Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game


Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Cracked Orange Prism Ioun Stone.


Rules Questions


7 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Orange prism: Wearer adds one cantrip or orison
(determined when the stone is created) to his list of spells
known or spells prepared. Price: 1,000 gp.

page 49. under the list of "cracked ioun stones". Seekers of Secrets book.

... a few questions about this:

1) Does this grant any caster the ability to have an Orison as a "spell prepared", or a Cantrip as a "spell known", or vice versa, in any combination?

2) Does this grant a non-caster PC that ability to cast a cantrip/orison?

3) Does this fulfill the requirements of any feat/other features that require either the ability to Cast a cantrip/oruison, or any arcane/divine spell?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

1. Yes, the result depends on whether you are a spontaneous caster, or a prepatory one.

2. No.

3. No. because if you don't have the ability to cast in the first place, the stone has no effect.


LazarX wrote:
1. Yes, the result depends on whether you are a spontaneous caster, or a prepatory one

To further clarify though, By your interpretation:

If the original creator of the ioun stone designated it to grant an Orison as a Prepared Spell, Would a Wizard be able to benefit?

If the original creator of the ioun stone designated it to grant a Cantrip as a Spell Known, Would a Wizard be able to benefit?

If the original creator of the ioun stone designated it to grant an Orison as a Spell known, Would a Wizard be able to benefit?

Edited

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Bane Wraith wrote:
LazarX wrote:
1. Yes, the result depends on whether you are a spontaneous caster, or a prepatory one

To further clarify though, By your interpretation:

If the original creator of the ioun stone designated it to grant an Orison as a Prepared Spell, Would a Wizard be able to benefit?

If the original creator of the ioun stone designated it to grant a Cantrip as a Spell Known, Would a Sorcerer be able to benefit?

If the original creator of the ioun stone designated it to grant an Orison as a Spell known, Would a Wizard be able to benefit?

It has nothing to do with what class the original creator was. The property is dependent on the user.


LazarX wrote:


It has nothing to do with what class the original creator was. The property is dependent on the user.

"Wearer adds one cantrip or orison (determined when the stone is created)"

I'm assuming this decision is Not changeable, and thus it's important to note compatibilities. This does not depend on the original creator's class, but his Choice of what the Stone does.

Edit:..hmmm.. alright. I think I originally misread. Would still be nice to know if this stone is capable of granting an Orison to a Wizard or a Cantrip to a Cleric, though.


It would be easier just to say character can cast the cantrip at will using his HD or caster level (whichever is higher) as the caster level. Most popular one would be Create water in the desert.


my first spark of interest was in the fact this stone May provide a Wizard or Magus the ability to cast arcane spells Without Preparing them ahead, and maybe that would fulfill the requirements of some feats or classes that require spontaneous spellcasters... but, that's probably a no-go.

So, all I want to know is if it's capable of granting an Orison to an arcane caster, and a Cantrip to a divine one.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

No, it's not a gateway to a PrC, no matter what the stone does.


LazarX wrote:
No, it's not a gateway to a PrC, no matter what the stone does.

That


Do note that Seeker of Secrets is 3.5, not PF.

I'm not sure if it as updated.

But it would not grant access to PrCs, since it is not a permanent bonus.


LazarX wrote:
No, it's not a gateway to a PrC, no matter what the stone does.

Well, actually.. Not that I can see. The granting a Non-casting PC the ability to cast spells, would. But.. otherwise.. most prestige classes have a spell level requirement of at least 1 or above.


Cheapy wrote:

Do note that Seeker of Secrets is 3.5, not PF.

I'm not sure if it as updated.

But it would not grant access to PrCs, since it is not a permanent bonus.

Thanks for further clarification as to the PrCs. However, I do believe you're mistaken... Seekers of Secrets has a big fat "Pathfinder Chronicles" on the cover, from the PDF that I'm looking at.. it's Paizo Published.

EDIT: Any clarifications out there for the Orison and Cantrip selections? Can this stone grant Orisons to an Arcane spellcaster, and Cantrips to a Divine?


Bane Wraith wrote:
Cheapy wrote:

Do note that Seeker of Secrets is 3.5, not PF.

I'm not sure if it as updated.

But it would not grant access to PrCs, since it is not a permanent bonus.

Thanks for further clarification as to the PrCs. However, I do believe you're mistaken... Seekers of Secrets has a big fat "Pathfinder Chronicles" on the cover, from the PDF that I'm looking at.. it's Paizo Published.

EDIT: Any clarifications out there for the Orison and Cantrip selections? Can this stone grant Orisons to an ARcane spellcaster, and Cantrips to a Divine?

You're right for the wrong reasons. Seeker of Secrets came out a month after PFRPG was released. But Golarion and the Pathfinders have been around since 2007 I think. There's a lot of 3.5 Pathfinder stuff out there.

this book came out before PFRPG did, but has Pathfinder Chronicles as the series.

There isn't any precedent for whether cantrips or orisons go to the other type of caster, I don't think. Ask your GM. I might allow it on a per-spell basis, but arcane casters will never be getting Stabilize.


Cheapy wrote:


You're right for the wrong reasons. Seeker of Secrets came out a month after PFRPG was released. But Golarion and the Pathfinders have been around since 2007 I think. There's a lot of 3.5 Pathfinder stuff out there.

this book came out before PFRPG did, but has Pathfinder Chronicles as the series.

There isn't any precedent for whether cantrips or orisons go to the other type of caster, I don't think. Ask your GM. I might allow it on a per-spell basis, but arcane casters will never be getting Stabilize.

That's.. rather enlightening. ^_^

And alright. The latter is what I thought.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Question: To be more specific. Does this mean a wizard can cast 'Create Water' using a properly created Orange Prism Ioun Stone?

Does this mean a cleric can cast Prestidigitation or Arcane Mark with an Orange Prism Ioun Stone?

I'm also specifically asking for Pathfinder Society (really should make a thread there). n.n


ArcTanGentleman wrote:

Does this mean a wizard can cast 'Create Water' using a properly created Orange Prism Ioun Stone?

I'm also specifically asking for Pathfinder Society (really should make a thread there). n.n

Do you have a chronicle sheet listing the Cracked Orange Prism Ioun Stone?


ArcTanGentleman wrote:

Question: To be more specific. Does this mean a wizard can cast 'Create Water' using a properly created Orange Prism Ioun Stone?

Does this mean a cleric can cast Prestidigitation or Arcane Mark with an Orange Prism Ioun Stone?

I'm also specifically asking for Pathfinder Society (really should make a thread there). n.n

I would like to know the answer to this question. As a wizard knowing Create Water would be useful.


Grick wrote:
ArcTanGentleman wrote:

Does this mean a wizard can cast 'Create Water' using a properly created Orange Prism Ioun Stone?

I'm also specifically asking for Pathfinder Society (really should make a thread there). n.n

Do you have a chronicle sheet listing the Cracked Orange Prism Ioun Stone?

you could just wait until you have 9 fame and buy one around level 2 or 3.


my question for this thread is:

would having this ioun stone allow an alchemist access to a cantrip or an orison since they normally have access to neither?

Grand Lodge

PK WADNIZAK wrote:

my question for this thread is:

would having this ioun stone allow an alchemist access to a cantrip or an orison since they normally have access to neither?

No.

New Spells Known: If I gain the ability to add a spell that is not on my spell list to my list of spells known, without adding it to my spell list, can I cast it?
No. Adding a spell to your list of spells known does not add it to the spell list of that class unless they are added by a class feature of that same class. For example, sorcerers add their bloodline spells to their sorcerer spell list and oracles add their mystery spells to their oracle spell list. The spell slots of a class can only be used to cast spells that appear on the spell list of that class.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

This is best summed up with this:

  • If you have Orison currently and the stone gives an Orison on your class spell list, you get it.
  • If you have Cantrip currently and the stone gives an Cantrip on your class spell list, you get it.
  • You get nothing.

Pick one of those choices.


But you can get all druid spells as arcane through Bloodrager Enlightened archetype. So unless all orisons are usually possible to have as an cantrip (there may be a few cleric exclusive ones).

Scarab Sages

Yes, but as the FAQ quoted states, adding a spell known does not add it to your class list, unless the ability doing so is part of your class or specifically states as much. The ioun stone doesn't state that it adds the spell to your class list. So if a Sorcerer had an ioun stone to add Create Water as a spell known, they still wouldn't be able to cast it, because it is not on their class list. EDIT: It doesn't matter if the spell is arcane or divine. If it isn't on your class list, the ioun stone can't grant it to you. You would be able to use a Ring of Spell Knowledge, if you're a Sorcerer, to get it as a 1st level spell, if you see an Enlightened Bloodrager cast it.

An option that does do that is the Two-World Magic trait, which specifically adds a 0-level spell to your class list. So if you really want a Sorcerer or Wizard with Create Water or Stabilize, take that. It even lets a class that doesn't have 0-level spells pick one up as a 1st level spell.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Cracked Orange Prism Ioun Stone. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.