Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Questions about the First Steps intro series


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

I'm going to be playing through First Steps this Saturday, and I've come up with a couple of questions that I haven't found final answers to.

1) I recall hearing that I can hold off on choosing a faction until afterwards (and can even leave one of my traits open, in case I want to pick a faction trait at that time). However, I don't know whether this is optional or mandatory - basically, if I already know which faction I want, can I go ahead and select it (and a faction trait along with it)?

2) Can I or can I not spend my prestige for things during the series? I read some back-and-forth on the topic, but the discussion just seems to stop without a conclusion. Basically, after part 1, is everybody grabbing their wands of CLW or not?

That's all I've got at the moment. I reserve the right to ask more. ;)

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Jiggy wrote:

I'm going to be playing through First Steps this Saturday, and I've come up with a couple of questions that I haven't found final answers to.

1) I recall hearing that I can hold off on choosing a faction until afterwards (and can even leave one of my traits open, in case I want to pick a faction trait at that time). However, I don't know whether this is optional or mandatory - basically, if I already know which faction I want, can I go ahead and select it (and a faction trait along with it)?

2) Can I or can I not spend my prestige for things during the series? I read some back-and-forth on the topic, but the discussion just seems to stop without a conclusion. Basically, after part 1, is everybody grabbing their wands of CLW or not?

That's all I've got at the moment. I reserve the right to ask more. ;)

1) While the assumption is that you won't have a faction to pck until after the trilogy is complete, it certainly wouldn't hurt to know what you wanted or already have it chosen. There are no faction missions and you will get an opportunity to meet each faction leader and get to know them a little bit to help influence your opinion to the. I'd say that even though you know what you plan to do, just leave it blank on the sheet until after part 3.

2) Huh, somthing I hadn't considered. Don't think I have an answer for you. If you don't have a faction, you wouldn't be able to spend prestige, so I would assume that the mods were written with that in mind. So I would lean to no.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

cblome59 wrote:

1) While the assumption is that you won't have a faction to pck until after the trilogy is complete, it certainly wouldn't hurt to know what you wanted or already have it chosen. There are no faction missions and you will get an opportunity to meet each faction leader and get to know them a little bit to help influence your opinion to the. I'd say that even though you know what you plan to do, just leave it blank on the sheet until after part 3.

2) Huh, somthing I hadn't considered. Don't think I have an answer for you. If you don't have a faction, you wouldn't be able to spend prestige, so I would assume that the mods were written with that in mind. So I would lean to no.

1) The idea for my character is that he walked all the way from Varisia just to join the Society in order to help facilitate his curiosity/wanderlust/urge to explore. So Grand Lodge seems like a choice he'd have made before he even got there. Do I have that option? Or am I "forced" to wait? Note: it's not a huge deal either way - I'm not going to be upset if I have to wait. Just wondering.

2) That was one of the sides in the discussion I found. But there was no final answer. Maybe I should just ask my local VC?

Grand Lodge **

Jiggy wrote:
1) I recall hearing that I can hold off on choosing a faction until afterwards (and can even leave one of my traits open, in case I want to pick a faction trait at that time). However, I don't know whether this is optional or mandatory - basically, if I already know which faction I want, can I go ahead and select it (and a faction trait along with it)?

Both are valid choices. If you want to wait till the end of part 3 and make your choice, you may. If you already know and want to make your choice before you sit down for part 1, you may.

Quote:
2) Can I or can I not spend my prestige for things during the series? I read some back-and-forth on the topic, but the discussion just seems to stop without a conclusion. Basically, after part 1, is everybody grabbing their wands of CLW or not?

You can.


Jiggy wrote:
if I already know which faction I want, can I go ahead and select it (and a faction trait along with it)?

I had wondered about the traits, I started off with a faction trait for the faction I chose. It was pretty unclear if that was acceptable, so my GM handwaved it since there was no clear ruling on it. It seems like it should be acceptable, since I could just play a different level 1 mod and have a faction already. It would really be miserable to have to take the feat later to get extra traits, just to get a faction trait.


Pickguy wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
if I already know which faction I want, can I go ahead and select it (and a faction trait along with it)?
I had wondered about the traits, I started off with a faction trait for the faction I chose. It was pretty unclear if that was acceptable, so my GM handwaved it since there was no clear ruling on it. It seems like it should be acceptable, since I could just play a different level 1 mod and have a faction already. It would really be miserable to have to take the feat later to get extra traits, just to get a faction trait.

This is mostly answered in the FAQ:

Quote:


If you are playing the First Steps adventure arc as a newly created first-level character, you can choose to leave one of your two trait slots open at character creation. After you have chosen a faction at the conclusion of the three-part series, you may select a faction trait to fill this slot. You may also choose any other legal trait if you decide that none of the faction traits for your chosen faction fit your character.

And while it is not also in the FAQ, I am pretty sure that Mark Moreland has posted that you can choose a faction and faction trait on character creation even if you are starting with the First Steps series.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

Alright, seems like #1 is answered pretty conclusively now. I'm leaning toward a non-faction trait for my second trait slot anyway, but it's always nice to know. Thanks!

As for #2, only two people have answered and those answers have been in conflict. Anyone have any further insight into this?

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Jiggy wrote:

Alright, seems like #1 is answered pretty conclusively now. I'm leaning toward a non-faction trait for my second trait slot anyway, but it's always nice to know. Thanks!

As for #2, only two people have answered and those answers have been in conflict. Anyone have any further insight into this?

See what your coordinator and/or judge say. Either way, it won't ruin the table :)

Grand Lodge **

Jiggy wrote:
2) That was one of the sides in the discussion I found. But there was no final answer. Maybe I should just ask my local VC?

As per a private thread with Mark Moreland:

Mark Moreland wrote:
Mark Garringer wrote:
Mark Moreland wrote:
Yes.

Awesome. Thanks.

Also, the wording does not support it (to me at least) but the intent is that an unfactioned PC can make a 2 PA faction purchase (Wand of CLW etc)?

Yes.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

*gasp*

You just revealed the existence of a private thread? Thanks, but now there'll be Yodas in black suits showing up at your door...

Scarab Sages *****

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber
Jiggy wrote:

*gasp*

You just revealed the existence of a private thread? Thanks, but now there'll be Yodas in black suits showing up at your door...

It is where the Venture-Captains plot ways to get rid of me!

Liberty's Edge ****

Dragnmoon wrote:
Jiggy wrote:

*gasp*

You just revealed the existence of a private thread? Thanks, but now there'll be Yodas in black suits showing up at your door...

It is where the Venture-Captains plot ways to get rid of me!

Oh, come on. That one is too easy!

Just create a dozen new rules named "Play, Play, Play!"


Enevhar Aldarion wrote:

This is mostly answered in the FAQ:

And while it is not also in the FAQ, I am pretty sure that Mark Moreland has posted that you can choose a faction and faction trait on character creation even if you are starting with the First Steps series.

Thanks for that, I missed that. As I am fond of saying, I didn't go to college to have to read now. In this case, I didn't join PFS to have to read. :)

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game Subscriber
Dragnmoon wrote:
It is where the Venture-Captains plot ways to get rid of me!

I can neither confirm nor deny the existence of such plots. And if I could do the proceeding, I would still be unable to say whether the red button or the green button was the safe one.

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
K Neil Shackleton wrote:
Dragnmoon wrote:
It is where the Venture-Captains plot ways to get rid of me!
I can neither confirm nor deny the existence of such plots. And if I could do the proceeding, I would still be unable to say whether the red button or the green button was the safe one.

OOOOOooooooo! Giant red candy like button!

Grand Lodge **

K Neil Shackleton wrote:
I would still be unable to say whether the red button or the green button was the safe one.

It's a trick. They are both safe. Everyone knows Canadians are harmless...or are they?

Grand Lodge **** Venture-Captain, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Thorkull

Dragnmoon wrote:


It is where the Venture-Captains plot ways to get rid of me!

That's just not true, as far as you know.

Silver Crusade ****

Mark Garringer wrote:

[

It's a trick. They are both safe. Everyone knows Canadians are harmless...or are they?

Yes, we are completely harmless. Please ignore any and all rumours about our being able to harm you. Or we'll have to hire some Americans to harm you.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Questions about the First Steps intro series All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.