Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Multiclassing and the animal companion(s)


Rules Questions


sorry if this has been bought up before but there are alot of threads about animals companions in the search and the first few pages didn't address my query.

In the druid description in the core book (pg 50) it reads ...

"If a character receives an animal companion from more than one source, her effective druid levels stack for the purposes of determining the statistics and abilities of the companion."

However there is a Ranger archetype which allows for multiple animal companions.

My question is can a druid[3]/ranger[4] have 2 animal companions (say a large Cat as the druid's and a Bird as the Ranger's). Seeing that the Large Cat in not available as a Ranger Companion, I don't see why his effective druid level (ranger minus 3) would be added to the Druid's current companion. using this thought, the 2 different effective druid levels would be used to determine the animal companions stats. Druid using his level, Ranger using his level minus 3. Though it contradicts the druid entry (above), it works similar to the Beast Master Ranger Archetype in the APG who can split his effective druid level to have animal companions of different stengths.

Furthermore, if the multiclass druid/ranger is allowed the two different companions and picks up a level of Natures Warden ...
will the Companion Bond (APG pg 273) add to both animals as it states ...

"At 1st level, a nature warden’s class levels stack with levels in all classes that grant an animal companion for the purpose of determining her animal companion’s abilities."

so in the example above he would have a Large Cat with the stats of a 4th level druid (druid[3] + NW[1]) and a Bird with the stats of a 2nd level druid (ranger[4] - 3 + NW[1])

As a note I'm puzzled why in the description for Natures Warden it says "Nature wardens are usually druids or ranger/druids" when it requires the "Favored Terrain" ability which a druid alone doesn't get.

Grand Lodge

gourry187 wrote:

sorry if this has been bought up before but there are alot of threads about animals companions in the search and the first few pages didn't address my query.

In the druid description in the core book (pg 50) it reads ...

"If a character receives an animal companion from more than one source, her effective druid levels stack for the purposes of determining the statistics and abilities of the companion."

However there is a Ranger archetype which allows for multiple animal companions.

My question is can a druid[3]/ranger[4] have 2 animal companions (say a large Cat as the druid's and a Bird as the Ranger's). Seeing that the Large Cat in not available as a Ranger Companion, I don't see why his effective druid level (ranger minus 3) would be added to the Druid's current companion. using this thought, the 2 different effective druid levels would be used to determine the animal companions stats. Druid using his level, Ranger using his level minus 3. Though it contradicts the druid entry (above), it works similar to the Beast Master Ranger Archetype in the APG who can split his effective druid level to have animal companions of different stengths.

The large cat would have stats as for a 3rd level druid, since his ranger levels wouldn't add to it as you say. The bird would have stats as for a 4th level druid, since nothing stops his druid levels stacking with his ranger effective-druid levels.

gourry187 wrote:

Furthermore, if the multiclass druid/ranger is allowed the two different companions and picks up a level of Natures Warden ...

will the Companion Bond (APG pg 273) add to both animals as it states ...

"At 1st level, a nature warden’s class levels stack with levels in all classes that grant an animal companion for the purpose of determining her animal companion’s abilities."

Yep

gourry187 wrote:
so in the example above he would have a Large Cat with the stats of a 4th level druid (druid[3] + NW[1]) and a Bird with the stats of a 2nd level druid (ranger[4] - 3 + NW[1])

Large Cat - 4th level

Bird - 5th level


I wouldn't allow a player to just split his effective levels between multiple animal companions unless he was specifically playing an archetype specifically allows it, otherwise what is the point of the archetype?

Animal companion grants you 1 animal companion. That is all, your single animal companion would be an effective druid level= your druid level + (ranger lvl -3) + (NW levels). If you had taken the boosted companion feat you can effectively ignore the -3 from ranger as it gives you +4 to your effective druid level up to a maximum of your character level.

If you take the Beast Master archetype (your post sounded as though you weren't) you work out your total effective druid level for companion (inc ranger level and feat) then split the levels between your companions, multiclassing does not let you double the benefit of the feat.

EDIT: There maybe otherways to get favoured terrain. Of the top of my head the only one I know is the Horizon Walker prestige class. It could be worth getting 4 levels in that instead of ranger (some of the terrain mastery and dominances are fantastic DR2 anyone?) and the boosted companion feat to make those levels count as druid levels for your animal companion.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/prestige-classes/other-paizo/e-h/horizon-wa lker


hypothetically then, if a druid with an animal companion (say a wolf) decides to take the ranger falconeer archetype ... do they loose the wolf seeing that the ranger gets a junior version of their animal companion at 1st level and must take a bird at level 4?


gourry187 wrote:
hypothetically then, if a druid with an animal companion (say a wolf) decides to take the ranger falconeer archetype ... do they loose the wolf seeing that the ranger gets a junior version of their animal companion at 1st level and must take a bird at level 4?

As a GM, in that situation I'd allow the player to choose to either have his levels not stack, and get two separate companions, or to give up the wolf and have the levels stack. There's no RAW I know of to cover it, though.

Cheliax

Pathfinder Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The way my group has interpreted it is as follows:
1. Total up your effective druid level from all classes that get a companion.
2. Pick your companion from the most favorable list.
3. Split your effective levels between companions if you have the beastmaster archtype. Otherwise it's just one companion.

Nature Warden adds to your total effective druid level. You don't get it on a per companion basis.

If you have beastmaster levels and multiple companions, you can take Boon Companion for each of them.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Multiclassing and the animal companion(s) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.