, "you lose your Dex bonus when you haven't acted yet" is a general rule that applies to everybody, and "you can sneak attack when your opponent hasn't acted yet" is a special rule only for rogues.

And just to be clear, I'm going to answer a question you didn't ask:
Q: Once the first round ends and we change to the top of the initiative for round two, is everyone flat-footed again?
A: No, you're only flat-footed at the start of a combat, and it doesn't reset every round (fortunately!).

Thanks for clarifying, Sean! This will help a lot at this week's game. I had assumed the condition applied to everyone until they acted in initiative order, but even on p. 58 I couldn't find exactly where that particular aspect was touched upon. The "Losing Your DEX Mod" section only says you become flat-footed when surprised or paralyzed. Again, I understand now, but I am just wondering if maybe this was an oversight in writing or if perhaps if it has been reworded in newer printings (or the more likely answer, it's covered somewhere and I am just not seeing it! :D)

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
LCFlores91 wrote:
Sean K Reynolds wrote:

I think you're asking two questions.

Q: Are all creatures flat-footed before their first action in combat, or is that rule only for PCs?
A: All creatures (whether monsters or PCs) are flat-footed until they act (see Losing Your Dex Mod, Hero's Handbook page 58). This means creatures that act before them make their attack rolls against the creature's lower (flat-footed) Armor Class.
(The Hero's Handbook is written for players, but its rules apply to monsters, too.)

Q:. Rogues add sneak attack damage to opponents that are flat-footed. Is that only for rogues, or do other classes and monsters add sneak attack damage, too?
A: That's a special class ability of rogues, and only rogues get to add sneak attack damage under those circumstances. Other classes and monsters just get the normal "I get to roll against your lower, flat-footed AC" benefit for attacking a flat-footed creature. Basically, "you lose your Dex bonus when you haven't acted yet" is a general rule that applies to everybody, and "you can sneak attack when your opponent hasn't acted yet" is a special rule only for rogues.

And just to be clear, I'm going to answer a question you didn't ask:
Q: Once the first round ends and we change to the top of the initiative for round two, is everyone flat-footed again?
A: No, you're only flat-footed at the start of a combat, and it doesn't reset every round (fortunately!).

Thanks for clarifying, Sean! This will help a lot at this week's game. I had assumed the condition applied to everyone until they acted in initiative order, but even on p. 58 I couldn't find exactly where that particular aspect was touched upon. The "Losing Your DEX Mod" section only says you become flat-footed when surprised or paralyzed. Again, I understand now, but I am just wondering if maybe this was an oversight in writing or if perhaps if it has been reworded in newer printings (or the more likely answer, it's covered somewhere and I am just not seeing it!...

It is actually explicitly stated in the "Conditions" section of the GMG, page 94.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Not sure if this has been mentioned yet, but pregen Kyra has only one domain power listed on her sheet.

Contributor

LCFlores91 wrote:
Thanks for clarifying, Sean! This will help a lot at this week's game. I had assumed the condition applied to everyone until they acted in initiative order, but even on p. 58 I couldn't find exactly where that particular aspect was touched upon. The "Losing Your DEX Mod" section only says you become flat-footed when surprised or paralyzed. Again, I understand now, but I am just wondering if maybe this was an oversight in writing or if perhaps if it has been reworded in newer printings (or the more likely answer, it's covered somewhere and I am just not seeing it!...

There's been only one print run of the Beginner Box so far. I'll make a note of this and see if we can squeeze in some clarifying text for the next printing (I don't know when that'll happen, though).

spectrevk wrote:
Not sure if this has been mentioned yet, but pregen Kyra has only one domain power listed on her sheet.

Yes, the pregens really simplify things so you don't have to read a lot of extraneous text on your very first run through the game. As her second domain power would just give her +1 damage when channeling energy to harm undead, we omitted it so we wouldn't have to explain on the pregen why it's heal 1d6 or harm 1d6+1.


How can a cleric of Gorum use Battle Rage and Strength Surge on themselves if it takes a standard action to activate and the effect only lasts for one round?

Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Both of those are intended that you use them to help other members of your party. Yes, they both say "touch yourself or another creature," which means you can use them on yourself, but this rarely gives you any benefit.

Note that the Core Rulebook says, "you can touch a creature to give it great strength," which also means you could use the ability on yourself, so it still has the same challenge in using the ability. The Beginner Box is just very clear in pointing out that you can cast it on yourself or another creature, even though it won't help you most of the time.

Personally, I'd be fine with making a "house rule" that says the bonus applies to your standard action on your next turn.


Sean K Reynolds wrote:

Both of those are intended that you use them to help other members of your party. Yes, they both say "touch yourself or another creature," which means you can use them on yourself, but this rarely gives you any benefit.

Note that the Core Rulebook says, "you can touch a creature to give it great strength," which also means you could use the ability on yourself, so it still has the same challenge in using the ability. The Beginner Box is just very clear in pointing out that you can cast it on yourself or another creature, even though it won't help you most of the time.

Personally, I'd be fine with making a "house rule" that says the bonus applies to your standard action on your next turn.

Thanks, Sean. Great product, BTW!


Hello, public. I recently bought the Beginner Box (BB) and ran the included adventure for 4 Pathfinder newbies. I've got lots of RPG experience (I started in 1981) but I found going back to the BB important for a number of reasons,. I feel that it was a huge success! Perhaps that's something I should write out in a different post, but I wanted to pass along a thanks! before diving into questions, unreported errata, and comments.

Questions
=========

1) Is there somewhere that these errata are compiled and available? The Player Pack and GM Kit PDFs haven't been updated since October and don't have much of what has been reported in this thread. In case anyone else is looking for the same, I'll follow this up with another post that has the list I compiled from reading this entire thread so far.

2) Cover: Do two allies in adjacent square invoke the cover rule when attacking a single enemy next to them? The rules on page 57 state: "...pick any corner of the square you're in and draw an imaginary line from you to any corner of your enemy's square. If this line passes through a solid object or a creature, you get cover against that enemy's attacks."

If two allies (A & B) are side-by-side facing an enemy (E) like so:

AB
E

Then B and E would have cover against each other if those rules are taken literally (since lines can be drawn that go through A). This seems wrong, since it is a frequent occurrence to have this configuration in combat. Am I misinterpreting the rule? I guess this is a result of combining the melee and ranged cover rules for the sake of the BB, since Pathfinder Core doesn't have soft cover for (non-reach) melee attacks.

3) "Deadeye amulet does refer to true strike, which was cut from the Player Kit due to space reasons. I'll make sure the amulet's description is rewritten to explain the ability."

Since this is not in any available errata that I know of, can we get that updated description here, please? Is it +20 to a single attack before the end of the next round?

4) The holy weapon for Gorum is listed as longsword, but it is a greatsword in Core. Is this discrepancy on purpose?

Errata
======

5) Hero's Handbook (HH) page 6: In entry #15, the mace has an extra +1 to attack and damage compared to the longsword stats (see entry #9). Is this intended? Seems weird that the mace would be magical, or something else is causing the bonus, without explicit mention.

6) HH page 7: The statblock for entry #20 says the skeleton is using a warhammer and not a sword.

7) HH page 29: The errata for the sleep spell missed one more reference to "Hit Dice". With the changes indicated in the errata, the sentence is:
"The spell can affect up to 4 character levels or CR 3, starting with the lowest Hit Dice and ignoring unconscious, mindless, or construct creatures."
Perhaps it would be sufficient to leave out "Hit Dice" so that it says, "... starting with the lowest and ignoring...".

8) HH page 47: The section for Wearing Armor mentions the breastplate, but breastplate is not included in the list of armors on the page.

9) HH page 55: The section for Minimum Movement starts by saying that you can use a full round ("your move plus your standard action") to move 5 feet. Then it ends with the contradictory statement that "your minimum movement for a move action is always 5 feet".

10) Game Master's Guide (GMG) page 63: The "full-round" melee option for the Barghest does not include the bite. Every other creature in the BB that has a full-round option doesn't exclude the attack from the standard action option, plus the Bestiary Barghest doesn't have this limitation.

11) GMG page 73: Gray Ooze is listed as Chaotic Evil (in the Bestiary it is Neutral).

12) GMG page 79: Very minor mistake, but the first melee line for the Serpentfolk does not include "masterwork" in the attack description.

13) Beginner Box Player Pack page 3: Under F Fast Movement, it says that you lose your speed bonus if you wear heavy armor. Since you can't wear armor that your aren't proficient in, and there is no multiclassing, this sentence should be removed.

14) Beginner Box GM Kit (GMK) page 10: The minotaur's second greataxe attack (for the "full-round" option) is shown to be 3d6+4 damage. It should also be +6.

15) GMK page 11: An Arrow Catching Shield is listed here, even though it was already included in the GMG. Unfortunately, the descriptions of the two shields don't match up.

Comments
========

16) HH page 10: There should be a note here about d3, since Unarmed Strike (page 45) and Torch (page 49) do d3 damage.

17) HH pages 14, 15, and 51: The explanation of dwarf and elf sight in various light levels was confusing to me. It seems that the terms used are getting mixed or not used properly. Here are the relevant passages:

(A): "[Dwarves] can see in the dark up to 60 feet." (pg 14)
(B): "[Elves] can see twice as far in dim light as a dwarf or a human." (pg 15)
(C): "DIM LIGHT: This is a gloomy sort of light. Dwarves and other creatures with darkvision can see normally in dim light." (pg 51)
(D): "DARKNESS: This is total darkness. Dwarves and other creatures with darkvision can see normally in darkness." (pg 51)
(E) "LIGHT SOURCES: ... If you have low-light vision (as elves do) you can see as if this radius were doubled. For example, if you’re an elf, you can see normally within 40 feet of a torch." (pg 51)

(A) only mentions 60 feet of dark vision; whereas (C) and (D) imply that dwarves can see normally in all dim light and darkness (even beyond 60 feet).
(B) talks about dim light only, whereas (E) talks about normal light. It also compares to dwarves, which I think complicates things, especially because of the implication made by (C).

If my understanding of the intent of these rules is correct, then I'd re-word them to something like the following (space permitting):

(A): Fine as is.
(B): "Light sources are twice as effective for you than for a dwarf or a human."
(C): "DIM LIGHT: This is a gloomy sort of light. Dwarves and other creatures with darkvision can see normally out to the limits of their darkvision."
(D): "DARKNESS: This is total darkness. Dwarves and other creatures with darkvision can see normally out to the limits of their darkvision."
(E) "LIGHT SOURCES: ... If you have low-light vision (as elves do) you can see as if this radius were doubled. For example, if you’re an elf, it is considered normal light within 40 feet of a torch, and one light level higher for the next 40 feet."

18) HH page 34+: It says on page 34 that trained-only skills have a gray bar. However, I find it really hard to distinguish between the black bars and the dark-gray bars (I have to bring the page within inches of my face, looking at the border for the class picture). A different colour should have been used or, better yet, a simple indicator such as a big "T" for trained-only. Fortunately, the character sheets make it much clearer.

19) HH page 59: The last sentence in the Minimum Damage note says: "This usually happens if you have a low STR Mod." For clarity and consistency, I think this should either read "... low Strength score" or "... negative STR Mod."

That's it for my comments. Thanks again for the great product! I'm hopeful that it'll lead me to finally getting some good use out of the 20 pounds of regular Pathfinder books in my RPG collection.

- Niilo


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Compiled Errata so far (not including what's listed in the current Player Pack and GM Kit PDFs):

Hero's Handbook
===============
Page 2: The Dice You Need section should not list d6.

Page 19: Under 1st Level Cleric Spells, it should say "If your Wisdom ability score is 12 or higher" instead of 13 or higher.

Page 23: The specific weapons listed for Weapon Groups should be considered examples for those groups, since a number of weapons are missing.

Page 29: Under 1st Level Wizard Spells, it should say "If your Intelligence ability score is 12 or higher" instead of 13 or higher.

Page 31: Under 5th Level Wizard, it should say that you can get "an extra 3rd-level spell" with high intelligence, not a 2nd-level spell.

Page 43: For the Precise Shot feat, the Prerequisite should be "Point-Blank Shot".

Page 43: For the Toughness feat, ignore the line that talks about Fighters.

Pregen Cleric (Kyra)
====================
The Sun's Blessing special power was omitted on purpose, for simplicity.

Pregen Fighter (Valeros)
========================
F: Hit Points should be 11, not 12.

G: Longsword Attack Bonus should be +5, not +4.

H (sidebar): Longsword (When Using Shield) Attack Bonus should be +5, not +4.

I (sidebar): Longsword (with Power Attack) Attack Bonus should be +4, not +3.

Pregen Wizard (Ezren)
=====================
F (sidebar): Hand of the Apprentice should say "Roll 1d20+4 to hit" instead of +3.

G: The first weapon should be "Masterwork Quarterstaff" instead of "Quarterstaff" and the Attack Bonus should be +2 instead of +1.

J: "masterwork quarterstaff (arcane bond)" should be listed instead of "quarterstaff".

Beginner Box GM Kit
===================
Page 12: Bronze Deadeye Amulet incorrectly references the "1st-level wizard spell" true strike. A description of this ability is coming.


I just found another error: GMG, page 15. It says under Experience Points to "see the Hero's Handbook, page 64". Page 64 is the index. I'm sure it means page 63, the page for leveling up.

- Niilo

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Sean K Reynolds wrote:

Both of those are intended that you use them to help other members of your party. Yes, they both say "touch yourself or another creature," which means you can use them on yourself, but this rarely gives you any benefit.

Note that the Core Rulebook says, "you can touch a creature to give it great strength," which also means you could use the ability on yourself, so it still has the same challenge in using the ability. The Beginner Box is just very clear in pointing out that you can cast it on yourself or another creature, even though it won't help you most of the time.

Personally, I'd be fine with making a "house rule" that says the bonus applies to your standard action on your next turn.

Perhaps a good change in wording would be to say that the effect lasts "until the end of the target creature's next turn." That way, you could use it on yourself one turn and it would end after the following turn. And if you used it on someone else, it would still only apply for a single turn, since they hadn't started their "next turn" yet.

Andoran

Thanks, Niilo! I was just thinking there should be a summary list for the items in this thread. Excellent work!


Sean K Reynolds wrote:

Pregen Valeros's hp should be 11, not 12.

Pregen Valeros's longsword attack bonus should be +5 (the prototype pregen character sheet had a different layout with multiple weapon entries with/without Power Attack, and it looks like the Power Attack attack bonus was used on the final pregen for his normal attack bonus).

Pregen Valeros's longsword attack bonus with Power Attack should be +4.

I sincerely apologize if I am misunderstanding something, but why would Valeros's longsword attack bonus with Power Attack be LESS than his normal longsword attack bonus?

Grand Lodge

+2 damage at the cost of -1 to hit

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

In flavor terms, he's swinging harder but not as precisely.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Not sure if this was already mentioned somewhere. Shouldn´t Kyras Sense Motive Skill be 6 instead of 3, as it is a class skill ? Or did I get it wrong ?

Thx

Michael


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Gridphoenix wrote:

Not sure if this was already mentioned somewhere. Shouldn´t Kyras Sense Motive Skill be 6 instead of 3, as it is a class skill ? Or did I get it wrong ?

Thx

Michael

And now getting in more details: Is it possible that nowhere in the Hero´s Handbook it is mentioned that Holy Weapon (Cleric Special) will give a +1 to a weapon. Or why does the Pregen Kyra have a 1d6+1 scimitar :-)

Michael


Nevermind the last comment. I did really not figure out that your str bonus is added to damage. But what is the advantage of having a holy weapon ?

Michael

Designer

Gridphoenix,

Pregen Kyra doesn't get the +3 for having a class skill because she doesn't have ranks in that skill (you only get the class skill bonus if you have at least 1 rank in the skill).

For the holy weapon question, the main cleric page says under "Armor and Weapons" that clerics can use simple weapons. You can also use your god's holy weapon. For example, the starknife is a martial weapon, and if you're not proficient in martial weapons then you have a –4 penalty when attacking with it (page 46, intro paragraph). Clerics of Desna have the starknife as their holy weapon, so they don't have that –4 penalty.

(I admit, this isn't clear, and I'll add it to the errata.)


Sean K Reynolds wrote:

Gridphoenix,

Pregen Kyra doesn't get the +3 for having a class skill because she doesn't have ranks in that skill (you only get the class skill bonus if you have at least 1 rank in the skill).

For the holy weapon question, the main cleric page says under "Armor and Weapons" that clerics can use simple weapons. You can also use your god's holy weapon. For example, the starknife is a martial weapon, and if you're not proficient in martial weapons then you have a –4 penalty when attacking with it (page 46, intro paragraph). Clerics of Desna have the starknife as their holy weapon, so they don't have that –4 penalty.

(I admit, this isn't clear, and I'll add it to the errata.)

Hi Sean,

thanks for the quick reply. Did not figure that out myself :-) The clarification is really useful!

Michael


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Mr. Gerbik wrote:
Also on cleric. I haven't seen it explicitly stated but I assume clerics and wizards need a free hand for spell casting? Therefore a shield or (2 handed) crossbow are not recommended.. But how do i know if the spell is spoken or with a hand gesture? Cleric must possess holy symbol, but not hold... OK. I guess my main question, can my cleric equip a shield and sword and cast spells? Or use crossbow and cast spells, without spending free action to drop crossbow...
See page 61 under Casting Spells--it's all right there. :)

Hmm... On page 48, Hero's Handbook, in the Equipment section under Holy Symbol description, 2nd sentence reads: 'If you're a cleric, you must hold your holy symbol to use your channel energy ability.' And FWIW, in the Core book, p. 40, last sentence of Channel Energy reads: 'A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability.'

From a role playing aspect I've always been of the opinion that a cleric should boldly present his/her symbol to 'turn' undead and never (well rarely at least) be shy about flaunting the deity they serve. ;-)

Take care,

Derek


"4) The holy weapon for Gorum is listed as longsword, but it is a greatsword in Core. Is this discrepancy on purpose?"

Has this question been answered somewhere?

Designer, RPG Superstar Judge

In the original cleric text it was a greatsword, but we probably changed it so all clerics would have a 1H weapon.

51 to 100 of 113 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Beginner Box / Beginner Box errata / corrections / questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.