Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Limit on Arcane bonded weapon?


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Osirion **

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hey, just a quick rules question.
Is there any limit on the "no cost" weapon that is received at level 1 for the Wizard as the arcane bond. Obviously you shouldn't be able to get a enchantment bonus on this weapon, but with all the new high cost firearms, is there any reason one of these cannot be got at level 1 for a Wizard?
I had a player at GenCon who wanted a +4 composite longbow as his bonded item (not sure why) but I wasn't sure about whether he could do it. I told him to ask a venture-captain after the game (and not get any STR bonus during the game) but I never found out what the ruling was.

Hopefully I've missed something and this isn't actually possible.
Thanks for the clarification.

Andoran *****

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber
Professor Calaelen wrote:

Hey, just a quick rules question.

Is there any limit on the "no cost" weapon that is received at level 1 for the Wizard as the arcane bond. Obviously you shouldn't be able to get a enchantment bonus on this weapon, but with all the new high cost firearms, is there any reason one of these cannot be got at level 1 for a Wizard?
I had a player at GenCon who wanted a +4 composite longbow as his bonded item (not sure why) but I wasn't sure about whether he could do it. I told him to ask a venture-captain after the game (and not get any STR bonus during the game) but I never found out what the ruling was.

Hopefully I've missed something and this isn't actually possible.
Thanks for the clarification.

Not sure about the bow, but for the gun they would still need the gunsmith feat in accordance with PFS rules.

Osirion **

Yeah, but if you took Wizard at first level and took Gunsmithing as your feat at 1st level, then you could get, say a pepperbox for 3000gp, for free!

Andoran *****

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber
Professor Calaelen wrote:
Yeah, but if you took Wizard at first level and took Gunsmithing as your feat at 1st level, then you could get, say a pepperbox for 3000gp, for free!

By RAW, yup.

Osirion **

Wow! Considering traits like Rich parents are banned in PFS, I feel this should have some sort of cap!

***

There's an old post from the campaign administration that said you can get a composite bow but you don't get any str added on to that. I don't have a link handy at the moment.

Also doesn't PFS restrict guns to gunslingers?

Andoran ***

AxeMurder0 wrote:

There's an old post from the campaign administration that said you can get a composite bow but you don't get any str added on to that. I don't have a link handy at the moment.

Also doesn't PFS restrict guns to gunslingers?

I remember that post. Unfortunately, it still hasn't made its way into either the Guide or the FAQ.

And the restriction has changed to just requiring the Gunsmith feat, not being a Gunslinger.

9quote=Additional Resources]Gunsmithing does not grant the ability to craft firearms, ammunition, or black powder. Rather, it allows the purchase of bullets, pellets, black powder, and alchemical cartridges (with 1 rank in Craft [alchemy]) at the listed reduced price, but does not grant a discount on the purchase of any firearm. Resold items gained through this feat are worth half the actual cost paid, not half the regular market value for the item. No PC can purchase a gun without this feat, even if they possess the Amateur Gunslinger or Exotic Weapon Proficiency (firearm) feats.

Osirion **

Yeah, so you would just have to take that feat at first level, to be able to purchase a gun as your arcane bond. That's how I see it, correct me if it's wrong.

Osirion **

Thanks for the clarification on the bow. My gut instinct seemed to be right, this time...

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Limit on Arcane bonded weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.