Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Staggered Condition


Rules Questions


I understand the staggered condition to be this...
"A staggered creature may take a single move action or standard action each round (but not both, nor can he take full-round actions). A staggered creature can still take swift and immediate actions."

So does this mean while staggered, if you take a standard action, you cant also take a 5 foot step?
Thanks!


Assuming that standard action didn't involve movement (like a staggering charge) yes.


I agree. The Staggered condition only keeps you from using a move and a standard in the same round (or combining them into a full round action). You can still do everything you normally could in a round outside of this restriction.


But thats where it gets a bit unrealistic. You see if you cant take a 5ft step then standard to attack, cause its a move action then a standard action and you can only do either. Then how can you still charge from even further away than the above example and attack by using the charge limited to standard action?
Its a hard one! Can anyone nut it or is it a bit of a flaw?


A 5 foot step is not an action.* Thus, you may take a 5 foot step while staggered.

*This is listed in the Action Table in the combat chapter.

Grand Lodge

At minimum, it's not a move action. I agree that this should work.


Awesome....so SLOW isnt as sexy as it sounds!
5ft step is a "miscellaneous" action....new action to me!
Thanks guys!


Hairy Legs in the Dark wrote:
Awesome....so SLOW isnt as sexy as it sounds!

Slow is fantastic, even with this ruling. Especially if you are fighting something that has a full attack routine... they can't do it. That's huge.


Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber
Sean Mahoney wrote:
Hairy Legs in the Dark wrote:
Awesome....so SLOW isnt as sexy as it sounds!
Slow is fantastic, even with this ruling. Especially if you are fighting something that has a full attack routine... they can't do it. That's huge.

Yes. Staggering a high-level fighter, especially one who specializes in crit effects, is huge.

So huge that I use it only rarely; specific creatures have Staggering or Stunning Critical, even though in reality every creature with half a brain would take it once it qualified. Especially one with multiple attacks. Kraken with Stunning Critical, anyone?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Staggered Condition All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.