Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Does the Spell "Magic Weapon" make a +1 weapon into a +2


Rules Questions


Sorry for the beginner question.

I was wondering if the Spell "Magic Weapon" would make a +1 keen longsword into a +2 keen longsword for the duration of the spell.

or does it only work on nonmagic weapons?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

No.
It only works on non-magical weapons.

Taldor

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Tales Subscriber
divby0 wrote:

Sorry for the beginner question.

I was wondering if the Spell "Magic Weapon" would make a +1 keen longsword into a +2 keen longsword for the duration of the spell.

or does it only work on nonmagic weapons?

Magic Weapon creates an enhancement bonus.

the +1 on a magic sword is also an enhancement bonus.

Bonuses from the same source do not stack, they overlap.

So, casting magic weapon on a +1 keen longsword has no visible effect.

However, if a high-level spellcaster used Greater Magic Weapon on your sword they could make it a +5 keen longsword for the duration of the spell.

Sorry for the long answer but your post contains an incorrect assumption.

Taldor

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Tales Subscriber
leo1925 wrote:

No.

It only works on non-magical weapons.

I hate to be a pedant but I don't want to give a new player an incorrect understanding.

The spell does work, its enchantment is laid upon your sword. However, it does not have any useful effect because it is using the same type of bonus that is already on the sword.

This is important for the clear understanding of other spells (Greater Magic Weapon) and recognising that the spell will still work upon unusual magical weapons which have no enhancement bonus (for instance, if somebody cast a permanent light spell on a normal sword).


GeraintElberion wrote:
its enchantment is laid upon your sword.

Minor correction: it's a transmutation, not an enchantment.

Andoran

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes, but it is also an 'enchantment'.

Or 'spell' in laymans terms. :P


TriOmegaZero wrote:
Yes, but it is also an 'enchantment'.

Only in vernacular English; not in game-terms.

Andoran

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yeah, but which was he speaking in? :)


TriOmegaZero wrote:
Yeah, but which was he speaking in? :)

Igpay Atinlay.


Slightly off this topic, what happens when you cast magic weapon on a basic longbow?

If facing off with a creature where only magical weapons do damage, does the bow then infuse the arrows with magic, or does magic weapon only add +1 to hit, while the arrows are plain arrows doing nonmagical damage?


The rules for magic weapons clearly note that magic projectile weapons (bows, slings, crossbows, guns, etc) impart their magic onto the projectile.

So yes, Magic Bows shoot arrows that deal 50% damage vs incorporeal targets and penetrate DR/Magic.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Does the Spell "Magic Weapon" make a +1 weapon into a +2 All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.